We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jerry & Mary Hutter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daintree Crocodylus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jerry & Mary Hutter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay in the village was a fantastic experience. We loved the quiet & tranquil location of the rain Forrest. The staff were great with fantastic menus every night, & nothing was any trouble for them to organize. It was great to stay in such a secretive place amongst the trees & wildlife yet easy access to beaches & various other exhilarating activities. A credit to Sally & Steve plus all their staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    89
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
124
127
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Basic room that let us enjoy the rain forest in the raw. Just what my family wanted and expected. Thanks Steve and Sally for the experience friendly service and great meals. The night walk was informative and enlightening. The common area was relaxing and safe for primary aged children to feel free to wander about.

loved the camping atmosphere of crocodylus. So did my
family. But go understanding that it is remote.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catekean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastic place to stay in Daintree!

Orange rope walk - Only place where you can do a walk through the jungle actually on the jungle floor. This may sound weird but most tourist walks are on raised platforms which detracts from the experience.

Huts are great, really get the feel for sleeping in the jungle, but with the security of 4 "walls" and a roof

Facilities - FGood kitchen for self catering and a small cafe/bar.

Beautiful lounge area, under a huge canopy, log tables and benches.

Obviously lots of insect life and animal life to see! you wont have to go far as most of the jungle life just walks through the "hotel" anyway

Don't stay here if you like air conditioning or dislike cleaning you teeth next to massive insects

DO STAY here if you like a bit of adventure (but with important comforts: showers and toilets are good).......basically like a staying in a Victorian Explorer Novel, expect Alan Quatermain to walk around the corner at some point

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Crocodylus Village is nestled between the rainforest and the sea. The accomodation is basic, but everything else you'll experience during your stay is absolutely priceless. The beach and Jindalbi boardwalk are both within an hour's walk away, and Crocodylus Village's own on-site walking trail is right outside your door (look out for cassowaries). If you ask in advance you might just be able to get a lift up to Cape Tribulation for a small fee, or if you're feeling brave you can borrow a bicycle.

On top of everything else, the hosts may be some of the friendliest folks I've ever met. Steve will help you with a cheeky smile, and Sally's cooking is just amazing! I still haven't managed to shake the crippling mango chicken addiction I developed while staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watercurses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I can not praise crocodylus highly enough.
We booked in for 3 days over new year on their special where the two of us had a night walk, kayak and croc tour with our accommodation and a free breakfast every morning. The food was good value and tasty.
The owners Steve and Sally were extremely friendly and accommodating to all our requests, nothing was too much trouble.
The location was superb, you really felt you were inside the rainforest, and the common area was chilled out and relaxing.
I would recommend this place strongly to anyone wishing to visit the daintree!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I not the roughing it type, so when a friend told us to go to Crocodylus, I made my booking with trepidation. I even hedged by choice by booking 2 days in Cairns and 2 in Sydney to de-tox myself. That was my biggest regret ever. I should have done the full week there.

The rooms were super clean and the bathroom and toilet were so hygenic, I wished I had more newspapers to read. Steve and Sally run the place with little help and are so friendly and helpful. When I asked him what I should do if I saw a spider in my room, he told me not to tell the other guests, or they'd all want one too and they weren't easy to come by. It was hard to believe that if you stepped 2 feet off the path to your cottage, you would find yourself in real jungle, yet the scariest beats around were ground fowl and stick insects (even the giant ones are not scary). I did not opt for the $25 dormitory bed, but the family cottage, which sleeps 6. Beds were clean and comfy and they each had insect nets. After the first night, I chose not to even use my nets (starting to feel like a lumberjack already) and didn't get a single mozzie bite.

Steve mans the bar and reception, while Sally does all the work, cooking and washing. There is no caviar or foie gras, but the menu was tasty and filling, with some international variety. They gave us the night walk tour and recommended Kayak trips, Crocodile tours and a great barrier reef day trip that was the highlight of our holiday. Being a landlubber, I was most worried about my first kayak trip, but they arranged the 6-year old special for me and I managed.

The local community was so friendly and every tour and restaurant they recommended left nothing to be desired. Going back for sure next year for minimum 10 days this time

Dan S

Room Tip: Go for the family room, with the toilet and bathroom with hot and cold water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We visited as a family of 4 (kids 11 & 9). This was the best experience to really be in the middle of the rainforest. Bungalow was clean, roomy with comfy beds, insect nets, hot shower and good ceiling fan. The free walking trail was so much fun and a real adventure. Hosts Steve and Sally were friendly and very helpful. Steve was a great host behind his groovy bar where even the locals visit. Sally offered a good selection of great quality meals that were big servings, good price and tasted great. Kids were happy with the meals too. There is a big area where you sit for meals and a heap of games for entertainment if you just want to chill for the day with the rainforest noises. December was the start of the wet season so it was probably less busy than it is in peak season but the weather was actually perfect and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend December travel to the daintree.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.8 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
1.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
9.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Crocodylus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Crocodylus

Property: Daintree Crocodylus
Address: 161 Buchanan Creek Rd | Daintree Rainforest, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Daintree Crocodylus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your are looking for the real rainforest experience with no air conditioners or manicured lawns then Daintree Crocodylus is your answer. Whether you are travelling by yourself, with friends or the whole family you can experience the rainforest up close and personal less than a metre from your door! Nestled right under the rainforest canopy our wood and canvas huts are available as 4 bed dorm rooms, double rooms with or without ensuites, and our large Rainforest Bungalow that sleep up to eight. On-site we have eco info, rainforest walks, bar, restaurant, self catering kitchen, swimming pool, internet, and lots of other activities to keep you entertained and eco educated without breaking the bank. On top of that our friendly staff have lots of local knowledge and plenty of smiles so what are you waiting for; check in, chill out, and surrender yourself to the charms of Crocodylus, your ECO adventureland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Crocodylus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodylus Village Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Crocodylus Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing