We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We started off our three weeks in Australia with a trek at the Discovery Centre. So informative, beautiful landscape and information abounds. The staff is so helpful and happy to answer questions and point out birds and bugs! Really well done!

Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thanks for your great comments. Our staff are very passionate about the Rainforest and are always ready to help point out lots of interesting things that are sometimes right in front of you! The creatures that live in the Daintree have survived so long because they are so well camouflaged. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and appreciate you spending some time with us in the beautiful Daintree Rainforest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 811 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very good educational centre, great for teens (and adults too) to learn about nature and rain forest. 10 minute talk by "expert" was very good. Reasonably priced

Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thanks for your great feedback and we are so happy you and your family had a great time. Our core service at the Daintree Discovery Centre is Rainforest education and so we are very pleased to have met your expectations as an educational facility. Safe travels and we can't wait to see you in the Daintree again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was OK. Kids were reasonably bored. Didn't see any fauna at all. Not even a bird! Well laid out but not really our cup of tea.

Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to visit the Centre and leave your review. Whilst the Centre experiences wild fauna at most stages of the day, it depends on if you happen to be in the right place at the right time to view them. This makes the experience of sighting wild animals in the Daintree, all the more special! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you in the Daintree again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great family outing, reasonable prices and the interactive information guide a great add-on. Can make it a full day or just a couple of hours. Smoothies are great!

Thank Quozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed the Centre these School Holidays. Thanks for visiting and leaving your feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the Daintree again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

When we first arrived I thought this was just for kids!
By the end of the day it was the kids wanting to go and the 4 adults wanting to stay.
It was that good, with so much to see, we went again the next day.
Once you purchase an entry, this gives you entry for 7 days. GREAT.
I spent over an hour just up on the platform watching the world go by. That's the insect, butterfly and animal world.
One thing for everyone.
If you're going over the daintree river on the ferry, go over first up in the morning otherwise you will have about a 1/2 to 3/4 hour wait to board.
But seriously go and you won't be disappointed.

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Yes we cater for big kids and regular kids! So glad you had such a great time at the Centre. We are very conscious about offering as much as possible for families. Family passes include an unlimited amount of kids (under 18), includes a 7 day pass, pram and stroller friendly walkways, café, gift shop, kids and adult audio guides, rainforest guide book with colourful pictures and information, and a safe way to view wild rainforest birds and animals above the canopy floor. We are also the first coffee and bathroom break after the ferry. Also, great tip for the Ferry. It does get busy in the School Holidays so if you can make morning plans to visit the Daintree Discovery Centre you can reduce some of the wait time and have more time exploring the beautiful Daintree Rainforest. Thanks for your great feedback and we hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cow Bay, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing