We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel balladins Bourg-en-Bresse/Viriat
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Viriat
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is one of three situated behind a shopping centre and is easy to find from the A40 (J5) if you are looking for a cheap overnight stop. Secure car parking is a major advantage but the car park is small & fills up quickly. Alternative parking is available outside the hotel gate.

The friendly and efficient staff more than make up for the inadequacies of the hotel chain's management and its apparent lack of concern for its hotel's upkeep. The rooms are small and the en-suite facilities are cramped (1m wide). Decoration needs immediate attention as it is very tired, even exhausted. A heavy scent of lemon aerosol masked the odour from elderly carpets; a handle fell off the toilet door; being small, the rooms' walls are grubby due to people rubbing against them to pass one another; a false ceiling panel, damaged by water penetration, had not been replaced. We overheard other guests complaining about issues with their rooms too. However, the sheets were clean, towels were provided, the water was hot and the TV worked!! The sleep quality was OK but there was noise pollution from the nearby dual carriageway from early morning.

Breakfast (6€) was a well stocked buffet in a comparatively small room, leading to overcrowding, and, whilst being available from 0700 in the week, was only open from 0800 at the weekend. There was the usual selection of hot drinks, fruit juice, breads, cold meats and cheese etc. Tables were cleared and the buffet re-stocked quickly by the reception staff. There is no restaurant but the Hotel Campanile next door has a decent dining area open to non-residents if you require an evening meal.

Ground floor rooms are accessible by disabled guests but the narrowness of spaces in the rooms would make wheelchair use impractical.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 and rooms to the rear of the hotel (noise pollution)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scousetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is fairly easy to find and has adequate secure parking, (although we were able to walk straight through the car park gate at 23.00 ! The receptionist was friendly and efficient and obliged us by storing our coolbox ice-packs in the hotel freezer. The hotel is like many other pre-fab 'business' hotels, with the self contained bathroom and toilet, and double bed with one bunk bed above. Described on the website as 'the single bed is on a mezzanine level', I had expected a two floor room, as I was sharing with my father and his partner and would have preferred some degree of privacy for us all !. Apart from this misleading description, the hotel was satisfactory. They provided towels and shampoo/shower gel in a dispenser. There was plenty of hot water, but take care as my Dad's partner nearly scalded herself as the blue and red dots on the the taps were the wrong way round. We took the optional breakfast (6 Euros) and enjoyed a well stocked (and replenished) buffet with a wide selection of hot beverages and juices, pastries, breads, cold meats, cheeses and yoghurts. Had the hotel description been more honest about the sleeping arrangements, I would have been very happy with our stay, but armed with the knowledge of this creative description, I would still use this chain of hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Henfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank guillaume j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pad-eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sophie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viriat
0 mi away
Fasthotel Bourg En Bresse
0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bourg en Bresse
5.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Bourg En Bresse - Montagnat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse
#7 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
Ibis Bourg en Bresse Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Campanile Bourg En Bresse - Viriat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Bourg-en-Bresse/Viriat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Bourg-en-Bresse/Viriat

Address: 694 rue des Vareys | Parc de la Chambiere, 01440 Viriat, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Viriat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Viriat
Price Range: £28 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel balladins Bourg-en-Bresse/Viriat 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The balladins Bourg-en-Bresse / Viriat hotel offers comfortable, affordable accommodation near the motorway, 3 kilometers from the city center and 4 kilometers from the train station. The non-smoking rooms have a private bathroom with shower, washbasin and toilet, a work area and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms include private toilets and shared showers. A varied sweet and savory all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet is served everyday in our restaurant. For the most connected, free and unlimited Wi-Fi access throughout the property is available, as well as digital tablets on request at reception! Free parking is also at your disposal and you will be able to park without worries during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel balladins Bourg-en-Bresse/Viriat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing