We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from another great break at Elanda”

Elanda Point Education Centre & Adventure Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.04*
and up
Self-Guided Noosa Everglades Kayak Tour
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just returned from another great break at Elanda”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have been going to Elanda Point for many years, camping with a group of friends and relatives.

Elanda offers bush camping, with plenty of shaded and grassed sites on the shore of Lake Cootharaba.

If you are looking for caravan park type amenities - this is not the place for you! As I mentioned, it is bush camping (no allocated sites) that happens to have hot showers (as long as you don't go in peak times!) and flushing toilets!

It's great for families and groups.

The kids can amuse themselves all day either swimming, fishing or if energetic enough hiring a kayak or canoe. They have recently added a rock climbing wall and giant swing during the school holidays which was a hit with our children!

I know some appear to be put off by the 'rules' but as stated in the paperwork, they are "Rules for People who Need Rules"! Anyone with common sense and courtesy should cope without any problems with the 'rules'! I for one appreciate that there are some limits to noise, generators, fires and the like - just makes my camping experience that much more pleasant!

We will be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    9
    1
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landsborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible owner/manager attitude but great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Elanda Point is a lovely place and great for the kids, we have been there about 6 times but will not go back until there until there is a management/owner change. He is unbelievably rude he has reduced my wife to tears on a couple of occasions over very small matters, he has barged into our campsite at 6pm (dinner time) and yelled at us to turn the music off or we were out, 6pm no neighbours and the music was quite dinner music, we have 2 small children who ran away scared into the van. On other visits he has also had run ins with various other families in our group, we are all professionals in our late 30s early 40s with young families who out for a good camping/ caravaning experience we are not "hooligans" his general approach is just pure rude and angry.
Elanda point is a nice location, we live on the Sunshine Coast and there are many nice locations within an hour so we will not be returning to Elanda point and its all down to extremely poor customer service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank LG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elanda Point high day visit fees”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

A $5 per person day visitor fee! Our local family of 2 adults and 3 small children were asked for $25 to go and say a quick hello to friends camping in the grounds, no family price. What is behind the gates, a fun park, waterslides? This is an outrageous cost to sit on the grass for an hour. Our friends had to come out and stand at the gate, treated like inmates. How embarrassing for a Noosa area camping and recreation facility. We have not seen anything like it travelling around Australia. Monkey Mia, WA charge around this to go in and feed dolphins and people pay because it is unique and the remote areas main attraction. Elanda has water, but there are plenty of access points to the water at Boreen Point and other nice places to visit in the area. I wonder how they can justify this charge or have any customers who are happy to return. We will avoid visiting and camping and cannot believe we had not heard of this. If you visit make sure you take your wallet, even for a picnic. It is a lovely area although not welcoming and its a shame its now locked off to general public to appreciate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank waves_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great spot, appalling management”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Great spot beside the lake. Pleanty of level camping spots with easy access to the water. A nice mixture of trees plus open grass areas. Camping area was generallly clean and free from rubbish.
The attitude of management (owners?) make you feel as though you are barely tolerated as a paying guest on the property. There are so many rudely written rules that you feel a bit unwelcome. There are signs every where stating what you are not allowed to do - although no staff seem to be out and about paying any attention to what's happening.
Ample toilet and shower facilities, although they are very poorly and irregularly cleaned.
They have quite a few water activities (boats, canoes etc.) for hire, but they are all hugely over-priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Texasghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Elanda Point Education Centre & Adventure Park”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Set in a beautiful location right on the edge of Lake Cootharaba, this campground is located in a perfect spot. Unfortunately this is the only reason I'm giving it a rating of 1. The owners lock the gates at 6pm and don't allow anyone to enter after this time. The staff are very rude and unhelpful and don't seem to know what customer service means. I got the impression that they were not at all interested in the business.

Helpful?
11 Thank DaveLevick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elanda Point Education Centre & Adventure Park also viewed

 
Boreen Point, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Elanda Point Education Centre & Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing