We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley Location”
Review of Spire Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spire Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hunston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very nice welcome with a very grateful offer of tea in the garden after a long journey. Clean room and bathroom but with a very loose and squeaky 4 poster metal bed. The room fridge was stocked with complimentary bottles of water and a bar of chocolate. The En-Suite is very large and luxurious, needs a new toilet handle though. The breakfast tasted lovely and home-made with local products, which made a very nice change to our recent experiences. Really beautiful rural location and hardly any traffic passing at night. Lots of tourist leaflet information by the front door if needed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manny7222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a great welcome at Spire Cottage and our overnight stay was perfect. We were in the four poster room which was extremely comfortable, immaculately clean and well fitted. The bathroom was inviting and the fluffy white towels, robes and slippers made it feel as if we were in a rather posh establishment! It was in fact homely and cosy. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room had a calm feel to it - a lovely start to the day.
We found a superb restaurant in North Street, Chichester called 'Amelie and Friends'.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Jan in August 2014. My parents stayed in the four poster room and we stayed in the garden annex with our little dog. Both rooms were lovely. The breakfast was delicious with lovely touches such as locally made jam (we brought home 3 jars!). Jan was a very helpful and kind host and made us feel very welcome. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Tips for other travellers: The White Horse in Chilgrove was great as was the Royal Oak in East Lavent. The Horse Guards Inn in Tillington is our favourite place in all of Sussex, and right next to Petworth which is great for a spot of antiques shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IsabelCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent 5 days at Harrys on holiday. Absolutely superb location for bike riding / walking and exploring the beautiful country side around Chichester Harbour. You can even walk in to Chichester in about 20 minutes along the canal, it's very beatiful Catherderal city !!

Lovely accommodation well stocked kitchen - You even have a wine fridge ! Jan is very welcoming and makes very good home made bread. Superb private outside patio space and garden with embeded lighting. The fact the lounge has bi-fold doors on to the patio is brilliant.

The views from the cottages are really tranquil (the odd shot gun sound from the bird scarer in the farmland does take you by surprise the first couple of time :-)

Definitley will be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you like self catering - this is definietly one to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at Spire Cottage. It is just as good as all the reviews say ! We had the annex room as we had a dog . The room and garden were lovely . Breakfast too was wonderful . Top quality and taste , home made jams and fab hospitality .
Will definitely return as it is close to Chicheter and all the coastal attractions .
Thank you both .
p.s the dog was reluctant to leave Jan ! Maybe she too is telling us something .

Room Tip: I am sure all are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roxie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Enjoyed a great 2 night stay at Spire Cottage in June. Jan was a welcoming host who from the minute we arrived to when we left made us feel extremely welcome. A great base to explore Chichester and the surrounding areas. Breakfast was very tasty, especially Jan's home made jams. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CLK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a very nice week at Spire Cottage,
breakfast was really delicious,
the room was comfortable with fresh flowers,
we felt welcome all the time,
Jan and her husband are very kind hosts.
Heike and André

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunston
1.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
970 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
3.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast
2 mi away
Musgrove House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire Cottage

Address: Spire Cottage Church Lane, Hunston, Chichester PO20 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Hunston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hunston
Price Range: £118 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spire Cottage is for people who want to be near Chichester but have a peaceful location in a beautiful cottage surrounded by fields. Just 1.8 miles to walk to Chichester down the Chichester Ship Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Spire Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire Cottage Chichester/Hunston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing