We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find in the rainforest”

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A gem of a find in the rainforest”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've been to the Daintree a few times before, but somehow had missed the Discovery Centre. I wish I'd been there before - it was fascinating, beautifully laid out and provided some exciting up close encounters with nature. I'd highly recommend it. The audio guides were well done.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TanJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Daintree Discovery Centre and now that you know where we are we hope you will come again. Thanks for taking the time to post such great feedback on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    279
    155
    78
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A beautiful little piece of the rain forest with heaps of information about the amazing flora and fauna of the area. We saw a cassowary on our subsequent visit and it is well worth returning free of charge within 7 days of your first visit which makes the fairly pricey entrance fee ultimately good value. Also proceeds go towards supporting the rainforest. Friendly and interesting staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
What a thrill to see a cassowary during your visit to the Daintree Discovery Centre! Apparently only 1 in 400 visitors actually see a cassowary in its natural habitat when visiting the World Heritage Wet Tropics area of far north Queensland so you were very lucky. A fantastic experience that will never be forgotten! Thank you for sharing it with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good audio guide, felt artificial”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

You pay 20 something per adult and get an audio guide which is very informative and interesting. The ticket gets you free re entry later.

The centre is well maintained and pretty, with a high and low walkway, and a canopy tower and some fish/reptiles in cages. There's a pretty creek which runs through.

We preferred the walk routes such as the longer jindalba walk nearby where - although rougher, there was wildlife to be spotted. The discovery centre was very shiny and maintained in comparison and more tailored for the tamer walkers.

There was a gigantic golden orb weaving spider near the entrance though so be sure not to miss it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed the Golden Orb spider! When the sun hits their web it is an awe-inspiring experience! Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EDUCATIONAL”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I personally thought it was a great walk. Remember this price is also helping protect this amazing Rainforest.
The staff were fantastic and I learnt so much about all the life that live in this amazing place

Helpful?
Thank adriandeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback – especially your comments about the role the Daintree Discovery Centre plays in helping to protect the rainforest. Part of every fee goes to carbon offset and the revegetation of degraded land. We are also sponsoring an important 10 year rainforest research program being carried out by Dr Mike Liddell and his team at James Cook University. Thank you for adding your support to this worthwhile environmental program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A fabulous few hours to learn so much!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went here for a morning and learnt loads. It's very well done, friendly, relaxed, informal and informative, just what the kids need to listen and learn. The trees are amazing, the tower is fab and the personal tour phones were a great idea for each of us to go at our own pace. Loved it. Daintree tea to finish - Perfect!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morrell268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
The children's audio tour has been a huge success and is greatly appreciated by parents who often report that the needs of the younger members can be overlooked on guided tours. The good thing is that at the Discovery Centre there is something to suit every age, interest and learning level. And with audio tours available in 8 languages, a wide cross section of overseas visitors can enjoy a personalized rainforest experience as well. Hopefully your children will be able to share their complimentary 48 pg interpretive guide book with school friends (and teachers) when they get home. Thanks for your great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing