We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking stay - avoid!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel balladins Orleans Saran
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saran
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here on our way down to the south of France. It was late at night, the Etap next door was full and the Campanile was €87 but as we were only planning a short stay there( just a few hours from late at night to first thing in the morning) this seemed too steep a price.
So we chose the Hotel Balladins as it seemed to have vacancies.
First, the hotel isn't manned at night.
There is a machine by the front door which you use to check in. I asked for a double room, but when we got to it, it was a twin room. It cost €60 and was awful. The room was miniscule which was not ideal to fit our baby's travel cot in. The bedding was the kind of bedding you don't feel want to look at too closely. The bathroom was ridiculously small and the shower terrible, small and sticky.
Thankfully we only stayed there from about 3am til 8/9 am.
Upon check out, the receptionist did not even ask us how the room was. He probably didn't want to hear what we had to stay.
My advice? Pay the extra to stay next door at the Campanile or the Etap if it's available.
I suppose the only redeeming feature was that it was next door to McDonalds so we had an easy breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CKUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balladins B, Responsable réception at Hotel balladins Orleans Saran, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Hello,
There this a night keeper in case of emergency that you can ring the bell at the entrance of the hotel to call him.
We have changed a lot of thing since, we understand your discontent and we do our best to correct it.
We have invested in the new bedding and new quilts, insulation works and renovation paint and bathrooms are in progress,
For breakfast we reorganized our vigilance on the quality and presentation ( there are more choices than before. )
( Our secure underground parking is still free on request. )
All the current team apologizes for the bad experience that you experienced in our hotel for the month of august 2012.
We just hope that this will notwe happen again in the future and do our best in the current present and attach importance to your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Hotel balladins Orleans Saran
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Cramped rooms, typical of French budget motels, with a maroon colour scheme and dim lighting giving a rather oppressive feel. At least the room was clean and quiet, and had a good flat screen TV.

The restaurant does a good evening buffet, and breakfast - also a buffet - was decent.

If you arrive after 8pm when the receptionist goes home, you might find a notice on the front door explaining that your key has been left at the Buffalo Grill next door. You'll be asked to settle the bill at the Buffalo Grill, so keep your credit card receipt safe to show at the hotel in the morning on checkout.

Saran, on the northern outskirts of Orleans, is a four-and-a-half hour drive from Calais, so this is useful stopover for those driving south. There's a Carrefour hypermarket a short drive north from the hotel on the D2020 with cheap petrol, and the area also has a reasonable choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balladins B, Responsable réception at Hotel balladins Orleans Saran, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

hello,

It is expected in the near future a painting renovation in our rooms with more informed and more soothing colors . ( The date is not set yet ... )

Our current team sincerely hope to satisfy you during your next stay in our hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank polluxette45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 127yaeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tendrichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: éviter les chambres en façade prés de la route qui s' animes vers 7 h
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddyverbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saran hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Orleans Nord Saran
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Orleans Nord - Saran
0.8 mi away
Suite-Home Orleans
Suite-Home Orleans
#2 of 10 in Saran
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Orleans Nord Saran
0.9 mi away
Inter Hotel Orleans Nord
0.6 mi away
Campanile Orleans Saran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Orleans Saran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Orleans Saran

Address: Rue de L'Ormeteau | Route Nationale 20, 45770 Saran, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loiret > Saran
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saran
Price Range: £41 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel balladins Orleans Saran 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 44 air-conditioned guestrooms at our balladins Orléans / Saran are comfortable and equipped with en suite facilities, satellite TV and a work desk. Start the day pleasantly with the delicious sweet and savory breakfast buffet served every day at will (free for children under 4). Our restaurant welcomes you for dinner from Monday to Thursday from 7:30 pm to 9:30 pm. A lounge is also at your disposal to relax. For the most connected, free and unlimited Wi-Fi access throughout the property is available, as well as digital tablets on request at reception! A meeting, a cocktail or another event to organize? Discover our meeting room for up to 25 people. Free parking is also at your disposal and you will be able to park without worries during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel balladins Orleans Saran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing