We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed both stays here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was my 2nd stay in this accommodation, both times just as enjoyable, the manager Judy couldn't do enough to help us and also because she wasn't able to be there when we arrived, we received a bottle of wine and free breakfasts for the 3 nights we stayed.I call that excellent service. I love the Daintree and there is always something new to see, Judy was more than helpful with where to go to eat as the restaurant wasn't open at night but with so many great places to check out it worked out well for us. The Rainforest Retreat Motel is quite central to everything, and even though we had some rain there was still plenty to see and do. I thouroughly recommend this accommodation and it is well priced as well, if you're on a budget. Thanks Judy for a wonderful time, Lorna and Claire

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a great stay at the Retreat. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. We loved the location and the fact that the Retreat merges into the rainforest rather than being set apart. In hindsight, we wish we'd booked for longer and will certainly be back next time. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nandlwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our family of three stayed at Daintree Forest Resort Motel, for three nights, and really enjoyed our time there, with the tropical vegetation and bird calls [didn't see the birds]. It was a new experience to be staying in the actual Rainforest, and experiencing the difference in the climate to Cairns or Port Douglas, where we had stayed a few times before. Judy was gave most freely of her time with any questions that we had. As all the rooms were open to allow air circulation, we were able to note how nice they all looked. The room we had was for a family, and had been renovated, although it must be a constant battle for the owners to maintain the motel with the damp climate. Staying in the area, allowed us to explore the Rainforest in more depth, which was what we wanted to do. Judy recommended the trip to Bloomfield Falls and it was most enjoyable, with a very knowledgeable
guide, Mick Darcy.
Well worth the stay, and would stay there again without any hesitation.!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

It may be the beginnng of the season for tourists in the Daintree, but this place needsto spruce itself up - tired and dusty rooms, uncomfortable old beds, TV didnot work properly, dining room was closed, and this place is not even off the bitumen! On the basis of our two night stay - not recommended.

Room Tip: N/A - they are all noisy if it is Friday or Saturday night at the Cow Bay Hotel nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WombatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy C, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

I am so sorry you were so disappointed. You stayed in our Cicada Room which has only recently been fully renovated (like all of our rooms), so I cant see why you would say they are tired and I know that the room was not dusty!! The noise coming from the hotel was only on the Friday night and I would had complained myself except that the music stopped at 9:30pm. Unfortunately, because it is so quite up here the music travels. This does not happen very often at all and the last occasion that there was music playing at the hotel was about 2 years ago. We have to be a little more tolerant as the music stopped at 9:30pm so I could not feel justified in complaining to them. I too love to hear the sounds of the rainforest but I did not feel it was an unreasonable time. Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Regarding the TV, I did explain to you when I checked you in that we did not receive signals for free to air TV (being in such a remote area) but we do provide Foxtel (26 channels) for our guests and that worked fine as I always turn on the TV and show our guests how to work the remote when I check them into the room,so I am sorry if you had a problem working the remote. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Beautiful location, surrounded by lush green gardens and bordering on rainforest. My husband & I spent 4 days here in a fan palm room & loved the quaint decor, with a Balinese feel to it. Our host Judy was very friendly and helpful with our itinery and where to eat and drink.We wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Judy for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

this is really in the rainforest: we had a green tree-frog outside the door on our first morning! It's not polished or pretentious, but it is comfortable, clean & it is surrounded by the most amazing vegetation. About as far from an anonymous chain hotel as you can get: superb!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terrym153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed in April with my husband and 2 friends, we both had a Fan Palm room each which were immacuately clean, comfortable and contained everything we needed to self cater. We stayed 3 nights and bbq each night, bandicoots came wandering through the area whilst we ate they were so cute. One night Judy called us to see a large python on the path which was rather exciting. We also saw micro bats, stripy possum, musky rat kangaroos and an achidna. The wildlife around the gardens was incredible with all sorts of frogs. We made friends with another couple who had some wine with us in the bbq area and they also were very taken with this unique place.Judy was a fabulous host, very friendly and generous she gave us a free bottle of wine one night and the other couple a big box of chocolates for their wedding anniversary. We hated leaving this delightful beautiful place and we will certainly return again one day. Slow down Judy you work too hard and thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: We found it worth while paying the extra for a self catering room, you can save heaps by cooking som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
5.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
38 reviews
17.3 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
2.0 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
10.1 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#8 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Rainforest Retreat

Address: 336 Cape Tribulation Road, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Price Range: £78 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Rainforest Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daintree Rainforest Retreat is a small family owned motel. It sits nestled in the forest surrounded by towering trees and lush gardens. While we do not have a restaurant we do offer a covered BBQ area with its own sitting area and a fully equipped and comfortable communal kitchen together with 2 further sitting/dining areas. The Cow Bay Hotel is a 2 minute walk and while it is very close, it can be neither seen nor heard from the motel. Our rooms are cooled by ceiling fans and guests can further escape the tropical heat with a dip in our palm fringed swimming pool. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing