We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We came across this by accident but absolutely loved the location, the size of the family room we had with it's own balcony, lovely views from the lounging/eating area and green surrounds. The real seller is the warmth of Brad and Cathy who manage it. Good value and highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank silvan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem. The garden as you drive up to the house - I've never seen anything like it! So green and colorful and it's obvious that they spend a lot of time maintaining it.

We booked a double room - it was decorated beautifully, and was absolutely spotless. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed, with a nice hot shower.

They try and use solar power wherever possible and their water supply comes from a rainwater tank. Good for the eco-conscious traveller.

The communal areas are nice - comfy seats, hammocks, dining table and chairs, magazines, a stereo and choice of CDs, a piano - all looking out over the garden and hills in the distance. Nice place to spend some time if you're feeling lazy.

We had a hire car and everything was a short drive away. You have to think ahead about what you want to do for dinner - some places only serve at specific times (we stopped at the Cow Bay Hotel one evening but they were already serving dessert so we were too late!) but I'm sure Brad and Kathy can recommend places to you. One night we ate at the nearby backpacker place called Crocodylus, they have a basic menu of filling meals for $15.

The breakfast at Epiphyte was wonderful. We had a choice of cereals and milk, a platter of fresh fruit (sometimes you'll get something picked directly from their garden - we were lucky that we got to try the soursop) and then some hot toast with a choice of spreads. They also serve fresh juice, and a choice of really nice quality tea or coffee - the Daintree loose leaf tea was delicious!

I'm a bit of an insect-phobe, but there weren't too many mosquitos at the B&B (we didn't need to use nets at all), but they can be full-on at the beach so if you'll be sun-bathing, make sure to pack your repellent before you leave.

Brad and Kathy were great hosts. They each have a lovely, peaceful demeanour and were happy to chat to us, but also didn't encroach on our space at all. We didn't have to book any tours through them as we were happy to drive around ourselves, but I could tell how much knowledge they have about the local area.

We met another couple over breakfast one morning and they cooked dinner for us at the cabin retreat next door - the building was so beautiful, and we spent several hours outside chatting. Such a nice environment, and if we come back with a family some time, we would definitely book the cabin.

Seeing the cassowaries in the garden on the last day absolutely made our trip.

If you like the peace and quiet, and being surrounded by beautiful scenery and nature, you should stay here. Thank you Brad and Kathy!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Stu_Frannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our 3 weeks in Oz. We were not sure what to expect with the forest and were apprehensive about spiders, snakes and total dark! Brad and Cathy were very welcoming and more than helpful with all our questions. The cabin was the perfect place for our family of 4 and we absolutely loved our stay. We loved being in the forest with the sounds of birds, frogs and the weather at very close call. We all slept well in between the different sounds! But that's part of the adventure! We had a tree frog visit us one night and stay for lots of photos and we saw the Cassowary on our last full day - an absolute pleasure!! The cabin was gorgeous to stay in, the hosts fantastic, the breakfast wonderful. We loved everything about it and wouldn't have missed our stay for the world. It's a great place to feel like you're in the forest, but safe and very, very privileged!!

Room Tip: The cabin is wonderful but I expect any room would be fab because they all have the same basics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A beautiful welcoming Queensland home with stunning gardens and views. Brad and Kathy are very well informed about local flora and fauna. Fantastic tropical breakfasts. Host are able to book local trips and give sdvice. We stayed for 6 nights - would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Golden Orchid Cabin was the perfect place for my husband and I to spend the first week of our honeymoon! Set apart from the main building with the rest of the rooms it was set in among the trees and totally blocked from the view of the main house. It's a single room cabin with a well lit outdoor kitchen and patio and a big bathroom. Surprisingly not very many insects, we didn't even need to use many mozzie coils over our stay.

We planned to stay for a whole week, but unfortunately we were delayed due to Cyclone Ita. We were surprised to find the B&B looking clean and tidy, especially only three days after being hit by a cat 5 cyclone!

The managers were really helpful in calling and booking tours and other activities for us because we had no phone reception, really friendly and easy to talk to. 10/10 from us!

Room Tip: The Golden Orchid was more expensive than the other rooms, but definitely worth it for couples looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieApricot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter. Great location. Went up to Cape Tribulation one day and back to relax at accommodation for arvo nap before heading out again for ice-cream nearby in Cow Bay. Close by to Discovery centre and Jindalba boardwalk - a must do - some really pristine rainforest. Daintree icecream factory has 4 scoops of icecream for the fruit in season - yummy. On our visit had soursop, wattleseed, pineapple and raspberry. Enough for 2 to share or have one each.

Room Tip: Room 3 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here in January and loved every bit of our 4 days. We were lucky enough to arrive on the very first day the monsoon actually began. We would spend our mornings going on adventures around the Daintree and then come back in the arvo to read a book on the day beds or on our personal deck.

We were the only guests there so it felt like we had a whole house to ourselves. The view is beautiful even though the mountains were covered by rain clouds. We love the rain so it was perfect! really relaxing.

The people running it were really lovely and easy to chat with but gave us plenty of privacy and space. Their breakfast was continental with a massive plate of tropical fruits. Many from their own trees. It was so yummy!!!

Our room was clean and comfortable. I can't fault the place. It was the best last-,minute decision we ever made going to the Daintree. We were even lucky enough to see 7 cassowaries! (I wouldn't shut up about it!) Some girls that came on our last day even saw a female cassowary in the B&B yard eating from their fruit trees! Best place ever!!

Room Tip: The cabin looks like a good spot as it is away from the house and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat_giggles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cow Bay Homestay
Cow Bay Homestay
#2 of 3 in Cow Bay
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
1.2 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Silkwood Rd | Daintree Coast - Cape Tribulation, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Daintree rainforest accommodation near Cape Tribulation just 5 mins from lovely Cow Bay beach and overlooking the World Heritage Daintree national park. The main accommodation house is Queenslander style and has four en-suite rooms (single, standard double and large double/family size) each with private balconies, a large open-plan living area and extensive verandahs...the perfect place to relax and have a 'real' holiday!. For couples or small groups looking for even more privacy or independent accommodation, the Golden Orchid Retreat is a gorgeous self-contained cabin separate from the main accommodation house with views across the orchard to Noah's Range. Operating on solar power and rainwater as much as possible, the Epiphyte B&B has landscaped gardens to explore, views to take in and rainforest at the back door. Beautiful Cow Bay, where the rainforest meets the sea and reef, is a short drive away. A home away from home, The Epiphyte is airy, casual, friendly and breakfast featuring seasonal fruit is included in the room tariff. Help yourself to tea, coffee or a cool drink anytime. Play games, read a book, take in the stunning mountain views, swim, snorkel, visit the free board walks and/or join one of the many tours available in the Cape Tribulation, Daintree Coast area e.g snorkeling, fishing, canoeing, 4WD trips to Wujal Wujal, jungle surfing, night and day walks in ancient rainforest. It's a beautiful place to stay any time of year!! We'd love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Epiphyte Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing