We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Gustavo Holiday Accommodation in the Picos de Europa
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cillorigo de Liebana
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casona Malvasia(Cabezon de Liebana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Reda(Vinon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
20
4
6
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
4
6
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have stayed three times at Casa Gustavo (so obviously I like it).

Los Picos are an area that is beautiful and empty. On many of our walks we did not meet another soul. Mike knows the area like the back of his hand and will gauge his walks carefully to suit the group he is walking with.

Breakfasts are ample and healthy. Dinners are something to look forward to with Lydia's superb cooking.

You are staying in a house that includes a family (and other animals), so it is not for someone looking for Travelodge conditions.

Room Tip: As this is a conversion of an old house, the rooms are very individual. Talk to Lisa about your needs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angloscot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We are seasoned and easy going travellers who accept that if you are travelling a bit rough and ready that that sometimes means taking the rough with the smooth. The Picos is beautiful, unspoilt and a walkers paradise, we would recommend it to anyone. Unfortunately we cannot say the same for Casa Gustavo. It could be a fabulous place to stay and easily all it claims on it's website - a bit ramshackle but a warm and friendly home with easy going hosts who are very knowledgeable about the area and who could give you good tips and advice about walking options. Were were there for 7 nights and hadn't read any reviews about it before hand so didn't pick up that it might be a bit of grim experience. As another reviewer who stayed around the same time as us has written, "...it felt as if something had gone seriously wrong over the last year as the previous year's reviews were far more positive". This is a good description; the atmosphere when we were there in August certainly wasn't a happy one.

On a positive note, we did have a room that was a reasonable size, with a small bath and a good hot shower and plenty of hanging space; if you looked past the excoriatingly rough, frayed and torn towels etc) it was fine. Sadly that is where acceptability ended. When we were there the house was scruffy and unkempt with cat wee and puppy poo hazards to be negotiated. The breakfast offered was unbelievably dreary. This was the cheapest supermarket food that could be bought (cheap cereal, cheap yogurt, bland jam and horrible tasteless bread). The only redeeming feature was a jar of local honey. Given that just a couple of miles down the road there are fabulous and inexpensive local cheeses, hams and bread available, it made the breakfast options being offered to us inexplicable. Not least because the website offers the enticing statement that Mike and Lisa make... "use of as much local and seasonal produce as possible". At 30 euro's a night you can't expect fine dining or super soft towels and robes but what was being offered by Mike and Lisa during our stay fell far short of acceptable. It wasn't just the practicalities, it was also a peculiarly odd and charmless experience and its taken a long time to commit to print. Looking back it was as though guests were received as neither welcome or wanted visitors; more they were an inconvenient nuisance to be endured. Casa Gustavo has obviously been better at than we found it and maybe it will pick up again. I hope so. For us it was a relief to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingfar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaPicosdeEuropa, Owner at Casa Gustavo Holiday Accommodation in the Picos de Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write your comment. I'm really very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that it coincided with us having a puppy and kitten. On the bright side we have replaced the older towels, widened the breakfast options and Jessie is now fully house-trained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a really beautiful property, i stayed her for 6 weeks during november and december. The surrounding valley is absolutely stunning and the owners (Mike and Lisa) are lovely, fun and accomodating people with a great knowledge of the surrounding area. Well done i say.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We (3) came to the Picos for the hiking, and were not disappointed. Mikes' local knowledge is extensive and we were taken to places we would never have ventured on our own. The hikes were in a variety of landscapes and the scenery was amazing - glad for the new camera. We were happy to be influenced by Mike each day, but did get to have a say as to how hard or easy the days hike would be - not dictated to. It is true the atmosphere in the house can be a little surprising at first, but we were there for 7 days, and simply got used to it, we were not going to let the busy workings of family life hamper our enjoyment. If you don't like cats on your lap, don't let them up! It's not promoted as luxury accomodation, it's a living breathing working household, but if you're there for hiking or skiing, just enjoy it. Breakfast could be more interesting it's true, but the evening meals are worth waiting for, every single time :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustralianFamily-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

seems a very unusual word to describe this B&B but it's what we felt. Somewhere along the way Mike and Lisa have lost the will to enjoy offering this service to to their customers. What could be a beautiful unusual home and business has declined to a scruffy uncared for dirty building that lacks any of the home comforts described on their web page. There are young animals with the inevitable accidents that pets bring but if they confined them to a restricted area there wouldn't be so much 'evidence' around the place. This is a beautiful area to holiday but there would have to be some serious work done to this establishment before we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wwfun108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaPicosdeEuropa, Owner at Casa Gustavo Holiday Accommodation in the Picos de Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to comment and I'm very sorry you feel that way. Although our house will never sparkle, please be assured we are doing a thorough winter/spring clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews