We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
By the Bay Bed and Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I am normally not a B&B kind of person but I am now thanks to Cathie, who went above and beyond. We were going to a wedding in Glen Margaret and booked this spot as it was just down the road. Cathie even went to find the location of the wedding for me so I would know how long it would take me to get to the ceremony! Who does this?! Amazing! Upon arrival I was greeted with such a warm welcome and the next day I did not want to leave! I wish we were there longer than one night. The house was beyond what I ever expected. The view was even better. We had to leave before we could enjoy the wonderful homemade breakfast Cathie had to offer but she made sure we ate something before our long drive home. Cathie is the type of hostess you wish every place you stayed had! I think about here often and refer people whenever I can!! We will definitely be back! I would love to spend more time on that deck just staring out at the view!!

Room Tip: If you book here you will not be disappointed! Two out of three rooms have views of the water but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizzy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Cathie made us so welcome and provided helpful local information. Our room was spacious, had a fantastic view over the bay and was equipped with all we needed. Breakfasts were a delight with fresh home-cooked food in addition to fruit and home-made cereal. This is an excellent place to stay for visiting the south shore, Peggy's Cove and is within easy reach of Halifax. We highly recommend Cathie's B&B.
Stuart and Heather, UK

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Cathie's B&B is exactly why we use B&Bs whenever we travel. The house is immaculate. The property is gorgeous and right on the water. The veranda off our bedroom was delightful. I enjoyed paddling each morning and evening. Cathie made a wonderful breakfast and spot-on recommendations on where to eat other meals. She was also very helpful in planning our outings...her location is great for venturing into Halifax, as well as southerly along the coast. Definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsbandb, Owner at By the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Albatros2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Margaret
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,026 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
156 reviews
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Indian Harbour
183 reviews
Surfside Inn
#1 of 1 in Queensland
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10502 Peggys Cove Rd, Glen Margaret, Nova Scotia B3Z 3G8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Glen Margaret
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Margaret
Price Range: £68 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well appointed, comfortable Bed and Breakfast has been in operation since August 2011. Situated on the waters of St Margaret's Bay there is an amazing view which can be enjoyed from each room or from the wrap around verandah. Awake to the aroma of fresh baked bread and locally roasted Fair Trade coffee and enjoy a full hot breakfast. Relax on the verandah or by the water. It is a retreat half way between Tantallon and Peggy's Cove only 40 minutes from Halifax and minutes from famous Peggy's Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your By the Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing