We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Thoralby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Other users of the holiday flat in which we stayed recommended this restaurant. We enjoyed excellent cuisine from varied menu at a reasonable price. It was all cooked from scratch with local ingredients. It is a delightful pub setting. The host was very friendly. Unfortunately the starter and main course were so filling that I couldn't manage a dessert!! My husband enjoyed the local ales.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiggerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our party of 5 varying in age from 64 down to 14 ate here on Sunday night having discovered the George the previous day. Excellent selection of food for us all (our party included 2 vegetarians) together with friendly and efficient service and all at a reasonable price. Nice to have a steak cooked exactly as requested!
Good selection of well kept beers available. A highlight of our first visit to the Dales.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caisterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Dales pub food”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The George offers a good selection of pub food using mainly locally sourced produce. The specials are not to be missed, all at reasonable prices. The Sunday lunches are delightful - the local roast beef being particularly delicious. Excellent real ales and fine wines are available for your enjoyment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, expensive gin!”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We ate here one saturday night. Had booked ahead (essential) and arrived after a long walk. I ordered a double gin and tonic- and it cost £7.90 including the smallest bottle of tonic I have ever seen, but at £1.45 a bottle I wasn't going to get another.
My food from the chalk board option was good but my partners fish and chips was mediocre. Lovely old world pub with landlord garbed in bright silk waistcoat- different every night- lending a slightly eccentric air to the place. The village is in lovely Bishopdale with great scenic walks from there.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jopuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
West Burton, North Yorkshire
 
Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing