We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainforest Wonder”
Review of Cow Bay Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cow Bay Homestay
Ranked #2 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainforest Wonder”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A perfect stay to enjoy the oldest rainforest of North Queensland, this spacious BnB lets you relax and enjoy the Daintree at your pace.
Marion warm and friendly welcome to her excellent breakfasts,made our stay with friends more memorable.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with those little exta touches you dont except.
Marion knowledge of the local area was truly useful making our stay even better.
For a place run on solar power ,Marion has it mastered.
We will be back. Kim and Marilyn

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jungara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The three of us stayed here for three nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed being in this environment. We had a nice walk thru the woods to the river and looked for tidal pools, with our 13 year old daughter. The water is very shallow and no crocs. We enjoyed trying the local fruits, granola, yogurts and eggs, toast and bacon if you desired. Marion organized many of our activities which was so helpful, since we could not get cell coverage anywhere in this region. Marion also let us use some nice beach towels to go kayaking. We used the ceiling fans which was plenty for us, although they do have a/c for the warmer months. We were also allowed some space in the fridge in the kitchen to put some of our groceries which was so convenient. This whole area up to Cape Trib has no street lights, so I would suggest finding places in the daylight. This is the rain forest so enjoy unplugging for awhile. Thank you so much for showing us all of the wildlife in your slice of heaven.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review and impressions. We all love good reviews, feeling that we have done a good job, but they are also very important for any new visitor. With great appreciation, Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We decided to stay at Cow Bay Homestay because the website photographs evoked a quintessential cool fresh rainforest retreat where we could sit inside and still feel very much part of the outdoors. We were not dissapointed. What the website cannot show is the care, effort, kindness and attention to detail which made our stay so memorable.

Seeing a cassowary in the garden was especially wonderful. I was not keen on meeting him while out walking but to see him wandering about the garden with his head held high now that was very special indeed.

Lying in bed looking out and seeing many of the magnificent ulysses butterflies flitting from flower to tree and small yellows doing the same and even the nuisance of a brush turkey meant you did not have to travel far to see much!

Marion organised our trip to Great Barrier to snorkel and that will rank as a highlight with us forever. Swimming with not 1 but 2 turtles was a wonderfully exciting experience. Marion's suggestions fitted with us perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble and we thank her and Brian for their hospitality and care.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandNAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your great and detailed comments and sharing it. Yes, the cassowary and butterflies are big this year and always a delight. I am pleased you enjoyed your time here with us and on the Daintree Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmshorn, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Thanks again for the great experience of living in the rainforest, far way from the restlessness of the "normal world", but simultaneously with a multitude of comfort and hospitality.
It was a great pleasure for us to meet the hosts, especially Marion was always well prepared with lovely hints and tips to make the stay in the Daintree Nationalpark more exciting and unforgettable.
We gladly and often remember our stay there. If you ever have the intention to take the ferry across the river to the rainforest, we fully recommend this lodge.

Barbara & Dr. Frank-Martin Bartelsen

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A bit remote location but that is one of the charming aspects of this lodge. The most charming aspect is Marion of course. With her inimitable German/Australian English accent she really entertained us in a very pleasant way. The house is simply fabulous, giving an "Out of Africa" feeling in the Australian rainforest (but more comfortable) Very good breakfast, the Durian was less appreciated but almost 1 billion Asian people will not agree with us Dutchies. We stayed at Marion's place at the end of our three week trip in Australia and it was certainly one of the highlights. Would love to come back if only the distance was slightly less than 20000 km. Fortunately our daughter lives in Australia right now so we have a good reason to visit Australia (and Cow Bay Homestay) again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you. I do hope you will be returning again; looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you want to get away from it all in the peace and tranquility of a tropical rainforest, then this is the place for you. We immediately relaxed and felt totally at ease, but at the same time were not so far from magical features of the area such as the Daintree Discovery Centre, the three wonderful and virtually deserted Cow Bay beaches and some very good places to eat (spot on recommendations from Marion).

Marion is a delight - as all reviewers seem to agree - friendly, a mine of local and useful information, forever helpful and a top-notch preparer of sumptuous breakfasts. Overall, a great host with a lovely sense of humour. And the beautiful rooms (always kept clean and in tip-top condition) sit in a garden oasis in the midst of the rainforest. The only thing I could pick up on was a lack of hanging space and drawer storage in the room but, hey, if I visit again I know that I will not need so many clothes. And maybe I could use the wardrobe outside the room door?

We had a terrific stay and would simply love to revisit - and may even do that - it is only 11,000 miles away!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Great feed back for us and tips for new visitors, thank you. Hoping to see you again here in Cow Bay,....anyway....what are 11 000 miles.....just time and distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A wonderful place in a wonderful environment. A beautiful 'open' house in the
rainforest. Really magnificent !! Away from stress en noise, no phone or internet, what a relief :)
Marion is very kind and hospitable. We had a great time at Cow Bay Homestay.
Gea & Jur
Holland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JurRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineCowBay, Owner at Cow Bay Homestay, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
So good to read your review. Thank you very much. Maybe you will visit our part of the world again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
7.9 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
1.3 mi away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Bay Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Bay Homestay

Property: Cow Bay Homestay
Address: 160 Wattle CL, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cow Bay Homestay B&B is located in the world famous Daintree Rainforest and 5 minutes from Cow Bay beach and iconic Great Barrier Reef. 2 Hours drive north of Cairns, we are centrally located for all locally guided tours: half day reef snorkel , 4WD, walks, kayak, horse riding,jungle surfing, fruit tasting and numerous outdoor activities. Amazing timber pole house, large deck, polished timber floors, bifold-louvred doors opening into the garden, bed rooms with insect screens, fans, air conditioner and ensuites,quality linen and bedding, lounge chairs and daybeds with the best view, . Great for bird watching, lots of butterflies. Spot the cassowary in the garden, meet the bandicoot in the restaurants at night. Or...Just sit back and relax, read, daydream. Take a walk into the rainforest on our property spot the jungle perch in the fresh water creek. Here you can switch off, even digitally. The area north of the Daintree River has no grid power and we run on solar panels, batteries and back up generator. All your tour bookings can be arranged. Marion speaks German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cow Bay Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Bay Homestay Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing