We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Cosy”
Review of Spire Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spire Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hunston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for a weekend before Christmas because we were attending a wedding at Southend Barns just down the road. We had had a terrible journey from London through the Friday night traffic but were instantly soothed by Jan's warm welcome with tea and biscuits. We had booked into the four poster room hitch has a particularly luxurious bathroom with a huge shower, roll top bath, big towels and a huge selection of lovely toiletries. The tea tray was similarly generous and especially appreciated was the fridge with fresh milk and a naughty bar of Toblerone! The local pub was fully booked with parties as it was so near Christmas but Chichester is only ten minutes away in the car (although restaurants there were also buzzing and we wished we had made a reservation). We were awoken by the smell of fresh bread cooking and enjoyed a delicious breakfast which included good quality locally sourced products including some very exciting preserves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed in the garden room and felt like we were in our own private cottage. Janet is one of the best hosts we've ever had and made us feel very welcome right from the off with pot of tea and biscuits! Everything about the place is good, even the small stuff like the quality of the bath products and toilet roll. And as for the breakfasts, delicious and very generous.

All in all, if you're in the area, stay here! Hopefully we can return someday.

Greetings from Germany,

A&K

Room Tip: Garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bannon-and-on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I booked the fourposter room as a last minute getaway. The welcome was warm. The room was gorgeous with a luxurious double showre and a huge roll top bath. The bed was comfortable and the room well appointed. Breakfast was very tasty Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here twice in the space of two weeks and were so happy to return! We arrived late on a Sunday night but nothing was too much trouble for Jan. We were treated to a fresh pot of tea and a slice of carrot cake and left to make ourselves comfortable. We stayed in room one which was spacious even with its large four poster bed. There is tea and coffee making facilities and even a huge chocolate bar in the fridge. Breakfast was lovely every morning with home made bread and a great choice of cooked food as well as fruit, yoghurt, cereals and amazing pastries! Chichester is just a 40 minute walk along the canal with lots of pretty views. There are lots of great places to eat nearby that Jan will recommend. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Room One has the best roll top bath ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our second visit to Spire Cottage was as good as the first. Warm, spotlessly clean, friendly and offering a great breakfast. The bacon and sausages are exceptional.

We had room 3 and enjoyed a wonderful view of the sun rising across a misty field one morning from our beds. It's true that the bathroom is small but the shower isn't and the power is good.

Easy to recommend.

Room Tip: Room 3 can be had as a twin. Good rural views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife booked this for our 1st wedding anniversary. I was first struck by the beautiful location and the cottage itself. We had a warm welcome from Jan. A pot of tea on arrival was perfect. The room had a four poster bed in which proved to be one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. Loads of little things like fresh flowers, comfy gowns, and the best en suite ever, loved the massive roll top bath. Breakfast was so well cooked and an array of real homemade jams and marmalades, real orange juice. Cannot praise this little B&B enough, it would teach some of the big hotels a thing or two about how to look after guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seank9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A lovely little B & B with the very friendly & helpful Jan at the helm. The room was very spacious as was the ensuite. The breakfast was excellent with an amazing array on homemade marmalades & jams to choose from and gave a good opportunity to chat with fellow guest around the communal table. Very convenient for visiting Chichester & a good centre to explore the area. We would return if we visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunston
1.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
953 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
4.8 mi away
The Old Store Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire Cottage

Address: Spire Cottage Church Lane, Hunston, Chichester PO20 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Hunston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hunston
Price Range: £114 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spire Cottage is for people who want to be near Chichester but have a peaceful location in a beautiful cottage surrounded by fields. Just 1.8 miles to walk to Chichester down the Chichester Ship Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Spire Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire Cottage Chichester/Hunston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing