We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Mellington, Montgomery, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stacy B
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cannot recommend this property enough! We had the most amazing week here with a family of 3 generations who all enjoyed all of amenities available. The pool and hot tub are fantastic and the owners keep it this way by coming early each morning to keep it to the immensely clean standard that we were greeted with upon our arrival.

We had fresh eggs delivered to us from the owners of the property making us feel even more welcome and with 5 children/teens with us the note in the welcome book to 'make as much noise as we like' was very welcome! It was nice to not have to feel like that we were bothering anyone and that the kids could all thoroughly enjoy themselves!

The surrounding areas and animals in particular were a massive hit with everyone as were all of the extras inside the house. Plenty of activities to do, more than enough TVs to go round, although the setting of the property meant we didn't really use them as we were too busy otherwise or chose to spend the time together gathered round the one in the amazing sun room!

We also had our 2 puppies with us, Trixie and Diesel, who were again welcomed by the owners and they too enjoyed the vast outdoor areas!

The house itself is very remote, but for us from a busy city that was a welcome change! The nearest supermarkets (Tesco/Morrisons/Iceland) are all within a 10 minute drive to Newtown so your not too cut off if you need anything!

Overall, if your thinking of booking this property.....DO IT! You won't regret it, unless your looking for something in the middle of a bustling city!!!

Thank you to Sharon and Wayne for renting out their property and giving us a family holiday we won't forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irene r
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful property. We were a large family group of 3 generations celebrating a 40th birthday.
Pool and hot tub kept the children and adults happy.
Very remote but once in happy to stay in property.
A couple of practical pointers to consider.
Could do with an extra frying pan for such large groups otherwise breakfast can take a long time to prepare!
The dishwasher was not very good as some of the plates were too large for it.
But that apart a truly magnificent venue

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warnesygi...
west yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Birthday bash - made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked this venue for a large family gathering for my birthday. I really wanted something with a wow factor and this place has it. The booking through Sykes cottages was efficient and the company kept in touch as the house was new to the site and did not have interior photos to view at the time. They were happy to reserve our booking until we had viewed the rooms. We were not disappointed. Nearer the time we contacted Wayne and Sharon and nothing was too much trouble. I called as we needed a camp bed for my 3 yr old niece - sorted. I also needed to discuss linen change during the week as some guest were staying just for the weekend with a whole new change of linen required. There was plenty lining and towels stored in the utility room so no laundry day was needed. They also answered all my question promptly about the games console and if they had a food warmer (they didn't, shame as they are useful when cooking for 12) I was worried that due to the rural nature that the kids would be bored but I needn't had worried as they never left the pool which was well heated (we did discovered that the Play station had been replaced by a Wii and Xbox but they never left the box).The directions given were good but the lane was still easy to miss. I looked on Google earth to give me a better idea and glad I did. The photos on the website simply did not do the house justice. It was more beautiful. The oak floors and stair, to the formal dining room, the front lounge and sun room so comfortable and useful if you wanted peace and quite watching the movie channel, while the rest of the party chatted watching sport. Or you could disappear to your room and watch what you want on the sky multi channel. We had the master bedroom with the huge ensuite. It had a slipper bath and a walk-in shower, along with the heated floor, which was a touch of luxury. a brand new hair dryer was also supplied. The owners popped across from their onsite home to welcome us with local wine and beer and supplied fresh eggs when needed. Basic for a cuppa was in place too. Helped direct us to the best butcher locally where we were not disappointed (Ricky Lloyds in Welshpool the burgers were like door stops!) On the day of the birthday they generously gave me a bottle of Champaign and a box of chocolates which was very thoughtful and very well received. (Thank you). The owners love dogs and despite what the website says Sharon was happy for us to leave them in the house alone but since we didn't really need to go anywhere this wasn't an issue. The house is fantastic but here's a couple of points to maybe consider: the back garden is huge and peaceful, ideal for our old dog but it is uneven as I discovered whilst playing badminton. The external stone flag step near the greenhouse were loose but easily avoidable. The family bathroom is on the first floor not the 2nd floor as stated on the website, the twin bedroom on the 2nd floor has crooked stairs and a low ceiling leading up to it so really not for the infirm however our granddad and my dad slept up there and were fine and finally it is an very old house with very low beams so 'watch your head' quickly followed by and swear word became a regular occurrence of the house. It is the norm for the electrics to trip out but again easily solved by a phone call to the owners who left us the key to the electrics room if it happened again. Depending on your network the phone signals are very poor as so is the Wi-Fi but the owners we already solving that small issue when we left. Although there was a basket of leaflets a guide/ info book would have been useful eg nearest supermarket, pub, best places to eat, distance to dog friendly beach. Oviously this is all online but with the poor Wi-Fi this meant this was not always possible - so consider doing your research before you go. The house does have its quirkiness ( the 'butler' and possible 'ghost') which will leave you smiling. We were all sad to leave as we had a lovely time and would definitely return someday hopefully soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the heated pool, sauna and hot tub, multi room sky
Liked least: the poor wifi signal
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy2510
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at this house as part of a family group arranged by my father-in-law. As a idyllic relaxing place to stay you can't do much better!

The house is an old 17th Century farmhouse, with later Victorian extensions and a later conservatory added which adds to the character of the property. Inside there are numerous places to relax or eat all tastefully integrating the latest mod-cons with the character of the house. One of the characters though is the low beams - if you're over 5 foot 7 you'll need to watch your head! Also, the floor in the Victorian section is lower than the older section so people with mobility difficulties may need to think about the additional steps.

The amenities offered are vast and are included to help entertain and relax you, from the big screen TV's all with Sky in all bedrooms and living areas (the conservatory has the biggest at 50") to the heated pool, hot tub and sauna. A badminton set is also provided, and there are many places to sit outside and enjoy the sun - around the pool, outside the conservatory, at the "bar" in the garden (not a real bar - one made up as a show-piece in the garden) or the gazebo. Kids have a wendy house outside to play with - though if there is one suggestion I would make to the owners is that they provide some other outdoor play equipment for the little ones - a swing/slide set from Argos (or similar retailer) would do it and an ideal place would be by the "bar" - adults could sit have a nice drink and watch their children play safely.

Location wise you're 1.5 miles from the nearest village (the pub isn't recommended though - and they don't serve food) and 7 miles from the nearest town Newtown which has rail links to Shrewsbury and Birmingham and coach links too. The area is in the valley of Kerry so the local scenery is very hilly and picturesque. There are many places to visit nearby too.

Something to watch out for (and this isn't a fault with the property) is that if you're coming in using a postcode on a Sat Nav, it will take you up a wrong lane as the postcode covers many of the lanes! You may find using a grid reference of 52.511618, -3.140642 (as provided by Google Maps) more accurate. Also, the Wi-Fi wasn't working while we were there (connection fault) though wireless mobile dongles are provided in case of problems like this.

The owners live on-site in a modern building next door and can be contacted if problems occur. The property is surrounded by farm-land and the gardens are home to ducks, geese and peacocks (yes, peacocks live on-site!). Also, while we were there a neighbouring farm cat decided to drop-by and stay!

In summary - I doubt you'll find a better place to stay in the area than this house.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Low beams!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy-Rose...
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, gardens, pool, owners and peacocks!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at White Hopton house for the Easter Weekend and had such a fantastic time. The house is spacious, beautiful decorated and clean. The facilities were fantastic with the pool, BBQ area and large garden being a highlight for us! The owner kindly directed us to a lovely walk just minutes from the property which had fantastic views over the welsh countryside, wildlife and house itself.

I would recommend this place to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing