We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poorly run hotel!”
Review of First Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vedbaek
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great location, poorly run hotel!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location, but the persons running it should be doing something else! The rooms are rundown, Internet is spotty and dont work from allrooms (if at all) the staff do not seam to know the hotel system, the resturant... need a chef. the only good thing with this hotel, that I can find is that they have free parking! Sorry, but If you are looking for hotel in this area, please look somewhere else, if you stay here I think you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    102
    110
    75
    47
See reviews for
83
146
12
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked a suite to my family because we have a child 12 years old. we thought this would be nice because it was with seaview, and more expensive than a double room. we also thought that a suite comes with a nice view.
Big dissapointment! The girl in the front desk was really not serviceminded and seemed to be bored when we were checking in. She didn´t even bother to greet us Welcome.
We got our key and we went to the room that was with a doublebed and they arranged the sofa bed for our child. 2 rooms that were very small. The biggest surprise was that we were overlooking there parking place from both sides, and this was in the corner on the first floor!! A suite?? I don´t think so!
We went back and asked for upgrade but she didn´t bother just told us there were no other rooms.
We checked out. She didn´t say anything or some excuse, she didn´t even bother to say goodbye!
Never again First Hotel Marina!!

Room Tip: Don´t even bother to check in!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vedbaek hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights.

The hotel is located close to the beach in an attractive area north of Copenhagen. Great for visiting the northern part of Zealand. The area is also well connected to downtown Copenhagen with trains running every 20 minutes, and the station is just a short walk from the hotel.

Front desk staff made a mixed impression, some of them probably being without professional training. At check-in, we asked for a parking permit, but I noticed that the dating was not correct (the starting date was noted as the next day). So I went back and politely asked to have it changed. The young girl was not very friendly, but gave me a new ticket. Unfortunately, the dates on this were not correct either, so I informed her of the correct dates. Rather upset, she changed the ticket once again, but without any apology - in fact without a word. Not very polite to say the least.

Our room was reasonably clean, but in need of an update, especially the bathroom. No coffeemaker, and CRT tv with a limited choice of channels.

Breakfast was not included in our rate. The food was ok, but nothing more. Bread rolls were not top quality, and tables could definitely do with a bit of cleaning.

This hotel is in need of better management, and we would probably find something better next time we visit Vedbaek.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NemoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Rooms were filthy, period, especially the bathroom. Staff at front desk could not be bothered to help with anything; rude and surly. Want dessert with dinner-forget it, the kitchen is closed. Want a cup of coffee at 7:00 rather than 7:30 when breakfast starts-no way, short staffed due to holiday season. Want only a cup of coffee rather than full breakfast-forget it, pay for full breakfast buffet as it is all or nothing. Bed linens and bath towels were of very low quality. No stocked mini-bar although there is a small fridge in room, TV didn't work; essentially, no one who worked here actually acted lke the cared about the guest experience at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Arrived tired and stressed after a long journey, Reception staff really helpful and welcoming - no problem with getting into room before normal check in time (I had e-mailed to request this).
Staff equally cheerful and helpful when we made an early check out to catch our flight home.

Room was a good size, with seating area by the window. Proper opening patio doors onto small balcony. Comfortable bed and good quality TV. Very little space to hang clothes.
Realised late at night there was no tea/coffee in room - could have gone down to bar area or asked for room service, but too tired to bother.
Bathroom was rather a let down - decor dated and utilitarian - shower gel in wall dispenser and hairdryer attached to wall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latintourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Was visiting Microsoft office near by and booked this Hotel via eBookers. That was a big mistake. Initially I was surprised that no other site had any rooms, but eBookers had. So I booked it. Arrive at about 22.30 at the hotel door and see it locked! Not only that the paper on the door was saying that the hotel is closed. Its raining outside, next hotel is like a kilometer away. In desperation I ring the door without much hotel and to my big luck the manager was there and was kind enough to allow me to stay overnight. Hotel is right by the sea and is located about 15 min walk from Vedbaek train station (about 20 min to city). I haven't had breakfast because again hotel was actually closed. My room was good, bathroom was clean. nice midsize flat TV. It looks like the Hotel also has some permanent guests, so it must have its flair. If you walk from the train station you can shop in the Netto supermarket near by which has great prices for Denmark standard. during the day there is a shop right at the car park of the hotel with good prices too. Sea is right across the road. Didn't had a chance to visit it, since I left very early. Again huge thanks to the Hotel manager who was kind enough to accommodate me! The Hotel is about 15min ride to Microsoft office, just in case.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreakWentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed in first hotel marina during Easter period and got a very good deal on First Hotel's website. The stay was quite good because of the hotel location.. Just near the beach..and boat club of Vedbaek. We were allowed an early check-in. Staff was very supportive. Restaurant was nice and interior of common area was quite interesting and modern.

On cons note: I booked room for 3 days and given my credit card, and it was blocked for some amount. While checking out, we cleared the bill with same credit card, but there was some excess amount blocked for few days. After following up, it was cleared up. but there was one very good thing in this incident was, support from reception lady, who assured us that the amount will surely be refunded and she even followed up for the refund with us.
Overall... a nice experience with hotel, nice and clean rooms with free wi-fi access, breakfast included in the room booking price, supportive staff. Cheers first hotels.

Room Tip: Take a superior room with ocean facing balcony.. watching sea from your window is nice experience..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShyamKantDubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vedbaek
2.2 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rungstedgaard
Rungstedgaard
#1 of 1 in Rungsted
187 reviews
13.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Skovshoved Hotel
Skovshoved Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlottenlund
132 reviews
11.2 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
299 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comwell Holte
Comwell Holte
#1 of 1 in Holte
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marina

Property: First Hotel Marina
Address: Vedbaek Strandvej 391, Vedbaek 2950, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Hoersholm Municipality > Vedbaek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vedbaek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Vedbaek
First Hotel Marina Vedbaek, Copenhagen, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing