We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Hotel with Excellent Breakfast Buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Silkeborg
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel with Excellent Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed with the family in July 2012 - 4 of us in the room including 2 teenagers. Thankfully I called the hotel directly and was offered a "Business Class" room, which is a bit bigger than standard and has a fold-out double sofa. Decor is modern Scandinavian, very clean and pleasing. Excellent location, next door to four restaurants. Reception was very friendly and accommodating, and on duty 24/7.

Best of all is the huge and healthy breakfast buffet. Real fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, yogurt with add-your-own-goodies, pancakes, juices and cappuccinos etc etc - together with the free wifi that actually worked, and the somewhat pricey rate was actually quite a good value.

I knock off one star for the loud air conditioning (a/c is rare in this region, so still appreciated) and the loud delivery truck noises waking us up both mornings around 6am. Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the famous river and lake (for a higher price), while even number rooms face a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    115
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
112
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Nicely located near the town's pedestrial streets, nice bars and restaurants at its foot, it's a fine place to stay, in a former paper factory entirely renewed. Modern rooms, silent, and not too expensive. A good pick.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel a few times, last in July 2012. The hotel has all the things you'd expect from a Radission hotel. Nice, bright, funtional rooms and large bathrooms. Excellent breakfast. The hotel is in walking distance to the Silkeborg city centre. The hotel is in typical modern Scandinavian design, so if you don't like this you probably should stay somewhere else. The restaurant serves nices meals in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tveste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is part of the old paper factory in Silkeborg - now converted into a very interesting area with cinemas,concert hall, restaurants and the Radisson Blu.
Its is nicely situated next to the Gudenåen "river" and within walking distance to the town center and the quay with the famous excursion river boats.
The style is the well known minimalisme that you find everywhere on the World. Staff is friendly but especially the reception is undermanned meaning long waiting time when bussy.
During weekends the hotel seems very popular among holiday seekers, while business people take over during weekdays.
Breakfast is normaly included in the room rate, and the buffet is nice with a large selection.
Rooms are different in size but over all ok without being luxery. We stayed in af junior suite which all necessary facilities, ample of space and a nice wiev to the river. Only negativ thing was the soap dispensers in the bathroom, which to my opinion do not belong to a first class hotel but should be exiled to a public toilet!

Room Tip: Chose room to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KurtEsbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is placed close to the city, resturants, cimema and next to the sea. I have visited this hotel twice.... Together with my husband and in a worklrelated matter. I can only recommend this hotel and the gourmet resturant located in the hotel: Michael D. The staff is helpfull and they will make sure that you have everything you need.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206, business class room without view to the sea.... If we go again, i would pay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Okonom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed here for three nights while travelling on business in Jan 2012. The hotel seems to be quite new and the rooms are very modern. I had a single room which was compact but very well equiped. The free wired internet was very good. My only criticism of the hotel is that I did find the single bed to be rather small and if you like a big bed then book a room with a queen bed...so that was my mistake. The hotel is centrally located, overlooking the river...my GPS tool me straight there. I had no problems with noise. There are a number of restaurants adjacent to the hotel and it is just a short walk from the very attactive town centre where there are lots of shops and more restaurants.I did not eat dinner in the hotel but breakfast was very good. The hotel has a small (free) car park directly in front. If that is full there is plenty of public parking near the hotel which is free from 5pm to 8am. As is the case everywhere in Denmark, everyone speaks great English.

Room Tip: Boom a room with a queen bed if you like a big bed - single beds were small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Travelling on business meant I arrived late (9.00pm). Checked in and was given a lovely spacious, well appointed bedroom. First impressions were good. Got changed and went down to the restaurant only to discover it was fully closed... Reception informed me that I was too late (I know it is customary in Denmark to eat early and many restaurants to close the kitchen between 8 and 9pm), but common this is a 4* hotel of an international brand. Not to worry, I'll have room service.... Oh no I won't.... No chef, no kitchen, no hot food at all.... But I could have a sandwich :-( and after travelling for 6 hours I was after s'thing more substantial.
There are three cafes next door, all too had stopped serving food (after all they are local businesses serving local people so I expected this), yet Cafe Kik took pity on me and fired up their grill and gave me a burger. Ideally I would have liked more but I was not going to bite the hand that feeds me, so ate it with relish. It turned out to be very good quality and extremely tasty. These guys were very good and hospitable - eat at Cafe Kik and not the hotel...
Back at the hotel I was disappointed to find only wired Internet in the room which was no good for my tablet.... And the shower had no shelf on which to put your shampoo etc.
All in all I would not stay here again out of choice... Maybe for convenience of location only. For an international 4* hotel group, this was absolutely disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrugby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silkeborg
1.0 mi away
Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Scandic Silkeborg
Scandic Silkeborg
#1 of 11 in Silkeborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vejlsohus Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#9 of 11 in Silkeborg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
17.9 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
23.7 mi away
Scandic Bygholm Park
Scandic Bygholm Park
#1 of 8 in Horsens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg

Property: Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg
Address: Papirfabrikken 12, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Silkeborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Silkeborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Silkeborg
Silkeborg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing