We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Charming B&B”

Ancienne Ecole du Chapuy
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ancienne Ecole du Chapuy
Ranked #1 of 1 Romans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a wonderful small B&B with very nice decoration. The hosts are very friendly and they served an excellent breakfast (lots of tea you can choose, freshly bakery, eggs, salami, cheese, fruits, etc.). We would stay longer next time if we pass by the area near Lyon again. The hosts have an apartment in Paris for rental in Summer season too. Check it out from the web sit as http://www.ecoleduchapuy.com

Room Tip: Flower room is larger room, but both of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kumababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at this B&B last summer for one night on our way to the South East of France. We were ever so pleased with our choice. Very easy booking over the phone with a professional email confirmation. The bedroom had a delightful decoration in the loevly French country style with a modern bathroom. We arrived with our 8 months old baby and were offered babysitting services for the evening by the owner (who was looking after her grandchildren). The localisation is great near Chatillon sur Chalaronne and Vonas. The breakfast table was a pleasure to the eye with an amazing setting and superbe food. I would definitely stop there again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We booked the Chambre Fleurie which was very specious even with a travel cot bed by the window. It b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

If you can get one of the two rooms at this wonderful b&b book it now, because once more people know about it you won’t have a chance. We have stayed at many b&bs and small hotels in France over the last year or so and this is the best experience we have had. If we could have stayed more than our three days we would have.

The two rooms in this well-restored old schoolhouse building are large, beautifully decorated and have big, well-equipped bathrooms. Both rooms have tea and coffee facilities, little treats (fresh cherries, chocolates) and bottled water. The beds are very comfortable with lovely linens, dark curtains and the place is quiet so great for sleeping.
Location is less than 5 minutes drive to Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne, where you can find plenty of restaurants, some shops and historic buildings. Further on is Lyon where accommodation is expensive and hard to find, hence why we stayed at the Ancienne Ecole.

Marie-Christine is a most gracious hostess, providing a fantastic spread for breakfast. She makes fresh bread and delicious jams, plus there’s fresh fruit, cereal, fresh local yoghurt, cheese and cold meats along with a special treat each day (cherry clafoutis straight from her tree, orange cake, fruit loaf), with great tea and coffee. If you eat the breakfast you won’t want to eat again all day – it’s simply delicious and plenty of it.

You will also get lots of local knowledge, information about tours, restaurants, day trips etc from Marie-Christine who makes sure you have everything you need for a wonderful stay. There is a swimming pool and a lovely terrace for breakfast if the weather is fine.

Simply put this place is wonderful in every way – unbeatable value, fabulous accommodation, wonderful breakfast and great personal service. Just book it now if you’re in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: les 2 chambres de l'ancienne école du Chapuy sont parfaitement calmes et spacieuses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351murield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citronnelle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les deux chambres proposées sont toutes deux superbes avec salles de bain spacieuses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANPAUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ancienne Ecole du Chapuy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancienne Ecole du Chapuy

Address: 01400 Romans, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Romans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Romans
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing