We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Threshold of Lush Rainforest Wilderness”

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
“Threshold of Lush Rainforest Wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great educational facility that allows you to move at your own pace with electronic narrated tour devices.

Experience time in the tree top canopy on the tower or visit the rain forest floor to see a wide variety of species within an area that is comfortable for most people to explore.

Loved the locally gown coffee!

Beautiful drive north of Cairns past Port Douglas

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tedfaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such great comments. It is a great to point out that the drive north from Cairns is one of the most spectacular scenic drives in Australia, making the entire experience of coming to the Daintree even more enjoyable. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed our 23m Canopy Tower and that the Audio guides allowed you to go at your own pace. Hopefully we will get to see you up from Airlie again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    271
    153
    77
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We started off our three weeks in Australia with a trek at the Discovery Centre. So informative, beautiful landscape and information abounds. The staff is so helpful and happy to answer questions and point out birds and bugs! Really well done!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for your great comments. Our staff are very passionate about the Rainforest and are always ready to help point out lots of interesting things that are sometimes right in front of you! The creatures that live in the Daintree have survived so long because they are so well camouflaged. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and appreciate you spending some time with us in the beautiful Daintree Rainforest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very good educational centre, great for teens (and adults too) to learn about nature and rain forest. 10 minute talk by "expert" was very good. Reasonably priced

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for your great feedback and we are so happy you and your family had a great time. Our core service at the Daintree Discovery Centre is Rainforest education and so we are very pleased to have met your expectations as an educational facility. Safe travels and we can't wait to see you in the Daintree again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was OK. Kids were reasonably bored. Didn't see any fauna at all. Not even a bird! Well laid out but not really our cup of tea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to visit the Centre and leave your review. Whilst the Centre experiences wild fauna at most stages of the day, it depends on if you happen to be in the right place at the right time to view them. This makes the experience of sighting wild animals in the Daintree, all the more special! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you in the Daintree again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interactive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great family outing, reasonable prices and the interactive information guide a great add-on. Can make it a full day or just a couple of hours. Smoothies are great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed the Centre these School Holidays. Thanks for visiting and leaving your feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the Daintree again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Daintree Region, Queensland
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing