We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience at Hotel Dania”
Review of Hotel Dania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dania
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Silkeborg
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The servicelevel can nearly be described as rude, allthough we noticed a higher level towards the Danish guests.

The room we stayed in was really tiny, smelly, stuffy and very dark. It was not very clean with stained carpets and dust and a sad bathroom.

No view, except for a brick wall 1,5 m from the window. The window was only accessed by climbing over the bed (120cm for two people!) and when opened allowed spiders to fall onto the bed.

My worst ever hotel experience.

The location and exterior is very nice and the hotel could have been a gem with some renovating of the staff and interior.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

I have been staying in many hotels till today, but this was my worst experince ever when it comes to service. We arrived at 6 pm, and the receptionist was a kind of rude. He did not tell anything about facilities in the hotel, he was only telling us that we needed our voucher to check-in - and he was almost sending us out of the hotel again. We were not told where the breakfast would be. The toilet in the room was very smelly, so we had to shut the door when we were in the room.
When passing the reception we only met angry faces and no goodmornings and so.
When leaving the hotel they did not say goodbye and didnt seem to care at all if we had enjoyed our stay.
I have never ever met such a low standard in service, absolutely not recommendable and not worth its 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank surferdude_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

This historic hotel on the main square in Silkeborg is in an ideal location. The staff were reasonably welcoming.

However its past glories are faded and in my view it no longer justifies its 4 star rating. The worst feature was the stench of sewage in the bathroom which was really appalling. We complained and it was treated, but when using the bathroom again late in the evening it came back just as powerfully as before.

When checking out the following morning I complained that the smell had not been eliminated or even minimised. Far from apologising, the receptionist said "Well, there is nothing I can do about it"

Even ignoring the chair in the bedroom with split upholstery, the worn carpets in the main hall, and the lack of a restaurant actually in the hotel, I really feel that the condition of the bathroom alone makes this a place to avoid

1  Thank jyllander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sxhotels, Manager Marketing Support at Hotel Dania, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2009

Dear Sir/Madam

We were very concerned to hear of the situation you encountered after arriving at Hotel Dania. The bathroom problem you have mentioned has never been an issue previously and this situation should have been rectified. We at Hotel Dania take pride in delivering the utmost in customer service and we apologize that in this case we did not deliver this standard of service to you. We always have a Manager on duty so in a situation where you are not satisfied with the outcome, the Duty Manager should be contacted to help rectify the problem. We appreciate your honesty in your comments and please be assured that your situation and comments have been passed on to the applicable departments at our end.
It is our hope that you will return to Hotel Dania in the future so we can show you that we are truly a Moderate First Class property and the best hotel in Silkeborg.
Kind regards, Hotel Dania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

The hotel seemed to be very proud of its past, but had forgotten to do anything about the present.
The room was small, not very clean, and the breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mopa1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

The only good thing about this hotel is its location in the centre of town. It looks really nice from the street but the rooms are very basic. I had a single room and the bed really was a single bed. It was horrible - they sheets didn't even fit. They used 2 single sheets crossways on the bed which meant you ended up sleeping on the matress as some point. Also, my room wasn't cleaned though I stayed for 2 nights. I reported this at reception and asked them to send up some towels - they sent up 2 hand towels.

When I went in to book a room, there were 2 receptionists on duty. I was just a nusiance to them. I waited over half an hour just to reserve a room - while the first was checking availability she took a call so I eventually asked the other receptionist. She then took a long personal call on her mobile while I stood there. They told me the carpark was down by the lake so I had to carry my bag up - they actually have a small carpark at the back of the hotel.

I've never written a review like this before - normally I'm easily satisfied.

I stayed at a couple of hotels in Silkeborg - the Impala was very functional but had really nice staff.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Olki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

This hotel is right on the main square of Silkeborg, a small city in central Denmark. There is no nightlife in the square, the only activity is the hotel restaurant and bar, which are mediocre in quality yet expensive. The hotel is much too expensive for what is offered. The rooms are small and worn. On the mattress in my room the staff and put two non-fitted sheets which were not attached to anything so would fall to the floor when touched. There is an adequate but listless breakfast in the basement. The staff speaks English (as everyone in Denmark does) but there are no amenities, no bellmen, etc. It is an adequate but worn out hotel that is very much overpriced. There is a parking lot, which requires one to drive in front of the hotel in the pedestrian zone, and then enter from the left of the main entrance to the parking lot below. It is permissible to drive through the square for this purpose.

3  Thank GalenaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Forsiden ud mod torvet, hvis du kan lide byens lyde - bagsiden hvis du vil have ro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrizia70811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-HotelDania, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silkeborg hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg
0.9 mi away
Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Scandic Silkeborg
Scandic Silkeborg
#1 of 10 in Silkeborg
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vejlsohus Hotel and Conference Center
8.9 mi away
Kongensbro Kro
Kongensbro Kro
#6 of 10 in Silkeborg
86 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Svostrup Kro
Hotel Svostrup Kro
#5 of 10 in Silkeborg
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dania

Address: Torvet 5, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Silkeborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Silkeborg
Price Range: £112 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dania 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Dania, SilkeborgDo you ever dream of staying in one of the most history filled hotels in Denmark? In a hotel with attention for high level of service? With a central location? With direct access to the town square, pedestrian shopping zone and a stroll from the famous lakes? Hotel Dania underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, which means that our rooms now are modern, while our front desk and lounge areas are kept in the elegant and comfy original style. With the town square as front door, we are surrounded by the vibrant city of Silkeborg - but only few minutes walk from greenery areas and the Silkeborg Lakes.The hotel dates back to 1848, when the hotel first opened up for guest. Through the years, we have housed national and international actors, artists, writers, and etc. Whether you are considering visiting us for the first time or has already been a guest of ours, we hope to be able to welcome you at the idyllic Silkeborg, at Hotel Dania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dania Hotel Silkeborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing