We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Providing great Tassie hospitality and...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Storekeeper's Boutique Accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Storekeeper's Boutique Accommodation
The Garden Path Our sign
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Storekeeper's Boutique Accommodation
The Garden Path
Our sign
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Sitting Room
Drinks Trolley
Kitchen
Coffee Time
Dining area
Bathroom
1830s Buckland Inn
Spring Blossom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckland, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cathy1_10
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Providing great Tassie hospitality and accommodation”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent a delightful cosy evening in front of the open fire which had been set up ready to go for us. The place is beautifully decorated, fresh and exceptionally clean. A well equiped kitchen included a coffee machine and fresh cream milk. Angela had left supplies of fresh eggs, bacon, crusty bread and so much more that we were able to eat some for tea and still have an amazing breakfast. Had we wanted to there was a freezer full of delicious meals at very reasonable prices. It is very conveniently located on the highway into Hobart with the local store and pub within walking distance. Angela provided us with lots of information both before and on our arrival. Next time we are travelling through we will definitely stop again and even check out her farm if possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you Cathy. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a cosy winter's evening by the fire. It always gives us much pleasure to know our guests have had a great stay with us.

Would love to welcome you back again one day and show you around Twamley Farm.
Best wishes
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurtisG
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Impressive, self-contained accommodation”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Storekeeper's Boutique Accommodation is just that. It's an impressive, sympathetically modernised old store in Buckland, which is now a backwater off the Tasman Highway. Peace and quiet reigns.

Storekeeper's has all you need for a few days' stay if you are exploring. We ate in from the adequate, quality food supply after arriving late from our day at the excellent Port Arthur historic former penal colony on the peninsula. We had underestimated the length and time of the drive back and borrowed a mobile from a passing motorist to ring Angela to let her know. 'No-problem' was the response - and that's how our stay was; no problem.

We spent three quarters of an hour or so on the morning we left looking around the church; the 1846 Church of St John the Baptist. Beautiful stained glass windows including one which is a commemoration to a Turvey family relative who died in the First World War at Chunuk Bair in the dreadful Dardanelles campaign. We also walked at the family farm, Twamley, - a still working farm that also has accommodation - and met Angela's delightful dad Derek who filled us in on the history of the farm since (not his!) but the elder family's convict days - and then we walked one of the more arduous but shorter signed walks before returning to our onward road-trip.

All in all Storekeeper's, family run by Angela and sister Elizabeth, is a fine place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you Curtis for such a great description of your experience staying with us and visiting Twamley Farm. We are so pleased to be able to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience that does allow you to 'go behind the scenery' and meet ordinary Tasmanians like us and see a little of farm life in our island state. We are also delighted that our accommodation has proven to be a great base for not just the east coast but Port Arthur and Hobart as well. Thank you and best wishes. Angela & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelRoz
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected luxury”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a delightful cottage, full of amenities you would find in luxury boutique accommodation e.g. slippers, dressing gowns, mini bar of non massed produced local gourmet products.
Excellent beds, two living areas, good size and appointed kitchen and dining room. All very stylishly furnished and appointed. A good location if you are planning to visit nearby Maria Island.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprend s
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wish i could give 6 stars!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Angela was a superb host and the cottage was perfect in every way. The cottage would easily accommodate 2 couples or a small family. The breakfast provided was delicious and generous & Angela also made us up a very high quality (and reasonably priced) hamper to take for our trip to Maria Island. I cannot give high enough praise ! thank you, we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: generous little treats & special lush touches
Liked least: no baking trays (minor concern...)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CillaL-D
Sevenoaks, Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Cutesy Cottage!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rather wish that we had spent another night here. The cottage is spotless, spacious, tasteful & has everything you need. We had elected to eat 'in' with a selection of freezer meals as there isn't anywhere very nearby. I had been a little dubious about this but No Worries! - there was a good selection of quality locally made dishes (Lasagne, Boeuf Bourguignon, gnocchi, pizzas etc) & we plumped for the Lamb Rogan Josh which was just the job.
Furnished in a Modern Vintage style it really is just that - stylish.
The following morning we drove to their Homestead at the farm & did a good (steep) walk to Charlie's Hill Lookout - well worth doing. The church was worth a look too having a 14th century stained glass window which amazingly had come from Battle, pretty near us in the U.K.
Angela was welcoming & helpful. Storekeepers really is as good as it looks!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimbobler
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellence in Buckland”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

OK, you probably hadn't put the town of Buckland down as one of your stops on your journey of Tasmania-BUT, the Storekeepers will put Buckland on the map if it hasnt already. We were running late on our trip from Port Arthur, and upon calling Angela, she insisted on meeting us and showing us through her magnificent property. It is a beautifully restored original stone cottage. The interior is so tastefully decorated, with a marvellous return to the 70's. The linens, towels, and furnishings are of high quality, and the interior is spotlessly clean. There are provisions for Breakfast, complimentary nibbles, and some wonderful looking frozen meals provided for purchase. Also plenty of local beers, wines and spirits, with the marvellous idea of being able to help yourself to nips of spirits. The quality of the teas, coffee, etc (why doesnt everbody have a Nespresso machine) were also great. We have stayed in and written reviews on many abodes in the last 5 years, and without doubt, this is number 1. If only we could pick Storekeepers up and take it with us as we travelled, then we would never have a care in the world about where we rest our heads. EVERYONE i know will hear about this little gem (or maybe we will just keep it as our secret.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and presentation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you Kathy. We try very hard to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience and everything they need to be comfortable so it is always extremely pleasing to know that we have achieved this. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Storekeeper's. We hope to welcome you all back again one day.
Best wishes
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meatybite
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Style in the middle of no-where”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This place is just awesome. We only stayed one night so didn't explore the local area. However I think it would suit people passing through. The building itself is what I love about Tasmania. So full of history but lovingly restored. The fit-out is top class. Modern enough but still comfy. If this was a hotel it would be 4 stars or above. The owners are very thoughtful with the inclusions - great toiletries, ample supplies for breakfast, books, DVD's. Having quality food pre-prepared in the freezer was great after a tiring drive. My only slight negative was the prices of the mini-bar and snacks. It is what I would pay in a top hotel, not a little house in Buckland. But hey, if you don't want to pay then just go without.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stylish decor
Liked least: Prices for the mini-bar
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Thanks Jamie for taking the time to review The Storekeeper's. Glad you enjoyed your stay at our little house in Buckland. We have tried to create a little bit of an indulgent experience rather than your standard holiday house accommodation and I think we have thought of most things so you can just relax at the end of the day and not have to worry about a thing. We have now also created a similar experience in a converted stable at Twamley Farm just outside of Buckland for those who prefer a complete escape. Would love to have you visit the farm next time you make it to Tassie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing