We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing getaway in the rainforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cow Bay Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cow Bay Homestay
Ranked #2 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
Cairns, aus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing getaway in the rainforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cow Bay Homestay for 2 nights. The drive from Cairns was absolutely beautiful, especially after crossing the Daintree Ferry, and we were surprised at how short of a drive it felt! Marion was a wonderful hostess and made us feel comfortable and relaxed. The B & B was clean and cozy and Marion's personal touches made us feel special. With only 2 rooms, this is the perfect place to stay if you want a relaxing getaway from the city or even come up with family and have the area to yourself. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina25_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
You summed it up perfect. I hope you will be able to bring the family visitors later in the year.
Thank you very much.Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pambula
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

cow bay homestay was a lovely place to stay, great location, close to beach and wonderful rainforest gardens. House is wonderful and gives u a real feeling of relaxation and living in the rainforest. Marion was a wonderful and hospitable hostess and we would be more than happy to stay there again. Couldn't have been better

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your review of our B&B. Good for us to know that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write about it. Best regards, Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 with our two children (8 and 10). We wanted to experience the rainforest away from the tourist trail, but in some comfort. This ticked all those boxes and more. It is a beautiful house in a stunning area and Marion was so kind, helpful and welcoming. She made us feel that she had all the time in the world for us, helping in countless ways from advice on how to make the most of the day to mailing an item of clothing we had left. All the other reviews have described it all already.
If there's a downside it is that you have to remember you are in a rainforest and that you have to make allowances for the wildlife - for example you can't always swim in the sea and if you go down to the creeks to swim (which are great) make sure you have plenty of insect repellent on.
We found Cow Bay Homestay a great way to explore the area and meet lots of the people who live there. For our daughters one of the highlights was running naked in the garden in a tropical downpour with Marion hooting with laughter - you can't do that at a hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoddyK92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Fantastic review from a great family. You really had the full wet season experience and I thank you for your great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

In July 2012 we, young couple (26 and 28), stayed at the Cow Bay Homestay for 2 nights. We were welcomed by Marion, she runs the place and knows a lot about Daintree. We were given a map, tea and cookies. The homestay is a very big 'tropical' wooden house with nice rooms and ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast is great, people are nice, and you really have the feeling you live in Daintree yourself when staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariekehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The place is something extraordinary. We found the house surrounded by a rainforrest beautiful and agreeable to stay. The landlady is a communicative and nice madam. We recommend this accommodation to everybody who is looking for a very good standard. Jana R.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
As our first guests from the Czech Republic and here in Cow Bay to view the solar eclipse, I very much value your review. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

What's not to love about Cow Bay Homestay?

I arrived here in the failing light one evening but found my way easily with Marion's excellent instructions that she had emailed prior to my arrival. The Homestay is located in a beautiful setting on a large block of land that you can walk around, and a short drive (or walk if you like) to the beach, which you will have almost entirely to yourself.

The room was delightful - spotlessly clean, simply but beautifully decorated, and well aerated with louvre windows and a ceiling fan. The building is very cleverly set up actually - there is a huge, gorgeously decorated central area, with two separate bedrooms (with their own bathrooms) at either end. I can imagine this central space would be wonderful to hang out in if you had the time (or if FNQ was experiencing one of its torrential downpours!) but unfortunately I didn't have the time to just while away a few hours there during my short stay. This central space is also where you will be served a delicious tropical breakfast with Marion's moreish fruit salad and eggs done the way you wish. Marion was also kind enough to talk me through all the local attractions, some local history and make a booking for me for a tasting session at the local tropical fruit farm.

One hot tip is to take their advice, pack a torch, and keep it handy. You will need this to find your way around the grounds at night - it is pitch black in the evening as they, and many other places you'll visit, are not on mains power and need to conserve every bit of power they can. Take your torch to dinner too - everywhere else is pitch black also - I needed mine in the car park elsewhere and was grateful to have it handy.

My only disappointment was only having two nights and one day to spend in this glorious location. You could easily stay longer and not be bored - there is so much to see and do in the area, and if all you want to do is just 'be', this is the place where you'll want to chill out and wind down.

Thank you Marion and Brian for a faultless stay. Your hospitality was warm and sincere, and really made my stay. Thank you also for the amazing fresh coconuts you gave me as 'take away' - it was fantastic to have the juice the following morning at breakfast and reflect on my profoundly relaxing stay with you. All the very best until we meet again (I've already promised my fiance a trip to your lovely Homestay.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alligorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
You are a great reviewer!!! Sharing all the little tips is priceless for future guests and I love your compliments about our B&B. Thank you very much for your visit here and hopefully you can stay loner next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is idyllic accommodation in the middle of the rain forest. When we arrived we were greeted by Marion with a very welcome cup of Daintree tea and an overview of Daintree. Each morning we woke to a plentiful breakfast including homemade bread that my daughter still talks of, which set us up for the day to explore this beautiful area. Marion is a wonderful host; great sense of humour and 'font' of all local knowledge. She helped us book days out including a memorable 4x4 trek. The accommodation is spacious, comfortable and beautifully kept. I loved the tropical flowers that were in each of the bathrooms, the comfy beds and the geckos chirping at night. Fabulous! An experience of a lifetime! We definitely want to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for this review; it was a pleasure to have you visit Cow Bay Homestay B&B and your family really made the most of you time in the Daintree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
7.9 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
1.3 mi away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Bay Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Bay Homestay

Property: Cow Bay Homestay
Address: 160 Wattle CL, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cow Bay Homestay B&B is located in the world famous Daintree Rainforest and 5 minutes from Cow Bay beach and iconic Great Barrier Reef. 2 Hours drive north of Cairns, we are centrally located for all locally guided tours: half day reef snorkel , 4WD, walks, kayak, horse riding,jungle surfing, fruit tasting and numerous outdoor activities. Amazing timber pole house, large deck, polished timber floors, bifold-louvred doors opening into the garden, bed rooms with insect screens, fans, air conditioner and ensuites,quality linen and bedding, lounge chairs and daybeds with the best view, . Great for bird watching, lots of butterflies. Spot the cassowary in the garden, meet the bandicoot in the restaurants at night. Or...Just sit back and relax, read, daydream. Take a walk into the rainforest on our property spot the jungle perch in the fresh water creek. Here you can switch off, even digitally. The area north of the Daintree River has no grid power and we run on solar panels, batteries and back up generator. All your tour bookings can be arranged. Marion speaks German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cow Bay Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Bay Homestay Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing