We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Visited Mellington Hall today for the first time in years after having a bad evening meal there some time ago. We were all perfectly pleased with the service and food we had. The staff were extremely friendly,especially the young lady who bought us out menus. We had 2 courses for £13.95. We all had parfait to start-it was fantastic, lots of toast and a lovely chutney. 2 of us had roast beef, one pork and one lamb-all superb quality and very tasty. We had a lovely range of vegetables and potatoes to add to our plates. Our 3 year old daughter had a child's portion of a pork roast dinner for £6.95-the portion was quite large for a 3 year old, but would suit older children well. We were all really tempted by the pudding list, but we were all too full. Service throughout was fantastic and after bit visiting this venue for a long time I would now definitely recommend and will be returning soon.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah-CarterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    90
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
76
202
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Took advantage of a Travelzoo voucher and had a 2 course lunch (starter & main) for just £11.
Had a drink on the rear patio with superb views before going to a window seat overlooking the front.
The food was excellent and the service could not be faulted whilst the drinks were very reasonably priced.
The rooms downstairs are wonderful and we were also invited to inspect their newly decorated bedrooms which were amazing.

We shall definitely go back and stay even though we only live a short distance away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at mellington house hotel. Hotel is absolutely stunning and the location is breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and attentive and meet all our requests. We had breakfast both mornings and it was freshly cooked and very tasty. We also had the afternoon tea with was delicious and made all the more special that we had an amazing view from the stunning dinning room. Will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy-bobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I thought the property was breathtaking. The staff were very good, all very attentive. The rooms could do with a little refresh, but lovely residents lounge area. Would recommend if in this part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesHacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have dined at Mellington Hall many times over the last few years. This review is based on the most recent visit on Sunday 13th April. My husband and I and my parents decided to go for a drink and sat on the patio as the sun was shining. We were asked if we were dining but hadn't planned to but decided to have the 2 course Sunday lunch at £13.95. We were told that the restaurant was fully booked but we were welcome to eat in the bar. We agreed but was a little disappointed we couldn't sit in the lovely panelled restaurant. However, understandable considering we hadn't pre-booked. We had a couple of drinks on the patio and then our order was taken. There are approximately 5 starters and 5 mains to choose from, plus numerous deserts. We were delighted when a member of staff came out and said they had received a cancellation so we could sit in the restaurant. In the bar and restaurant we were served by 3 different staff. All very professional and polite and friendly. Service in the restaurant was excellent and the food could not be faulted. I must say as regular visitors to Mellington, we have seen a marked improvement in the service on this occasion. Don't get me wrong, all staff have been friendly in the past but today seemed more professional and all staff looked very smart in their new uniforms. All starters were served promptly and we all thoroughly enjoyed them. Two of us had lamb for main and two had pork. There was lots of meat on the plate and it was beautifully cooked and tasty. All accompanied with plenty of vegetables, new potatoes, roast potatoes and cauliflower cheese. A delicious meal enjoyed by all. We had to skip desserts as we were far too full!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This the second time that i have visited mellington hall. Stayed once before last year. Not yet to be let down. Went for Mother's Day lunch absolutely fantastic! I took the family. They all enjoyed it. Fantastic and friendly staff. Brilliant food. Overall absolutely spectacular!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived for a Mothers day lunch. There were 5 of us including a 6 year old. The price per head was £19.95 but our child had the less expensive child menu. On arrival we walked into the front door where we were basically ignored. We found our way to the bar where eventually we were asked who we were and then handed the menu. We were then put into a side room where our starters arrived. There was no offer of a wine list or further drinks and we had to find a member of staff to request it. We then realised there was butter on the table but no bread rolls to accompany our starter. My wife asked if there were bread rolls to go with the butter and told that they would be at extra cost. When they arrived they were stale. The main meal of which two were silverside of beef which was a cheap sinewy cut of meat. My wife had to leave the table 3 times to request a further drink. In all the service was poor, the food was poor and when they handed us the bill it was completely wrong. Never again. Shame as it's a fine buidling but totally lacking in service and quality. A day to forget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mellingtonhallhotel, Manager at Mellington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment but feel your review does have a certain amount of inaccuracy.
None of our team would ignore a customer with intention. We feel this is more a matter of you arrived at a new, unfamiliar place & couldn't see the bar area with the large numbers we had booked that day. This was obviously made worse with the fact you had traveled a long distance with a young child who had been ill during the journey. We all know how irate & stressed this can make us feel.
Our Cwm Dining room which you refer to as a 'side room' is one of our four restaurants we had in operation that day. We are sorry you were disappointed with your window seat in this particular dining room. We had large parties in the other restaurants & feel it can be rather intimidating for smaller groups to be sat in the same room as these, especially when you had an unwell child with you. In this case we apologize as we obviously got our choice of seating wrong for you.
Our wine list can be found inside our menu folders but again apologize that these were not pointed out in person to you.
As stated on our menus bread is only served with our homemade soup & chicken liver parfait. Additional bread is available on request. Our bread rolls are baked fresh daily so could not have been stale. We do not serve silverside of Beef on any of our menus. It would have been our topside of beef 2 members of your party choose. We have had many many compliments from other guests on the day whom have said how tend the beef was so struggle to understand how 2 portions could have been so different. Had you have mentioned this during your lunch we would have been more than happy to have offered an alternative to you though.
Your review insinuates to the public that your bill was incorrect in such a way that was not explainable although you were perfectly aware why the bill happened to be slightly incorrect & I feel it is only appropriate to explain this to others:
When this customers order was taken there were 4 Adults whom ordered starters & main course & a child who ordered a main course. Unfortunately during the starter course the child became unwell again & the waiting on staff were asked if an adults main course & the child's main course could be cancelled. This we did without hesitation although the food had already been prepared. At this stage the bill had already been written up based on the original order by the bar staff & with having 108 booked during this lunch service we had simply not deducted the 2 main courses from the bill before the bill was requested. This was rectified quickly & efficiently for the customer though & feel saddened that they feel this warrants a review such as this. Tripadvisor should be used to pass on your experiences to others but should not be abused or used to portray such inaccuracies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
4.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
268 reviews
13.5 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
610 reviews
18.6 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
12.4 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Property: Mellington Hall Hotel
Address: | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall
Mellington Hall Hotel Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing