We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely B & B”
Review of Spire Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spire Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hunston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A lovely little B & B with the very friendly & helpful Jan at the helm. The room was very spacious as was the ensuite. The breakfast was excellent with an amazing array on homemade marmalades & jams to choose from and gave a good opportunity to chat with fellow guest around the communal table. Very convenient for visiting Chichester & a good centre to explore the area. We would return if we visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked 3 rooms for a 2 night stay including the garden room annexe for my mother who has a disability. Jan was very helpful throughout. Rooms were comfortable with great beds. Lots of little extras including a large chocolate bar for each room! Breakfast was excellent - one of the best cooked breakfasts I have had anywhere. Will go back when next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night for work. The cottage was lovely and my room was amazing. Wrapped up in my complimentary robe and slippers after work and was brought up a pot of tea! Loved it! Breakfast was really good too and freshly made. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnabelBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay with Jan, who's a very welcoming and helpful hostess. Breakfasts were great and Hunston village is very friendly and only a pleasant walk from Chichester along the canal. We are looking forward to returning on future trips.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wally e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spire Cottage is an historical dream. Very quaint and tasteful decor. Because we travel with a dog, we were booked into the Garden Room, and I would rate it as one of the best of this type we have ever stayed in, certainly better than any hotel Garden Room in which we have previously stayed. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and the small fridge was really useful. The Garden Room even has its own private little garden! The breakfast, too, was superb, and, oh!, that home-made marmalade is delicious. Definitely recommend taking home a couple of jars. Jan made us very welcome, and my wife and I only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was our first time at Spire Cottage and sadly for one night only. On arrival we received an immediate warm welcome from Jan, complete with fresh tea and coffee, which we enjoyed in her garden. It had been an enjoyable but long and tiring day for us but Spire Cottage allowed us to relax and unwind in the beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Our spacious and well equipped room, with its views over fantastic countryside gave us a well deserved night's sleep, due in no small degree to the very comfortable bed complete with sumptuous pillows, often, in our experience, found lacking in some other establishments. Breakfast was absolutely terrific, complete with an impressive selection of home-made marmalade and jams. When we next find ourselves in need of accommodation in the Chichester area again and hopefully for longer than just one night, we'll have no hesitation in making a reservation at Spire Cottage and can thoroughly recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spire cottage is such a lovely place to stay especially when on a business trip. Jan made me feel welcome brought me a pot of tea and cake while I got settled in. I chose the Spotted Cow Pub to have my evening meal which is located across the road two minutes away. The food there was basic but plentiful.
The room I stayed in had a four poster and luxury ensuite with the deepest bath I've ever seen. There was also a double shower and heated towel rail. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous. I would recommend staying to all and will come back to stay as a holiday maker in the future. Thank you

Room Tip: Room 1 double aspect with good view of corn field. Great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debsgoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunston
1.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
944 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
660 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
4.8 mi away
The Old Store Guest House
3.0 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire Cottage

Address: Spire Cottage Church Lane, Hunston, Chichester PO20 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Hunston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hunston
Price Range: £118 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spire Cottage is for people who want to be near Chichester but have a peaceful location in a beautiful cottage surrounded by fields. Just 1.8 miles to walk to Chichester down the Chichester Ship Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Spire Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire Cottage Chichester/Hunston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing