We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable B&B!”
Review of Poppy Cottage

Poppy Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birchover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poppy Cottage
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbeatable B&B!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for a few days in July, and it was fantastic. The B&B has its own lounge with a dining area, two double bedrooms and a big bathroom. You have the use of it entirely to yourself and Alison serves an amazing breakfast each morning. Definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed in! Alison has a Yorkshire terrier called Harry who is a real character and loves to pop in to see if there are any leftovers! Parking is in the main street and we were able to park right outside on most days.

Birchover is a small and quiet village with two pubs but no village shop. It's an easy drive from both Bakewell and Matlock, and handy for Chatsworth. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Peak District, I'd recommend Poppy Cottage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageGolfer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from a few days' walking in the Peak District with a friend. We stayed at this beautiful, quint-essential English cottage in the small village of Birchover, central to many wonderful walks. Alison was very welcoming, providing us with afternoon tea on arrival and beautifully cooked breakfasts. Nothing was too much to ask. The cottage has its own entrance, a cosy living room and dining area and two well appointed double bedrooms and wonderfully warm bathroom.
Wish I was back there already!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngaSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here as part of a boys weekend away in the peaks. We were dotted round in different locations and it's fair to say we hit the jackpot! Poppy Cottage is a lovely house in the middle of Birchover (which has a couple of pubs and places to eat) and an easy drive to the attractions of the Peaks. Nothing was too much trouble for Alison and the breakfasts she provides will set you up for the day! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megatron-Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Poppy Cottage is a truly charming place. Booked at short notice. Birchover is a lovely happening village two pubs serving good food and drink till late.
Alison was a wonderful host serving a tray of tea and homemade flapjacks on arrival. Two lovely double rooms and the run of the main part of the cottage, a true home from home. It is just like the photos. Breakfast at a time of you choosing is a delight plenty of choice using interesting local produce.
Harry the dog provided the entertainment
Out and about the nearby Stanton Moor is easily reached by well marked footpaths maintained by the National Trust lots to see including Nine Ladies stone circle, Reform Tower and ancient barrows across an idyllic heathland with low deciduous birch woods around the many quarries and footpaths.
Bakewell is nearby and in our view a classier choice than Matlock Bath
We would have no hesitation in going back to Poppy Cottage at any time of year a truly perfect weekend break

Overall so worth the effort getting out of Bakewell in a search for a nice b&b

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Second stay at this truly excellent B&B. This time we came with Bethany my sisters Grandaughter (10). Alison made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. She goes out of her way to make sure everything is perfect. We will return again as we feel Poppy Cottage is home from home. Missing it already.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plummer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stondon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

It is homely, relaxing and extremely spacious and is separate to the rest of the house so your privacy is paramount.
It is a short driving distance to all the local attractions, Bakewell, Chatsworth House, Hadden Hall and Matlock Bath, not forgetting walking distance to The Druids Inn and Red Lion pubs, the food and service at the Druids Inn was excellent and the staff extremely friendly.
Alison is the perfect host at Poppy Cottage, she is warm, welcoming, helpful and friendly, she ensures all your needs are catered for without being intrusive.
Tea and homemade cake was offered on arrival, delightful!
Her little Yorkshire Terrier 'Harry' is always pleased to see you, ready to play and doesn't mind the odd belly tickle.
Her breakfasts truly are amazing, you definitely won't need to eat for the rest of the day.
The log fire is a lovely central feature to the lounge area and Alison ensures you never run out of logs and coal and has prepared for your return at the end of the day.
I couldn't recommend Poppy Cottage more highly, if in doubt, book it and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellebellepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Both Linda (my Sister) and I had a wonderful stay at Poppy Cottage. By far the best B&B we have stayed at. We have already told our host Alison we will make a return visit next year.Little Harry (Yorkshire Terrier) was a delight, coming to see us every morning. Breakfast a delight and not rushed. We truly had a relaxing time. Alison's attention to detail and to making our stay enjoyable was excellent. We always returned to a lovely log fire. Can't wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: Both rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plummer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birchover
4.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
14.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Cottage

Property: Poppy Cottage
Address: Poppy Cottage Main Street, Birchover, Peak District National Park DE4 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Birchover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Birchover
Hotel Class:4 star — Poppy Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high up in the village of Birchover, Poppy Cottage bed and breakfast is a wonderful place to stay whatever the weather. The spacious accommodation is quite self-contained, with its own separate access. Although we can accommodate up to four guests, we never take more than one booking at a time so that you can enjoy complete privacy during your stay.Tucked away in its secluded gardens, just behind Main Street, Poppy Cottage is a perfect hideaway for those who prefer to base themselves in the peace and quiet of a small village. Built over 200 years ago from Birchover stone, much of its charm is in its rambling quirkiness.We are a small family run Bed and Breakfast, providing a high standard of hospitality for our guests and we will do everything we possibly can to make your stay with us as perfect as it can be.In the Peak District National Park and at the foot of Stanton Moor, Birchover is surrounded by beautiful open countryside. The many footpaths and trails make this a wonderful place for walkers and cyclists alike.Straight from our front door there are marvellous walks in endless directions for those of you who don't want to use your cars. Stanton Moor, site of a large Bronze Age burial ground is just a few minutes walk away. The views from the Trig Point are a breathtaking 360 degrees. (see Local Area)We are less than 15 minutes drive from Bakewell, Matlock, Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. The Red Lion, Real Ale pub is about 200 yards from us and The Druid Inn is roughly the same again. Both serve excellent meals.Poppy Cottage is strictly a non-smoking establishment, throughout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing