We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a first skiing trip with the children”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Borlange
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Romme Alpin Ski Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I can only agree with the previous reviewer, this was spot on for a mini holiday with skiing with the children. Perfect location, small system but that is no disadvantage with small children, good wholesome restaurant, impeccable staff, the only minus was cleaning of room prior to arrival which was fixed after informing reception.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joacim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is one of those things that the Swedish do well at when it comes to hotels (don't get me wrong I'm very critical of Swedish hotels in general - poor value and stroppy service is more the norm). We went for the Easter weekend from Thursday to Sunday (I think there are three options, - check online):

- 1 week
- 3 nights/4 days skiing (Thursday to Sunday)
- 4 nights/5 days skiing (Sunday to Thursday)

The ski lodge is incredible value. We went for the half board option which included a breakfast and dinner. The dining area is very beautiful in that it is one large two story room with central fireplace. For the breakfast there is an excellent buffet with English/Continental/Swedish (herring & salmon) 5 out of 5. For the dinner there are two sittings (i) 5:30pm and (ii) 7:30pm. Steer clear of the earlier one unless you have young children. Even then turn up at 6:00pm when the crowds have died down. The buffet was excellent and there was a bar and a la carte service (didn't use). was it haute cuisine? No. But it hit the spot perfectly as there was plenty of choice for children and adults. 5 out 5.

The only criticism I heard was if you are eating at 7:30pm there is a big time gap between when the pistes close (4:00pm) and when you sit down to eat. Maybe an extra hour on the slopes for Summer Time would be helpful (hint, hint!). I didn't notice any cross country skiing but somebody can correct me.

We had a 6 bedroom duplex (2 on the upper level). Think of it more as a cabin. Very new and thoughtfully laid out. Drying cupboard for ski gear, 6 of everything in terms of hanging space (the upper level could have done with extra drawers). Top mattresses had habit of slipping off beds but pillows were very comfortable. Be prepared room is NOT cleaned during stay. More storage for skis downstairs. Every room has own locker that can hold 6 pairs of skis.

Apres ski is perfect for children (movies at 6:30 and 8:00pm), playroom, table tennis and a very accommodating attitude by the staff.

In terms of the skiing, it is a small system with about 25 pistes (some black runs). The hotel is 10m from the piste and there are 2 or 3 days schools for children. Again I would stress that for children the ski system is perfect. For teenagers there is a snow park (though they may suffer from lack of night-life during the evening).

Price wise it's not cheap but offers incredible value for money (the children's buffet worked out cheaper than a happy meal). On the 3 day card after you pay for the room, the half board (x3) and ski passes (x4) worked out at less than SEK 1000 per adult!!

I'd say the one thing that really made it perfect (and this is rare in Sweden), the staff were impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. They were young, dedicated and always had a smile on their face. Oh, free high speed Wi-Fi in rooms and reception.

Everyone we met tried to book for 2011 (although reservations weren't yet open). We will be back at least twice next year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EtoileBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irawira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Informationsansvarig at Romme Alpin Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Informationsansvarig at Romme Alpin Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Informationsansvarig at Romme Alpin Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mycket trevligare med utsikt mot backen än parkeringen på andra sidan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LG4KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Informationsansvarig at Romme Alpin Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Informationsansvarig at Romme Alpin Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borlange hotels
6.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Galaxen
Quality Hotel Galaxen
#1 of 8 in Borlange
366 reviews
6.6 mi away
Scandic Borlange City
Scandic Borlange City
#2 of 8 in Borlange
269 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
First Hotel Brage
First Hotel Brage
#5 of 8 in Borlange
203 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mellsta Camping
Mellsta Camping
#1 of 3 in Borlange
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romme Alpin Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romme Alpin Ski Lodge

Address: Koppslahyttan 111, Borlange 781 98, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Dalarna County > Borlange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romme Alpin is a ski resort, only 2,5 hours from Stockholm city. We have 31 runs and 13 lifts. Our pistenbullies prepare ur runs to perfection every night. Our Ski Lodge is a ski in- ski out hotel with 169 rooms, restaurant, relax area, sauna and gym. For all the kids we have several playrooms. We have a modern ski rental building, ski shop and free parking. During the season we have bustrips from many cities around Sweden, for example, Stockholm, Uppsala, Västerås and Enköping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romme Alpin Ski Hotel Borlange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing