We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daintree Crocodylus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Everything you would expect for the price you pay and more, great location, Steve and Sally are really helpful and welcoming. Highly recommend this place for a true local experience in the Daintree rainforest.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank TawnSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent a night here when visiting Daintree and Cape Trib and it was everything we expected it to be. Huts were great with strong hot showers every morning and evening. Insect nets present on all beds (definitely needed) and self catering kitchen well equipped. All guests are provided packs containing a set of plates, bowls, cutlery etc on arrival.

Steve and Sally are lovely and willing to help in any way they can. Gave us lots of advice on things to do and see in the area and the map they provide of local area is brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay in the village was a fantastic experience. We loved the quiet & tranquil location of the rain Forrest. The staff were great with fantastic menus every night, & nothing was any trouble for them to organize. It was great to stay in such a secretive place amongst the trees & wildlife yet easy access to beaches & various other exhilarating activities. A credit to Sally & Steve plus all their staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Basic room that let us enjoy the rain forest in the raw. Just what my family wanted and expected. Thanks Steve and Sally for the experience friendly service and great meals. The night walk was informative and enlightening. The common area was relaxing and safe for primary aged children to feel free to wander about.

loved the camping atmosphere of crocodylus. So did my
family. But go understanding that it is remote.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catekean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastic place to stay in Daintree!

Orange rope walk - Only place where you can do a walk through the jungle actually on the jungle floor. This may sound weird but most tourist walks are on raised platforms which detracts from the experience.

Huts are great, really get the feel for sleeping in the jungle, but with the security of 4 "walls" and a roof

Facilities - FGood kitchen for self catering and a small cafe/bar.

Beautiful lounge area, under a huge canopy, log tables and benches.

Obviously lots of insect life and animal life to see! you wont have to go far as most of the jungle life just walks through the "hotel" anyway

Don't stay here if you like air conditioning or dislike cleaning you teeth next to massive insects

DO STAY here if you like a bit of adventure (but with important comforts: showers and toilets are good).......basically like a staying in a Victorian Explorer Novel, expect Alan Quatermain to walk around the corner at some point

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Crocodylus Village is nestled between the rainforest and the sea. The accomodation is basic, but everything else you'll experience during your stay is absolutely priceless. The beach and Jindalbi boardwalk are both within an hour's walk away, and Crocodylus Village's own on-site walking trail is right outside your door (look out for cassowaries). If you ask in advance you might just be able to get a lift up to Cape Tribulation for a small fee, or if you're feeling brave you can borrow a bicycle.

On top of everything else, the hosts may be some of the friendliest folks I've ever met. Steve will help you with a cheeky smile, and Sally's cooking is just amazing! I still haven't managed to shake the crippling mango chicken addiction I developed while staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank watercurses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I can not praise crocodylus highly enough.
We booked in for 3 days over new year on their special where the two of us had a night walk, kayak and croc tour with our accommodation and a free breakfast every morning. The food was good value and tasty.
The owners Steve and Sally were extremely friendly and accommodating to all our requests, nothing was too much trouble.
The location was superb, you really felt you were inside the rainforest, and the common area was chilled out and relaxing.
I would recommend this place strongly to anyone wishing to visit the daintree!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.8 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
11.1 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#3 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
558 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Crocodylus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Crocodylus

Address: 161 Buchanan Creek Rd | Daintree Rainforest, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range: £33 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Daintree Crocodylus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your are looking for the real rainforest experience with no air conditioners or manicured lawns then Daintree Crocodylus is your answer. Whether you are travelling by yourself, with friends or the whole family you can experience the rainforest up close and personal less than a metre from your door! Nestled right under the rainforest canopy our wood and canvas huts are available as 4 bed dorm rooms, double rooms with or without ensuites, and our large Rainforest Bungalow that sleep up to eight. On-site we have eco info, rainforest walks, bar, restaurant, self catering kitchen, swimming pool, internet, and lots of other activities to keep you entertained and eco educated without breaking the bank. On top of that our friendly staff have lots of local knowledge and plenty of smiles so what are you waiting for; check in, chill out, and surrender yourself to the charms of Crocodylus, your ECO adventureland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Daintree Crocodylus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodylus Village Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Crocodylus Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing