We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thoralby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at this small hotel. All we can say is, the room was spotless with a lot of nice touches. Hosts Charles & Becci made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was delicious likewise evening meal. Thoralby is perfect for exploring the Dales. We would highly recommend
Staying at the George Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for The George Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Another great stay this is our second visit and will not be our last. Charles is great nothing too much trouble. Rooms are immaculate with tea, coffee etc. Breakfast is amazing & no need to travel for your evening meal just walk the few steps into the relaxing, welcoming pub, we stayed two nights and ate both nights here lovely meal. Dont hesitate book & go you won't be disappointed.
See you again very soon Charles many thanks.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Reddazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you want a little piece of heaven in the heart of the dales, then you will not find better than The George Inn in Thoralby. Sat quietly in the picture perfect hamlet of Thoralby it is a perfect base for exploring the wonders of the dales. The hosts Charles & Becci made us feel welcome & after two nights there it felt like a home from home. From the little finer touches in the rooms, decanter of sherry, grapes, chocolates. To the superb food that is served on an evening. I strongly recommend eating there because you won't find better & all is home-cooked & packed with flavour. I cannot recommend highly enough & I would easily say it is the best Pub we have stayed in. We are already planning to go again.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic. You will not go wrong with either.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Another lovely stay at The George Inn. The room was as pristine as ever and the food delicious and hearty. Good selection of wines, beers and ales and a warm welcome from Charles. To top it all, we got to watch the Tour de France in the amazing Yorkshire Dales in the sunshine. What more can you want!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 122Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recommended by friends and fully lived up to their praise. Two comfortable double rooms separated from the main body of the Inn with the finer touches as expressed by a decanter of sherry and fresh grapes. Excellent food, attentive hosting and altogether an ideal base for exploring the Dales through walking or by vehicle. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I booked the two rooms here as a present for her elderly parents. We have stayed in many pubs all over the dales and moors, none can compare with the accommodation at the George. The rooms are spotless and maintained to a high standard. With all the little extras like a sherry decanter, grapes and chocolates in the room. The landlord Charles was a great host and Becci' s cooking was first class. We were made to feel most welcome and chatting with the locals over a few pints at the end of the night we felt like regulars ourselves. Will definitely be returning here and recommending this to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable evening in this attractive pub. We ate the rabbit pie and steak. Each dish was well cooked, fresh, and hot. Good atmosphere. Not a fancy gastropub but a welcoming Dales country pub, mostly if not totally locals. The village is attractive in the lovely Bishopsdale valley running up fromWensleydale.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thoralby
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Street Head Inn
The Street Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Foresters Arms
The Foresters Arms
#1 of 4 in Carlton
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox & Hounds Inn
Fox & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in West Burton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Thoralby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Thoralby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thoralby
Price Range: £89 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Thoralby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing