We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Au Petit Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Petit Manoir
Ranked #1 of 1 Socx B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We've been going between England and Italy twice a year for over 25 years and have struggled to find just the right accommodation on our last night before returning back over the Channel. Au Petit Manoir has been the best find yet. Catherine is a charming hostess with good but slightly eccentric English, Jean Jacques has been cooking since he was 14, and it shows. The suites are comfortable - but, again, slightly eccentric - and the dining is excellent, though you must book ahead if you want to eat.

Staying in October we were not disturbed by the trains, which run several hundred yards across fields behind the house, and we could not hear traffic on the main road to the front. There is a fitness centre that we didn't try. The Manoir is within a mile of the main Lille to Dunkerque road, and is very easy to find once you know that computer-generated directions can be completely wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the house are away from the road, which can be busy, though the dining room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flautaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is a little ofthe beaten track but well worth staying. Lovely Hostess Katherine fantastic bedroom with everything you could possibly need for a luxurious stay with the most comfortable bed.
Food is fantastic cooked by mIne host and the ambience is wonderful. Fine dining and fine wines included in the price of dinner.

Room Tip: Building is laid back from busy road and I had a front bedroom and there was no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosturk c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Other travellers, be warned : this place is impossible to book! For you to understand, here is what happened to me :

- I contacted them by mail on August 5 with a few questions, including availability on a defined WE.
- They replied on August 7.
- On the 8th, I confirmed our booking and asked about prepayment to guarantee our booking. They told me to send a "cheque" of half the amount. I replied that in Belgium, "cheques" do not exist anymore (except on spefific cases) and asked for their bank details in order to make a bank transfer but never got any answer (this is what I do when I book a room in France, they are used to it with Belgians).
- On August 11, they send me a new mail, as if they never sent me the first one, changing the guarantee amount, and saying again that I should send a "cheque".
- I explained again that I needed their bank details, as I cannot send them a "cheque" from Belgium. This is where they stopped answering!!!

If this is the way they do business, they won't last very long... and it is a pitty because the place looks really nice.


-

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Au Petit Manoir is an outstanding place to stay and one that I now rate all other B & Bs against. It is situated just 10 minutes from the ferry at Dunkerque and is well worth making the small detour if you are going North or South on the A16.
The decor and facilities are amazing and up to the standards of many 4 or 5 star hotels. The attention to detail is impressive; we stayed in the Malo les Bains room with a seaside theme which even has a bath standing on a base covered with pebbles. The other rooms are equally as impressive and a lot of time was spent searching for furniture and antiques to fit in with the room's theme.
Outside, there is a barbeque house and, if you arrive early enough, the opportunity to have a hammam.
We would also recommend booking an evening meal cooked by Jean-Jaques which was delicious and used fresh local produce where possible. The local Berques cheese is worth trying but not at the expense of one of Jean-Jacque's desserts!
Catherine and Jean-Jacques are very welcoming hosts and do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. Well done to them for making their website available in English!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Luc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Moitoii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank MARIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Au Petit Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Petit Manoir

Address: 36 Faubourg de Cassel, 59380 Socx, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Socx
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Socx
Price Range: £83 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Au Petit Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing