We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't drive past,drive in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoke Ash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Myself and my partner wanted somewhere to spend the afternoon and evening just relaxing at the bar and a meal in the evening. We found the white horse through tripadvisor and decided to book a room for the night. Glad we did, after ten minutes at the bar we felt well at home. The staff are friendly and helpful,food is very tasty,and the room we had was great. I like the little exrtras like the quality biscuits and chocolate alongside the tea/coffee tray. Really comfy bed, a power shower that could knock you over,and plenty of room. If im being picky I would say that there was a razor left in the bathroom from the previous residents and the radiator could have done with a good dusting,apart from this its got to be one of the best accessable/disabled bathrooms we have seen,well thought out. Breakfast was top notch,really enjoyed it, and all this at a great price. Would definitely recommend the white horse, and will be going back,thanks to all and especially josh, good man, real asset to the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your visit, and we will look into what happened regarding the cleaning aspects. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at the White Horse Inn over the long Easter weekend and had a family room. Rooms very spacious and well equipped with all necessities. The bathroom even had underfloor heating.
Breakfast was really nice and set us up for the day. The staff are very pleasant and accomadating. We had two meals at the resteraunt and these were tasty and good portions at a reasonable price. Great base for exploring the surrounding towns and villages.
Next time we're in town we will definitely be staying here again. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank CpnOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

That’s great we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your break. Look forward to welcoming you back to the White Horse inn next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Having been recomended by friends to visit, we duly drove the 80 mile roundtrip and so very glad we did.
Greeting on arrival, attentieve staff, pleasant dining room, expert service and the food is a WOW.
My vegie 'Nut Roast' was the very best ever, asking for the side veg to be served seperate was taken on board, plus the other guest were also bowled over with lunch, the roast beef was as good as enjoyed for a very long time.
It appears all food seems to be homemade and it tells.
Deserts were sublime.
Already booked for a return visit.
Thank you EVERYONE.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186342Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Wow! Thank you for making the trip. I am glad that you enjoyed our homemade dishes. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The A140 is not a favourite and coming back early morning from dropping a car off saw the White Horse at Stoke Ash offering breakfast..

Very good and freshly cooked, waitress very helpful, highly recommend if you want proper food and not processed burgers from the mobile vans in every layby....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for stopping in. We do more and more breakfasts they seem to be popular. It’s great that you have shared this with other potential A140 users. Hope to see you on your next trip passed the White Horse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

stayed here for work as I do a few times a year and the title says it all, the rooms are spacious and clean and the food was excellent as always, but they were quite busy and they were a bit slower than normal serving the food but it was worth the wait.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for writing. It’s great to know that you like what we do, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just returned from a break visiting family and spent one night here with our 21 week old twins. Wish we could have stayed longer as nothing was too much trouble.
Also stayed 2 nights here last year and will be back again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank mel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for making time to review us. It was great to see you and the little ones we are glad all was to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went on 2nd March and it was an excelelnt Sunday lunch.
It was very busy but, the service and layout is excellent (you are not on top of the next tables) and, they have a full menu as well as a Sunday roast.
I can't fault this place and will definately be back, excellent food, service and great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

It sounds as though this was your first visit, thank you for giving us a try and I’s great that you took time to pass on such a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Ash
3.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in Thornham Magna
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
183 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 140 Norwich Road (Main A, Stoke Ash IP23 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stoke Ash
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Ash
Price Range: £69 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annie, Shane and the team offer a warm welcome at The White Horse Inn. Ideally situated on the A140 close to the village of Eye in Suffolk and midway between Ipswich and Norwich, this delightful Coaching Inn dates back to the 17th Century and continues to offer the very best in hospitality to the weary traveller.In the grounds are spacious, comfortable motel bedrooms offering en suite facilities, FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, flat screen freeview television, direct-dial telephone and hospitality tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Stoke Ash
The White Horse Inn Stoke Ash, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing