We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Cain Valley Hotel(Llanfyllin)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gregynog Hall(Newtown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rowton Castle(Halfway House)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
263
97
47
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
97
47
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teamellington hallsandwichesdining roomcaravan parklog firewedding venuecooked to perfectionsunday lunchlong drivecouldn't do enoughevening mealpuddingfour poster bedstunning locationlambreception area
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great venue for a traditional wedding. Good attention to detail, rooms great, food delicious. Very helpful staff. Comfy rooms, slept well. Our daughter was married here and had the whole event in one venue. Relatives from all over the globe all agreed it was a great place. Only one problem..... it rained all day and we couldn't take outside photos in the beautiful grounds, but we still had plenty of great and historic indoor shots.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is great.... but all rooms were good. We occupied the whole hotel. Quite all round, front of hotel has good views over the fields.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jan_alpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

11th May 2014, a celebratory Sunday lunch for two was lovely. The waitress was ever-present and genuinely there to provide attentive, smiling service.

The quality, flavour, portion size and presentation of the starter and main was good and value (no need for a deal) excellent.

Add to the above, the beautiful scenery, impressive features of the Hall itself and it was pretty perfect.

William & Sophia
Going back there this evening (if they can fit us in!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MalcolmWDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked lunch with offer from travelzoo.

Young lady who dealt with us, receptionist, drinks, waitress, was excellent, extremely helpful.
It was a mid week lunch 21st mat, and it was excellent. I would certainly recommend.

J lewivs

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jaclew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I recently had an invite to attend an open evening at Mellington Hall & Hotel. There has been an extensive re-vamp and change to many of their rooms. Tasteful, relaxing colours, luxurious linen & bedding. It would be easy to fall asleep and stay that way for a long time.
I understand that there has also been a huge investment into a new boiler and plant room. Mellington has always been a warm property and place to stay or enjoy a meal.
There are some unique items, that you just don't get offered anywhere else. A warmth from the staff from the moment you arrive, which extends throughout your stay. Nothing is over looked and there is never anything that the staff won't do to make you feel at home.
I have been a regular visitor to this outstanding establishment for years. I simply cannot think of a better hotel or beautiful place to stay.
Anyway back to the open evening, a selection of canapés and Buck's Fizz on arrival, together with a tour of all the changes. I would recommend this peaceful location and their facilities to anyone. Immaculately manicured grounds too. It's well worth a walk around the lake too!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roadiadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Visited Mellington Hall today for the first time in years after having a bad evening meal there some time ago. We were all perfectly pleased with the service and food we had. The staff were extremely friendly,especially the young lady who bought us out menus. We had 2 courses for £13.95. We all had parfait to start-it was fantastic, lots of toast and a lovely chutney. 2 of us had roast beef, one pork and one lamb-all superb quality and very tasty. We had a lovely range of vegetables and potatoes to add to our plates. Our 3 year old daughter had a child's portion of a pork roast dinner for £6.95-the portion was quite large for a 3 year old, but would suit older children well. We were all really tempted by the pudding list, but we were all too full. Service throughout was fantastic and after bit visiting this venue for a long time I would now definitely recommend and will be returning soon.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Hannah-CarterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews