We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel BirkeGaarden
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Herning(Herning)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paarup Kro(Engesvang)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel DalGas(Brande)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
2
10
8
8
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
10
8
8
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

reception always closed, no bar or restaurant, rooms are small with two beds pushed together, horrible pillows, cheap plastic chair and desk, tiny dirty bathroom, no printer to print your boarding passes, extremely slow internet, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, no phone in the room - in fact no phone in the reception either!! definetly not coming back it is beyond me how this hotel has 3 stars, they seriously need to renovate this old shabby hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Located a few kilometres from town centre and rail station, too far to walk with luggage and in colder months. Dated hotel that needs an upgrade and reno. Did not use bar or restaurant as I dined in town with a friend. Returned to hotel around 8.30pm, reception already closed. Free wifi internet, but you must obtain code from reception, which was closed, so could not do any work. They should really offer this code at check-in. Reception staff was friendly with good English. Room was huge but dated. Flat screen TV was located at far end of room, too far away. Should be much closer to the bed. Bed comfortable, I booked queen bed, but had 2 singles pushed together, there was a spare single bed in room. Lumpy uncomfortable pillows as well. Basic bathroom but is was a large area. Work desk with a broken old squeaky chair. Rianna was playing in town at the time and other more upmarket and centrally located hotels were all full. This hotel rates a bit under 3 stars and was quite expensive for what they deliver.
Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingo_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed.last weekend, rooms are clean and tidy. Food is very good and staff are friendly, nice place.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonerinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I read recently that the 3 most important things to business travellers are 1. a comfortable bed; 2. a good shower; 3. a decent wireless internet connection. I'd have to give this hotel 1 out of 3 - the shower was ok.

Details:
I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. First thing to know is that they are (were?) in the middle of a refurb - the entrance porch was full of building materials and not the most welcoming sight on arrival. I did not have an issue with noise in the evening during my stay.

We were escorted to the temporary reception desk and checked in, which didn't take too long. When I asked if the bar would be open later I was told "no, it'll be open on Friday". It was Monday! More on this later...

The room was clean but pretty small. The bathroom was tiny - the door barely cleared the wash hand basin and actually stopped its swing when it hit the toilet bowl. Heating was adequate. The desk area was ok, but neither chair in the room was really suitable for working from and they weren't particularly comfortable for watching the TV from either. Fortunately the claimed wireless internet connection was either not working at all or so slow that work was impossible anyway, so that just left one thing to do - relax with the minibar...unfortunately the minibar was present but completely empty. The only thing available to drink in the hotel in the evening was bathroom sink tap water from a plastic cup. Yummy.

I mentioned a comfortable bed at the start. This one wasn't; not for me anyway as I found it too firm. In fact, that was the firmest hotel bed I've ever slept in. You might find it ok. The reading lights above the bed hadn't been connected yet but the wiring was lying on the floor beside the bed so should be connected soon.

The hotel is a bit out of the way, even given the size of Herning. There's not much within walking distance although we did walk over to the Herning Centre and eat in the Jensen's Bofhaus one evening. Other evenings we had to drive into town, eat there and drive back. Not being able to grab an evening meal in the hotel was a huge PITA.

The breakfast buffet was alright, I suppose. 3 different breakfast cereals, teas & coffee, bread, bread rolls, cold meats & cheeses - all pretty typical for a Danish hotel. The scrambled egg and bacon were both cold - although the dishes were on a warmer they were uncovered. They had pretty much finished the refurb in this part of the hotel, but the layout of the buffet was a bit haphazard - I'd expect that to improve as they get used to the new setup.

I'm not sure who makes up this hotel's target market. It can't be business travellers since they don't cater particularly well for that segment. I'd recommend this hotel to you if all you want is bed and breakfast and you're not a big fan of bacon and eggs or soft beds.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearyTr4veller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews