We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jenny's pre 40th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Jenny's pre 40th Birthday”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It doesn't matter how far we have travelled. You simply cannot beat Mellington Hall Restaurant. The superb quality of food, cooked to perfection along with pleasant and efficient staff.
We went on Sunday 10th Aug 2014. We all ordered roast beef dinners. Unlike other establishments the beef was cooked to perfection, melted in the mouth. Vegetables were also cooked well, not too well done and not too crunchy.
We had deserts to follow. Sherry Trifle, chocolate trio and apple and whim berry crumble.
Staff were very polite, checked on our meal and whether or not we wanted extra vegetables or gravy. Nothing was overlooked. Very reasonably priced too. It was extremely busy, but this did not delay our food or alter the usual high standards of service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadiadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    90
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
76
202
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked dinner for four mid-week in the hotel's restaurant. My partner and me were being treated by friends and Mellington came recommended, certainly as a location and fine country building, and was told dining was good. What a disappointment. Perhaps the warning sign came in the dispensing of very cold Bishops Castle brewed Three Tuns bitter; usually a cracking beer if served properly. On to the dinner. The butter presented with the soup was straight out of the fridge and could hardly be spead but worse, was parked right next to the soup dish and left to melt rather than being thoughtfully placed in a separate dish. A small point perhaps but i continue. For mains i went for the lamb shank. It was the worst lamb shank i've had; overcooked and lacking taste. My friends lamb shank was similarly disappointing. The veg', too, was overcooked. My friends fillet steak lacked taste and texture but, to our great relief, the hand prepared chips were very good.
I reluctantly went for a pud' to please my friend....again, what a huge let down. The bread & butter pudding was stodgy with no sign of any crispy topping and the whole lacked flavour. We didn't complain so as to save our friend's embarrassment at his kind gesture. But for the price paid it was so disappointing; good pub grub would have trumped this on the night. The hotel is in a great setting and deserves better than this; i hope they can raise their game and inject a bit of thought and passion in to both the menu and the cooking. Until we here of better things we won't be returning in a hurry. Mellington Hall either had a bad evening or else they've got a few issues to deal with in the restaurant. I hope they think about the reviews.
All-in-all, a super location, grand building but read a few reviews before venturing in to the restaurant for dinner.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Did not stay at hotel so cannot comment on accommodation, but had a very pleasant and value for money Sunday lunch on their patio. Good choice, good quantities and well cooked and presented. Would and are happy to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pollysury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for two nights, with my dog and stayed in the Montgomery suite.
We was made most welcome. As stated in other reviews the place is stunning.
The food was amazing, I dined in both nights and the food was cooked to order and could not be faulted. The belly pork was out of this world as were the sweets.
The breakfasts were good but not on a par with the evening meal.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
I had a small issue with some noise, I like it quiet but I could hear a radio, which annoyed. This was soon sorted and was in the kitchen underneath my room.
The complementary beverage tray lacked biscuits? which surprised me. though the tray was very well stocked.
I was happy and amazed this hotel was dog friendly, a great plus in my book.
I hope to return and sample Sunday Lunch, which I understand is delicious.
In fact my brother visited and is making a point of returning to sample this.
A really great time and Very Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

What a hidden gem

The hotel is fantastic for a quiet romantic getaway we had afternoon tea when we arrived and a bottle of wine outside in the sunshine

We had an amazing break staying in the kerry suite

There was a wedding on but we didn't even notice

Can't wait to come back again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I attended an evening wedding celebration at the hotel on the Friday (did not stay) and the staff were attentive and friendly (despite being rushed off their feet!) One particular lady went out of her way to find a taxi for us. We then returned on the Saturday to stay overnight night and the same welcome and service was provided. The hotel is set in glorious surroundings and was peaceful later in the evening once the influx of people in the bar had gone. My son and his partner joined us for food and although we only wanted the bar meal, because the bar area was busy, the excellent staff led us to the dining room and we ate our bar meal in style!
Yes, the hotel is a bit tired in places, however the staff made our short stay very enjoyable-thank you staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 573annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay on Saturday and stayed in the Mellington Suite, the surrounding area and the hotel is stunning. Our suite was perfect for our anniversary treat, a beautiful four poster bed, and a jaquzi bath for two ! The staff are lovely and the evening meal was cooked fresh to order with local produce. The home made baileys cheesecake was just delicious as was our breakfast the next day. I would love to visit again and urge anyone wanting a romantic break to book here. There is also a very well managed caravan site to the back of the hotel which is of high standard and well kept and doesnt impact on the hotel, the patio is below the bathroom....but if you shut the window...you cant hear others being sociable ...by the evening the hotel is lit up at the front and looks stunning, the area is very peaceful and relaxing and this room has the view of the gorgeous countryside which you can see whilst lying on a huge four poster ! A 10/10 for us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinkerbelle36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
4.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
268 reviews
13.5 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
610 reviews
18.6 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
12.4 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Property: Mellington Hall Hotel
Address: | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall
Mellington Hall Hotel Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing