We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, if you like building sites”
Review of Casale Panayiotis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casale Panayiotis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalopanagiotis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming, if you like building sites”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Some parts of this complex are beautifully done - particularly the library, which was restored (apparently) at huge expense. Our room (no. 10, Superior class) was reasonably decorated and decked out with some charming traditional Cypriot laces and pottery. The little en suite bathroom had a great walk-in shower, but had mildew in the corners that gave the whole room a damp, mouldy smell. The bed was so short that my feet hug over the end (I'm 1m88cm tall; 6'1") and had a poor quality mattress. The real nightmare came when we attempted to eat in the restaurant. We'd been warned by friends that the food wasn't very good, and that turned out to be an understatement: stale bread, rancid tahini, a salad with a dressing that was sweeter than candy, poorly cooked spaghetti with tomato, feta and basil, and watermelon that was warm, floury and tasteless. There was a terrace with a stunning view over the valley, ruined by an enormous building site complete with crane and workmen with pneumatic drills and tile cutting machines, building a new spa and pool complex, apparently. Neither would you want to escape to the front side, where there were more workmen with more pneumatic drills, just down the hill from more workmen with yet more dramatic drills... In fact, when we saw the village from across the river, we realised that there were building crews dotted throughout the village, all hammering, drilling and doing their best to destroy the calm we were so looking forward to. When this resort is finished, and if they get some decent staff, it may be worth visiting. For now, I'd stay elsewhere and come on a day trip to experience the stunning scenery and world-class monastery and museum.

Before arriving, my partner was looking forward to the facial and pedicure she had booked in the little spa. On arrival, we were told that these would not be available until next week, because the woman in the spa this week didn't know how to do them. Given that this was one of the main attractions for my partner, we felt that rather conned. To make up for it, though, they offered us two free treatments, both of which were excellent.

The man who has invested so much in buying up the local properties, restoring them and building new facilities - and who is now the town's mayor - must be praised for his vision; but he should finish the job and train his staff properly before unleashing it on the general public, especially the kind likely to be attracted by the upmarket offer.

After our visit, the establishment sent an email asking us to post a review on Tripadvisor if we enjoyed our stay, or, if we didn't, to email them directly with the reasons; so, I emailed our complaints to the management and told them we would await their reply before posting. In response, they accused us of using this is a way of squeezing compensation out of them, which is absolutely not the case.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Akleanthous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    106
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
69
227
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I live in Cyprus so we thought when my brother and his wife came to us for a holiday the 4 of us could have an overnight stay in Casale Panayiotis. Lovely drive up to the hotel from Paphos area. Delightful area and village and is being renovated with love ...... And an awful lot of money!
Both our rooms were well equipped and tastefully furnished.
Went down to the wine bar in the evening ...... Lovely bar and a good selection of wines but the service was not good. We rang for service and a lovely young lady came ..... But she had no idea about the wines or what to do ( she had been there a week ) a gentleman came, took us to the wine cellar, we chose our wines and went upstairs to the bar. He opened the wine but had to go and get wine glasses from the restaurant ( they only had champagne and martini glasses in the bar .. No wine glasses in a wine bar????) He took so long we picked up the two bottles of wine and took them over to the restaurant to have with dinner! Service in the restaurant was none existent .... We poured our own wine, there were no water glasses. Our starters came in dribs and drabs ... One of us had finished before the last of us got theirs. The starters where very nice though. Mains were less than ordinary but they did come together. By the way we are still pouring our own wine! Sat there with finished plates for a good 20 mins before they were cleared. Not asked if we would like a dessert. Asked for coffee's but we got the bill instead! We repeated our request for coffee and eventually got it. Terrible service on a night when only 4 tables were occupied. The staff just seemed to be sat chatting. As I said the owners are throwing money at this place but they also need to spend money on training up the staff. It was much the same at a disappointing self service breakfast. Took ages to clear tables and with damn cats about it wasn't pleasant. Woken early ( 6.30) by builders drilling wasn't a good start to the day. Still drilling when we left at 11am. So overall a lovely place but great room for improvement. We'll give it another go in 2 years time when hopefully it will be completed and staff will have been trained.

Room Tip: We had rooms 10 and 11. They are knocking down a building at the back so the drilling started at 6.3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiliGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed there for one night. The location is excellent. We stayed in room nr 12 which was very clean and tastefully decorated.Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was excellent with a great variety. The only con was the noisy ventilator in the bathroom. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADVISOR2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, General Manager at Casale Panayiotis, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Casale Panayiotis for your stay . Your reviews on our facilities , services and hospitality that we provide are most welcomed and constructive to improve our services and operations provided and our main goal is to provide a stay with quality and unforgettable experience.

Kind Regards
Andreas Papayiannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polis cyprus
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Accommodation booked on basis of TA reviews and not disappointed. Suitably impressed before arrival by phone call whilst travelling there asking us if everything was OK and did we need directions !!! How often do you get that. Accom was everything as promised, traditional feeling but with a modern touch. Please note it is not a hotel nor does it claim to be a hotel. It is an assortment of tastefully furnished old houses scattered around an area of the village. As such there are odd courtyards , steep stone steps and an outdoor walk to and from meals. Its totally different and has all the character and charm that modern establishments attempt to capture.
Parking can be at some distance and dragging suitcases could be a problem so ask for assistance at reception everybody we meet seemed eager to assist
A very enjoyable 3 day holiday.
Look at the special offers on their web site and scroll up Not down and you may well find you can save at least 20% on the cost of your accm.
If you find the meals a bit expensive the first taverna( the old cinema) you pass going back into the village provides a good alternative.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikePolisCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, General Manager at Casale Panayiotis, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Casale Panayiotis , your reviews based on the facilities, services and most importantly our hospitality which treat of highest importance as a way for us to improve in anyways necessary and reach our goal which is to provide you a traditional village experience with Cyrpus hospitality at its best thus in order to provide a unforgettable experience in comfort.

Thanking in advance
Andreas Papayiannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. We got room 7 which was cosy and clean. However there was a strange noise (most probably coming from the bathroom from the room above) which kept waking us up during the night. Breakfast is good, with a big variety which you can take outside with a lovely atmosphere. Considering the money we paid for one night I think it was a bit overestimated. Wifi was strong, staff friendly and if you are lucky you'll find parking space very near.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, General Manager at Casale Panayiotis, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for chooosing to stay at Casale Panayiotis for your stay, we consider any review as to be constructive and a measure of performance in delivering our goal to our guest a unforgettable stay and experience traditonal village life with Cyprus hospitality in comfort .

Thanking in advance
Andreas Papayiannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely rooms in a nice typical mountain village. Very well designed. Nice food and service from all staff. Didn't have time to try the spa as I stayed only for one night, but I'm sure it is an nice as the rest. Veranda has a wonderful view over the village and mountain. Cleaning in the room was good, but on our veranda we found a half eaten (!) chocolate bar on the floor behind the sofa and a plastic bottle that had been used as ashtray. Small minus the beds was a bit too hard. Next time I'll turn it to a romantic ¨get away¨ and for sure more than just one day!! Thanks! (Room 24)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uPeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, General Manager at Casale Panayiotis, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We kindly thank you for psting your experience with us on Tripadvisor and we are grateful for the kind words and observations as we take seriously both positive and negative to ensure we get our product right to the market .

Thanking in advance and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Andreas Papayiannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is not a typical hotel. The rooms are like village homes with the door opening in the street of the village!! Spacious rooms with the traditional decoration each one with a different style. Nice breakfast and food. One of the best hotels in the Cyprus mountains

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, General Manager at Casale Panayiotis, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind comments which we consider of high importance to our success .

Thanking in advance wishing to see you again in the near future
Andreas Papayiannis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalopanagiotis
1.7 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
59 reviews
21.0 mi away
Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa
17.6 mi away
Paradisos Hills
Paradisos Hills
#1 of 1 in Lysos
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Platres
213 reviews
7.2 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
106 reviews
5.7 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Panayiotis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Panayiotis

Property: Casale Panayiotis
Address: Markou Drakou 80, Kalopanagiotis 2862, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Kalopanagiotis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalopanagiotis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casale Panayiotis 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Panayiotis lies at the heart of Kalopanayiotis village, situated in the beautiful Marathasa Valley, just 50 minutes drive from Nicosia or Limassol. Overlooking a rippling brook in evergreen shade it affords stunning views of the historic St. John Lambadistis Monastery with rugged mountain peaks as a backdrop.The accommodation is sited in eight independent traditional houses: Marathon, Troullinon, Eliakon, Byzantino, Laouri , Kastri, Ayia Marina and Panteon which boast twenty- eight individually, designed rooms and suites. The complex also includes a restaurant, coffee shop, snack bar, wine bar, spa, conference facility and cultural center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casale Panayiotis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Panayiotis Hotel Kalopanagiotis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing