We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birches Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shadoxhurst, Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
fruitcake...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great time in the barn. We came with young children and even before we arrived we got a lovely message warning us about traffic and Operation Stack and how to get to the barn.

We were treated well with the welcome pack a wonderful addition. The barn is in a great location and it was a nice base to have as went exploring around the Kent countryside.

Definitely worth putting on your list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thanks Dhruti, very kind.
really pleased the break went well apart from the traffic.
Apologies for not seeing you away, Take care
Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCJC27
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy to find this place”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

After being unable to book a hotel in Hythe over the Bank holiday weekend, I found Birches Barn and it was available!
Birches Barn presented a very pleasant place to stay and provided everything we needed.
We were a family of four - myself, my husband and two of our young adult family.
The booking process was very straightforward and the owner was very helpful and easy to contact.
On arrival we discovered the best 'welcome pack' that we have ever had in a holiday house. The goodies were all insitu around the kitchen and included wine, butter, eggs, bread, fruit, bacon and a lovely chocolate cake. These were all most welcome and well received by one and all. Thank you for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great place to stay which was found last minute
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words, just pleased you had a relaxing time

kind regards

Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well appointed, quiet location, good value.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Birches Barn for one week in August 14 and were thoroughly impressed!

My wife was quite taken with the well-equipped kitchen area with plenty of cupboards and the eggs, milk and drinks to get you going was a lovely touch. I thoroughly enjoyed the chocolate topped flapjack pieces, thanks. The kitchen had a lovely range type cooker, washing machine, tumble drier, microwave and a large fridge freezer.

There were a few ornaments which we moved out of the way of our children.

We had reasonable weather for our week so we didn't stay in during the day. We visited Dover Castle, Tenterden (Kent and East Sussex Railway) and Canterbury and spent a few days on the beach at Camber Sands.

The reception for our mobile phones was non-existent but that didn't bother us, I suppose some people might get frustrated with this and there was no Wi-fi but Keith was in the process of trying to set something up.

We would certainly have no hesitation booking Birches Barn if we were to have another holiday in the Tenterden area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything we needed.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review,
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards

Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldXJS
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well hidden secret”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We decided to go away at fairly short notice and were lucky enough to find Birches Barn. It seemed odd that there hadn't been any reviews but we later found out that it was a new let. So new that we took the shop labels off the cook ware. Keith the owner is a really nice guy who wants his clients to have a good stay. He had arranged a welcome pack with various essentials and fresh eggs from the hens on site. There is a cockerel about which we thought may wake us early but I never heard it. Must have a lie in?
The barn is located down a lane with a pot holes so you can't drive too fast. Keiths house shares the same site. It's surrounded by woods. There's garden furniture if you want to sit out but we found too much to do in the area so we weren't back early enough to enjoy the evening sun. It isn't in easy walking distance of a pub and a car is an essential. There are various woodlands around Shadoxhurst but we didn't get to have a walk in them as we didn't have time.
The barn has an ensuite to each bedroom a nice sitting room and a great kitchen/diner with a dual fuel range type cooker. Really nice place for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cellphone coverage patchy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: L'accueil
Liked least: tout était très bien.
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing