We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”
Review of Munkebjerg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Munkebjerg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in serene surroundings. Superb breakfast buffet! Nice in-door pool area which had been redone since our last visit a few years ago. Nice hiking trails in the surrounding woods. A good base for visiting Legoland (a good half hour drive) and exploring Jylland.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank elRolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was my first time at the Munkebjerg, but not the last. The hotel is like an oasis of calm and tranquility. Rooms are typically exclusive Danish, with quality design furniture and ensuite bathrooms. The restuarant is excellent for breakfast or evening meal with the best food served simply. Very nice pool an fitness area.

Room Tip: Very very nice place- the overviews, the garden an the food !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frodefredegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I say one night at Munkabjerg Hotel. Rooms are very modest and not exciting.But sure you can have nice sleep in this hotel.
The restaurant is something outstanding. We visited first the wine cellar that was warm and nice place to taste few special wines. But the glory of the night was the dinner. We take restaurant recommendation selection of the house. What an outstanding dinner. One of the best ever. If you are evere close to this place its worth to say overnight and enjoy good food and service.

Room Tip: The issue is not the rooms but the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arska-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have stayed maybe 15 times at the Munkebjerg during business trips to Denmark the hotel is like an oasis of calm and tranquility. Rooms are typically minimalistic Danish with quality furniture and ensuite bathrooms. The restuarant is excellent for breakfast or evening meal with the best food served simply. During my last visit the restuarant had been moved following a fire which repairs were still underway from but as you would expect had no effect on the expected quality of service or food! great plae to stay even if you aren't there for the casino which I have only visted once. This is the John Lewis of hotels for English visitors. Don't miss the views of the Fjord which are spectacular.

Room Tip: If John Lewis did hotels this would be it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My Danish wife and I, need to have an adult getaway from our 2 year old so my wife found the hotel. She's born and raised in Denmark as where I am American.

As we walked in the place was very quiet. More of the old fashion hotels back in the days with the stone and gray look. Very warm. We got our key right away and headed right up to the room. The view that we got with the room was AWESOME!! You could see right over the water and see the town and homes over on the other side.

The room was very nice. Double bed for us nice big screen tv. Bathroom was a bit small as we are a bit big but we could easily use it.

The spa and pool area are very GREAT!! The jacuzzi was GREAT! and there where two of them incase the kids and Family are in one. Pool was very nice. There is a stream room and workout room is top notch.

The breakfast when where there was PERFECT!! Almost everything you can think of. Fruit, bread, roles, eggs, bacon, etc.

Overall, me and my wife have agreed that we will be coming here more often to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FavoriteVlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

One of the most well known hotels in Denmark which is often used for businesses for meetings and conferences. During the silent summer period they have some deals targeting families and we decided to take one of those and spend a day in the nearby Legoland.
The reception is really nice - especially if you are into classic Danish Design. The rooms are nice if you are a single traveller or maybe a couple but staying there as a family everything get a bit tight. The rooms are worn down except for the bathrooms which have been renovated recently and eg our kids were sleeping on the couch which had been made into a bed.
The restaurant has a very nice view over Vejle fjord and they had a grill buffet where the kids were eating for free. Also a few deals for drinks in the bar was nice as the listed prices in the bar are steep.
The breakfast wasn't anything special in my opinion - what you would expect from a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Classic Retro Danish Design with superb grounds and a very clean new gym & spa, decent pool with a space for little kids, jacuzzis, steam room, sauna and fitness machines at no extra cost. Food was all lovely and the rooms were great. Easy access to Legoland in less than 30 min drive and close to many other locations in Denmark. If the food most of which was included, doesn't fit your budget there is always the finest McDonalds I have ever seen (with free wifi), just 5 mins drive down the road.

Extremely enjoyable visit and really well thought out. Feels like a vintage 1960s US golf resort, with a very modern 2010s Spa & pool,. The view of the fjord across the forest from the restaurant and terrace which is also where you have breakfast is breathtaking.

There are plenty of good walks in the woods nearby and I understand some people like to play golf, and gamble, check out the Golf museum and Casino. There was even a Free games room with toys for kids and a Wii U & PS3 room although that looked like it had a bit of a run-in with the Rolling stones or somebody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejle
2.8 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 8 in Kolding
1,162 reviews
7 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Scandic Jacob Gade
Scandic Jacob Gade
#4 of 14 in Vejle
341 reviews
23.4 mi away
Tyrstrup Kro
Tyrstrup Kro
#1 of 2 in Christiansfeld
128 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#4 of 13 in Billund
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munkebjerg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munkebjerg Hotel

Address: Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vejle
Price Range: £103 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munkebjerg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munkebjerg Hotel. Munkebjerg Hotel where business travellers and leisure tourists will find equally suitable and charming surroundings. Munkebjerg Hotel is well known for its recreational value. In an idyllic location right in the heart of the unspoiled nature, surrounded by a dense and luxuriant beech forest, you will find one of Denmark's finest hotels.The hotel features conference facilities and syndicate rooms with a seating capacity of up to 700 people, 3 restaurants, a cafe, a night club, a wine cellar, a relaxing spa and fitness area and a casino. A total of 158 rooms are at your disposal. You may choose between comfortable standard rooms, 2 suites, 2 junior suites, 29 luxury rooms and a bridal suite at our upper Tree-Top floor. All rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Munkebjerg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munkebjerg Hotel Vejle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing