We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but the service is non-existing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenungsund
Reviewed 18 August 2009

A resort with great potential as very nice renovated. But that does not help anything if you do not staff your hotel. Two persons running the reception, phones, housekeeping and no food to offer daytime in a fully booked hotel with hunderd of rooms. Price of the room was bumped on upon arrival as the deluxe double room we booked was for some reason only for one occupant. It is a resort with no other restaurants close to the premisis more then McDonald's, still no kitchen open daytime. Pre-made shrimp sandwitch was the only thing offerd greatly overpriced.

Online we chose a spa package, still no treatments possible to be booked and it was even closed on Sunday the second day, so not strange that they can not offer treatments. Restaurant in evening lost or reservation, and food and service very sloppy prepared. Hotel was locked after having dinner on the pier, and we had to wait for over 10 minutes to get back in to the hotel until someone came out, reception was not answering the buzzer. Buffet breakfast served in a temporary area and without any sence of care, served canteen style, even a super basic feature as orange juice was missing, only concentrated apple juice to offer.If you are going for relaxing treatments and good food, then there are many other places along the Bohuslän coast line.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danwaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2009

We stayed at the JC Stevens villa for one night and it was very nice. The villa probably have the nicest rooms on the property. Every room is individually designed and decorated, inspired by Americas Cup boats.
The hotel has recently been refurbished and a spa, Bluewater, has jusy opened. I must say that I was pleasantly suprised. The new "east coast/Newport" look and feel of the hotel is very well done.
The food was good and the diningroom has great view of the sea.
There is also a beach nearby but we didn't use it this time..

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

We had to stay here for 2 nights recently because my company arranged for me to deliver a training course here.

The room was definitely 3 star quality - very IKEA. Also there was no soap or shampoo, only a dispenser of cream soap by the sink, and one of shower gel in the bath - useless for washing my hair.

We attempted to walk over the bridge into Stenungsund to see what was there. It is like a small ski resort (actually it is a yacht resort), but out of season. There is nothing there except some holiday flats and a fast food cafe. (Every other eating place was closed).

So we walked back to the hotel to eat there - and the food was superb!

The hotel (April 08) appears to be building a sports centre underneath the rooms - awoken by drilling at 7.00 am was not welcome, because we had not reached the hotel until 1.00 am that morning - it is a good hour's taxi from Landvetter airport.

Unless you are into yachting I would not recommend trekking to this hotel - but if you are there the service is good, and the food is great.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank worldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We have just returned from staying at this hotel, chosen because Gothenburg was completely booked out (due to a Rolling Stones concert).

It was situated on the coast about half an hour's drive north of Gothenburg and 48 minutes from Gothenburg Lanvetter airport.

The hotel sits on an island overlooking a lake and is reached by a very modern bridge. The building is old but has been renovated and added to several times and is used for events and conferences during the week. The parking is plentiful and free and at least 2 tour buses were using the hotel over the weekend.

The foyer is smartly decorated using a nautical theme which is carried through all 4 standards of rooms. We chose the top one -a "Royal Treat" room which was 30 square metres and spacious with very good views over the marina and lake. The decor was unusual and smart and the beds were very comfortable. There was a stylish sitting area to watch the scenery and the bathroom was simple and practical, but quite ordinary and without a bath. There are 2 restaurants - the Ocean, used for breakfasts and the Kookaburra, down on the water's edge - a pleasant experience. Try the fish soup. There was a band for dancing playing both nights in the hotel but we heard nothing from our room on the third level.

Service at the hotel was pleasant and fairly low key. Check in and check out was fine.

In summary we had a good experience - the weekend rate with breakfast booked directly through the hotel website was reasonable and it was hard to believe this hotel belonged to a chain.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheDoor_isopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Marcus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank danielD4071RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank sandrabZ3795UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuele F, Commercial Director at Stenungsbaden Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stenungsund
14.7 mi away
Marstrands Havshotell
Marstrands Havshotell
#1 of 3 in Marstrand
654 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sankt Jorgen Park
Sankt Jorgen Park
#6 of 67 in Gothenburg
772 reviews
18.1 mi away
Gullmarsstrand Hotell & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Strandflickornas Havshotell
20.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Carlia
Best Western Hotel Carlia
#3 of 5 in Uddevalla
157 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bohusgarden Hotell & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stenungsbaden Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stenungsbaden Yacht Club

Address: Sodra Stenungson, Stenungsund 444 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Stenungsund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenungsund
Price Range: £139 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stenungsbaden Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stenungsbaden is a welcoming place by the sea in beautiful Bohuslän, only 30 minutes from Gothenburg, where guests can find both peace of mind and inspiration and also have immense fun. And best of all, just a few steps from both the seaside and exciting activities and a relaxing spa. The hotel in itself inspires joy and creativity - beautifully located on the Hakefjord beach and many of our hotel rooms enjoy a spectacular sea view. Stenungsbaden is part of Nordic Choice Hotels, which offers more hotels close to Stenungsund. Stenungsbaden is run by Nordic Hotels & Resorts, who also manage At Six, The Thief and Skt Petri, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stenungsbaden Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club Hotel Stenungsund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing