We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”
Review of Selma Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Selma Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunne
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel features a relaxed atmosphere and a ambitious spa area, providing an ideal setting for a couple getaway. The breakfast buffet is nice and provides many alternatives. The surrounding areas has many interesting options for cultural heritage sightseeing as well as for recreation and outdoor activites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BosseLaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

A spa weekend with my wife. Värmland in very nice early spring weather. Good food. I can recommend s stay at Selma Spa. We drove around during one day in wonderful Värmland. I highly liked the Spa part of the hotel with many different types of saunas and even having a pool were you can swim from inside to outside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The spa area is wonderful with pools, saunas, gym (basic), and plenty of gym classes throughout the day, especially up-tempo classes. Lovely breakfast buffet, with organic choices. Room quite nice, with a lovely view. Comfortable bed, but the room was very hot even in winter, and since the air-condition was very noisy we didn´t sleep all that well. The room was clean in general, but the shower area was not, with lots of stains. Have been here before, and didn´t have any such issues then. Tried the restaurant one evening, but after having to wait for 45 minutes, and not all that was supposed to be on the plate according to the menue was there we didn´t go back. It tasted good, and the staff was nice otherwise. The bar menue is a better option though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This large spa hotel in the forests of Värmland pleasantly surprised me. Comfortable rooms, good food and most importantly very friendly and serviceminded staff, made the stay very nice. On the bottom floor you have a large gym, pool and of course different spa treatments. I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

With a lake and a golf course just across from the hotel the settings are perfect.
I was there on conference with work and we really enjoyed it, the interior was fresh and nice and at evenings they used different colored light to create a nice atmosphere. The conference room at the 5th floor got really really warm, they could have turned on some aircon. The food was good and plenty full with focus on healthy food.
The room was really large and I had view to the garden but that also meant other could look in, didn't see any though.
I tested the spa treatment and even though it was nice I really think its over priced and not really worth that kind of money.. The pool was not very big but it felt cosy because of the lighting.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank TegnerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Cam to check in very early not expecting room to be ready. Were greated by great staff and were able to leave our bags and make use of spa facilities directly until room was ready. All around good service with no negitive aspect at all (and I am fussy).

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites with 2 levels, what amazing views of sunsets and sunrises over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmcd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is a wonderful place to be in if you need pease and relaxation. The spa area was good, the pool are very nice.

The room I was in where clean and charming. The restaurant were expensive and the food was ok. Not gourmet but ok.

I would like to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkedsmoNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunne
22.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bristol
22.2 mi away
Go To Sleep Arvika
Go To Sleep Arvika
#3 of 3 in Arvika
2 reviews
22.2 mi away
Scandic Arvika
Scandic Arvika
#1 of 3 in Arvika
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Nya Skogsgarden
Nya Skogsgarden
#2 of 9 in Torsby
13 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ulvsby Gard
Ulvsby Gard
#3 of 7 in Sunne
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunne Camping och Sommarland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selma Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selma Spa

Address: Sundsberget 3, Sunne 686 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Varmland County > Sunne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunne
Price Range: £154 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Selma Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Several times award winning Selma Spa+ is situated in the beautiful Fryken Valley (Fryksdalen) in Värmland. We offer you an uforgettable stay at our spa in the Swedish countryside, with a splendid view of Lake Fryken and the wilds of Värmland just around the corner. You may choose from from a variety of delights, everything from one of our lovely relaxing facial treatments to wines from one of the best wine cellars in Sweden.We have received some harsh reviews regarding our rooms and the spaarea before. But please note that the spa-area is newly renowated (summer of 2012), our Superior rooms have been renovated in the spring of 2013. The Standard rooms are from 2006, so none of the rooms have the style of 1991 anymore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Selma Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing