We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What i expected”
Review of African Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Queen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

ON booking this i didnt know what i was in for but turned out a lot better than i thought .Please note that the age range is quite high as it is on saga lists.On arrival we were sort of welcomed as organisation was bit off and was actually rang on the front of ship to find out when i was arriving. The staff are very friendly except Bonny who seems not to want to meet the guests very much and stays in the kitchen .Menu seemed to be fixed , and if you are vegetarian specify before you book otherwise no choice .All the tables are put together in long line so dont expect a romantic evening alone .Andy is larger than life and doesnt seem to like anything that throws his routine, if anybody easily offended watch out as PC he was not .,Bobby and Cherry who do most of the work are a delight .Breakfast was same both mornings but cooked side strangely had no sausages .Cabin was very small but functional dont bring much luggage .Cruises up and down river were very nice and relaxing with very welcome tea and coffee .Saturday evening was very strange as it turned into a older person disco with Andy upping the level of music at every turn.
All in all a enjoyable weekend but take note of comments above and it wont suprise you , probably wont do it again

Room Tip: Apparently the honeymoon room is very nice although why you would choose this for your wedding night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmar2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Thank you Andy, Bonny, Bobby and Cherry for a great few days on the African Queen. A really enjoyable, interesting and different few days relaxation. The "crew" worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble for Cherry, she did everything with a smile, even late at night!
The food was fantastic with Bobby cooking a lovely English breakfast and a great barbeque.
Bonny's cooking was superb, everything had a truly lovely flavour. Andy worked hard at the helm, but relaxing on our mooring evenings with tales to tell us all. We came away with a mememto DVD of our cruise to remind us of our pleasant stay. Our Australian friend also enjoyed the cruise immensely.
Dianne, Kanaks and Ian

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Andy was hospitable and full of stories, and Bobby an excellent no 2 who basically did everything from take us to rooms bar and waiting on.

Boat ouses charm very comfortable and well equipped considering it's maturity.

Highlight was the cruise towards Oxford and evening meal which was Cape Malay cuisine and meat to die for. Beef lamb and chicken in interesting sauces conjured up by Bonnie in the tiny galley

Best nights sleep I've had in ages and decent breakfast followed by relaxing meeting in lounge area

Nothing was too much trouble for Bobby and after a fine lunch we had to leave

Considerably better value than a 2 day meeting in a boring hotel chain, and certainly far better food.

Can't recommend it enough - yes we had great weather but am sure it would be just as enjoyable without the 30 degree heat!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornwallgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

"The Wind in the Willows" came to life, as we sailed down the river. . . .
A quaint, yet amazingly intertaining excursion.
Skipper reminded me of a certain Mark Twain, who used to sail the Misissippi, who also told incredibly funny stories. We're sure Andy has new stories to tell from this trip - we have!!
The service was excellent; everybody worked hard to make the holiday special for all.
The food was brilliant.
Thank you all!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a brilliant holiday. met some nice people. Food was fantastic Andy, Bonnie, Bobby, Salvi congratulations to you all on providing Ron and Jane Dye with a unforgetable holiday. Hope to see you all next year

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have travelled a lot and this is the best cruise we ever had. The service was impeccable and personal . There was always someone there when anything needed.
The cuisine was fabulous.
The scenery was unbelievable - the manicured lawns - trees - gardens . We loved the variety of birds and again, there was always a guide available.
The entertainment and excursions were perfect for the group on board.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merrilee155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our stay on the African Queen was extremely enjoyable. From the Champagne reception on Friday afternoon to disembarkation at midday on Sunday, the experience was marvellous. Andy Cowley (Skipper), his wife Bonny and Bobby (the man who seemed to be everywhere doing everything) were all very welcoming. The cruises were enjoyable, food was extremely good, service first rate and Andy entertained the guests whenever he appeared with an unlimited repertoire of stories.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to African Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Queen

Address: Mapledurham Estate, Mapledurham RG4 7TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Mapledurham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mapledurham
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — African Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a rich and colourful past which includes Holland and Ireland, The African Queen has battled the Irish Sea to come to rest upon the Thames just outside Reading in an area of outstanding natural beauty and historical interest. With comfortable ensuite cabins and bar and restaurant, this is a unique opportunity to stay near Reading in special surroundings whether your visiting for business or pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your African Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Queen Hotel Mapledurham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing