We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice rooms and a decent breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Silkeborg
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on a Business trip to Denmark. The rooms are nice but a bit dark because of few lamps. If you get a room just above the service entrance in the backyard be prepared to be disturbed by garbage/delivery noise in the middle of the night and cigarette fumes from the staff. There are no fitness room or gym in the hotel and the room service shuts down very early; around 21:00. The breakfast buffet is not the biggest but contains a lot of fruits, different breads and the staff could make you any coffee you want. Overall my experience with this hotel is above average.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Listian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

took my wife, son and his fiancee on a roundtrip. Silekborg was on the route and since i had worked at the paper factory as a young boy i wante to show it to them. Well surprice its now a hotel :-) . Well i knew of course and had booked. The check in was a meager affaire. Took ages to get it right (had booked two businees rooms) to wrong rooms were allotted and we found out after entering the rooms. The correction took an epic direction but eventually we relocated and all was fine.
The rooms are large (for DK) and the view to Gudenåen was nice. The bathroom was functional and as with the other decor very scandinavian.
Location can hardly be better, short walk to the center and all the restaurants and pubs, pedestrian shopping etc. The lake is within a short walk as well. Parking was no problem and as we got a spot right outside the main entrance.
Breakfast was very nice indeed, all you could crave for was there. We didnt try lunch or dinner as there were too many tempting offers outside the door (still in the paperfactory buildings) "Bones" was picked by my son, and they served very nice well ehhh bones.
The 4 star rating may be a bit high - surely one would have expected more efficiency at the welcome and reception. As a Radissson you can do better - we know that.

Room Tip: Get the view to the river.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed with the family in July 2012 - 4 of us in the room including 2 teenagers. Thankfully I called the hotel directly and was offered a "Business Class" room, which is a bit bigger than standard and has a fold-out double sofa. Decor is modern Scandinavian, very clean and pleasing. Excellent location, next door to four restaurants. Reception was very friendly and accommodating, and on duty 24/7.

Best of all is the huge and healthy breakfast buffet. Real fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, yogurt with add-your-own-goodies, pancakes, juices and cappuccinos etc etc - together with the free wifi that actually worked, and the somewhat pricey rate was actually quite a good value.

I knock off one star for the loud air conditioning (a/c is rare in this region, so still appreciated) and the loud delivery truck noises waking us up both mornings around 6am. Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the famous river and lake (for a higher price), while even number rooms face a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Nicely located near the town's pedestrial streets, nice bars and restaurants at its foot, it's a fine place to stay, in a former paper factory entirely renewed. Modern rooms, silent, and not too expensive. A good pick.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel a few times, last in July 2012. The hotel has all the things you'd expect from a Radission hotel. Nice, bright, funtional rooms and large bathrooms. Excellent breakfast. The hotel is in walking distance to the Silkeborg city centre. The hotel is in typical modern Scandinavian design, so if you don't like this you probably should stay somewhere else. The restaurant serves nices meals in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tveste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is part of the old paper factory in Silkeborg - now converted into a very interesting area with cinemas,concert hall, restaurants and the Radisson Blu.
Its is nicely situated next to the Gudenåen "river" and within walking distance to the town center and the quay with the famous excursion river boats.
The style is the well known minimalisme that you find everywhere on the World. Staff is friendly but especially the reception is undermanned meaning long waiting time when bussy.
During weekends the hotel seems very popular among holiday seekers, while business people take over during weekdays.
Breakfast is normaly included in the room rate, and the buffet is nice with a large selection.
Rooms are different in size but over all ok without being luxery. We stayed in af junior suite which all necessary facilities, ample of space and a nice wiev to the river. Only negativ thing was the soap dispensers in the bathroom, which to my opinion do not belong to a first class hotel but should be exiled to a public toilet!

Room Tip: Chose room to the river
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KurtEsbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is placed close to the city, resturants, cimema and next to the sea. I have visited this hotel twice.... Together with my husband and in a worklrelated matter. I can only recommend this hotel and the gourmet resturant located in the hotel: Michael D. The staff is helpfull and they will make sure that you have everything you need.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206, business class room without view to the sea.... If we go again, i would pay f...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Okonom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silkeborg
1.6 mi away
Scandic Silkeborg
Scandic Silkeborg
#1 of 10 in Silkeborg
298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gl. Skovridergaard, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Vejlsohus Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#9 of 10 in Silkeborg
105 reviews
17.9 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
8.3 mi away
Paarup Kro
Paarup Kro
#1 of 1 in Engesvang
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg

Address: Papirfabrikken 12, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Silkeborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Silkeborg
Price Range: £97 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Papirfabrikken Hotel, Silkeborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Silkeborg
Silkeborg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing