We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastisk, Fantastisk, Fantastisk!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Silkeborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We were in all ways blown away with this hotel. Some of the old reviews must be quite old because we certainly couldn't recognise the critique in some of the reviews. We were honestly overwhelmed by this place. They go out of their way to make your stay perfect. The staff is smiling friendly, extremely capable and will do anything they can for you. The settings are fantastic, the surroundings couldn't be better just two minutes walk away from the forrest and the Silkeborg lakes. In the morning the staff even put out a little "welcome back from your run" sign for the people who went for a morning run and put out a towel and water for the morning runners. The food and service in the restaurant is simply outstanding. Amazing wine and the food among the best I've tasted. This combined with a waiter of top class who knows exactly when to come over and when to stay away and with a good sense of humour just made our dinner experience fantastic. When it comes to the hotel then everything we wouldn't even expect them to have, they did! I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It's standards beyond others.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordsjaelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I just stayed one night at the Gammel Skovridergaard. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, they made us relax as soon as we arrived after a very long day... Although we checked in at 9:15 PM, they kept the restaurant "Orangerie" open for us so we could have dinner. And we were so happy, as the food was delicious and very interesting. We really enjoyed the herbs gathered from the neighboring woods! We were the only people in the restaurant, so it could have been a little strange, but the staff made us feel so welcomed, and they were glad to take care of us. We never felt hurried or pressed to finish our meal...
The room was well appointed and very clean. The blankets (duvets comforters) were a little too heavy for us, but that is our personal taste... The bathroom is basic, not many amenities (just soap and shampoo) but plenty of towels. Breakfast was exceptional, a truly amazing spread of great items ranging from the traditional cereals, to homemade yogurts and jams, to pancakes and eggs, to ham and cheeses, to fresh juices and super fresh breads. Everything fabulous! We did not have the time to visit the gardens of the hotel, but from the windows, they seemed wonderful. Highly recommended, and for the quality and service: an excellent value!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 007EMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a 3 day slot just before ending our summer holiday in Denmark, last year. We decided to book this place as we wanted to explore Silkeborg. It was the best choice!!!! The surrounding is close to a small forest, and not far from fresh water lake. Price could be a little pricey, but the experience is simply priceless.
When we were there, surprisingly there were not many guests. So we kinda had the whole place to ourselves!!!! We sat out in the garden having a small picnic. And we were blessed with beautiful summer weather too!!! <3<3<3
We sailed on one of the oldest sailboat along the river, we went hiking, we cycled to the lake nearby and swam there. The lake is among the favourite spot during summer. Place where you can go for sun tanning and swim in the cool water. And one of the best sceneries!!!! And all these are conveniently short distance from the hotel!!!
We are thinking of coming back but this time during winter!!! It would be another tremendous experience!!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suite is like having your own apartment. Separate single bed room for the child and a spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraSkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The only down side of this place is the name which a foreigner can hardly say. The charme of this hotel is the close connection to nature which is perfectly kept and heart opening. The food is not only tasting well but also healthy and fresh. One could say that a good tradition of offering a place for health an wellbeing is kept and accomplished by adding options to learn and meet.Seldom one can find art deco elements well combined with modern elements of living. The new owner shows taste and style.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilona64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

This hotel is primarily a conference and training center and is owned by Jyske Bank, which is headquartered nearby, also in Silkeborg. The facility is quite old (pre-WWII) but has been well-maintained throughout the years and is in good - if somewhat dated - shape. The grounds of the hotel are very nice with benches and other quiet areas to sit placed throughout, and the hotel is on a very quiet street so there is no issue with noise in the area. The hotel also offers blankets for use while sitting outside as, even in the summer, it can get to be quite chilly in the evenings.

The rooms are comfortable and fairly large by European standards. My specific room consisted of a king sized bed (I believe it was actually two single beds pushed together), a desk, a small refrigerator and an oversized window-sill which served as a large shelf good for luggage storage. The room also featured a modestly sized flat screen TV (19 inch widescreen at guess but not sure). The bathroom was smallish but still adequate featuring a small but serviceable sink and a shower that was a little awkward due to its slanted ceiling.

The rooms do not feature air conditioning (which I'm told is the norm in Denmark) but despite being there in June this proved to be no issue whatsoever. Even when the room had warmed from the sunlight, opening the windows in the evening was more than sufficient to cool the room effectively.

The biggest issue that I had was that the curtains on the windows were not sufficient to keep out the sun in the morning, and given that Denmark gets something like 18 hours of sunlight per day in the summer, it was quite frequent that the sun was waking me up at 3:30-4:00 in the morning as the curtains failed to keep it out.

The hotel also contains a restaurant on-site. The breakfast offers a good selection of the standard breakfast items and everything seemed fresh and well-prepared. The dinners are served in a fixed course menu which I did not try for a couple of reasons 1) Serving mostly dishes that I did not like and 2) Appeared to be somewhat over-priced. We were also reprimanded for wanting to eat dinner in the lobby of the hotel. I was traveling with a group of co-workers and we had brought pizza from a nearby pizzeria and were told that we could not eat it in the lobby since we were competing with the restaurant in the hotel (even though that did not serve pizza). As such we were forced to sit outside and eat, which we found somewhat annoying.

On the whole the hotel is adequate though nothing spectacular (as would be expected from a conference center). It is very near the aquarium, though the aquarium hours are limited so I was not able to visit, and just a short drive from a variety of food options.

I would likely recommend other hotels over this (specifically the Radisson) but would certainly recommend this over other hotels (the Dania most notably).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank deleteyourself16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

This hotel is mostly used as a conference centre so is often full. I had a room in a separate annex to the hotel and it was really nice. The hotel had free wireless internet access and breakfast was good (the usual ham, eggs, cheese, etc). The hotel is a short drive from the town centre. In the evenings, it offers a set 3-course dinner. I don't remember if it had room service - I don't think it did.

The staff were friendly - I forgot my phone charger and they gave me several to try.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Olki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank albinod2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silkeborg
0.3 mi away
Vejlsohus Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg
1.8 mi away
Scandic Silkeborg
Scandic Silkeborg
#1 of 10 in Silkeborg
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#9 of 10 in Silkeborg
108 reviews
8.1 mi away
Paarup Kro
Paarup Kro
#1 of 1 in Engesvang
22 reviews
9.6 mi away
Knudhule Badehotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection

Address: Marienlundsvej 36, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark (Formerly Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier)
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Silkeborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Silkeborg
Price Range: £89 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing