We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb country inn”

The Church Inn Chelmorton Derbyshire UK
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Superb country inn”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family group of 9 (including 3 small children) ate here and it was delightful. The service is very good with, I believe, the landlord running the show from behind the bar keeping a good eye on things. We all decided to skip the starter menu so we could look at the desserts after a beautiful main course. Of the dishes available I would recommend the Barnsley Lamb Chop, the beef and ale pie and the Fisherman's pie which were consumed enthusiastically. The dessert menu was so good we wished they did a taster board of all of them. Including drinks our bill for 9 people worked out at just a little over £15 per person which I thought for the quality and size of helpings, to be excellent value. If we are ever up in the area again this is one place I would definitely want to return to. They do B&B so I could be tempted

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn Chelmorton Derbyshire UK, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We would love to welcome you back to our pub, if you check out our website we have lots of deals and offers for the b&b too! Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, we do try and accommodate everyone as best as we can. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab Service ..”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We would highly recommend the Church inn in the small picturesque village of Chelmorton, the food is fantastic, service is impeccable & staff are amazing... nothing is too much trouble ....

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn Chelmorton Derbyshire UK, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Wow, what lovely comments. Thank you! We are very lucky to have such a Great team working with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recent Sunday visit ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Walked to the church Inn recently on a Sunday from our camp site and had a very lovely meal there. Got there late and it was very busy, but the landlord sorted us a table in half an hour and told us about the nearby playground for the kids while we were waiting. Lovely cask ales and very good food with a good selection. A 9/10 overall....

Helpful?
Thank Bill186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn Chelmorton Derbyshire UK, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great little inn”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a great pit stop if you are walking in the area, the ale is good and the outside terrace is a real sun trap. We don't often eat there but the food is pretty good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at The Church Inn Chelmorton Derbyshire UK, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Church Inn Chelmorton Derbyshire UK also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Church Inn Chelmorton Derbyshire UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing