We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service as 4 stars hotel”
Review of Munkebjerg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Munkebjerg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor service as 4 stars hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful place and the view from the restaurant is great. The facilities are a little old but it is not a problem. Uunfortunately their service is far below from that of 4 stars hotel. They were rude and unfriendly. If this hotel was 2 stars, I would accept their behaviors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masashi_NAKAZAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    119
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
68
88
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this via legolandholidays because it seemed like the nicest place at its price class. Legoland is 30km away.

Hotel is on top of fjord and the view from restaurant terrace is stunning. The hotel is surrounded by forest and Vejle village is about 7km away.

Danish hotel breakfasts seem to have high quality standards but this was even better. One of the best hotel breakfasts ever.

Pool is nice and there's a sauna too. Beds weren't too confy. With better beds I would have given 5*.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EeroOrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with the family during our visit in Billund/ Legoland. The location and scenery is amazing.

The building itself is quite old, but still well kept and clean. Bfast room provided a beautiful scenery + was bfast itself was very tasty and very good, though crowded. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool + spacious play room. Pls note, no AC.

All in all a place worth staying at.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in serene surroundings. Superb breakfast buffet! Nice in-door pool area which had been redone since our last visit a few years ago. Nice hiking trails in the surrounding woods. A good base for visiting Legoland (a good half hour drive) and exploring Jylland.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elRolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koege
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was my first time at the Munkebjerg, but not the last. The hotel is like an oasis of calm and tranquility. Rooms are typically exclusive Danish, with quality design furniture and ensuite bathrooms. The restuarant is excellent for breakfast or evening meal with the best food served simply. Very nice pool an fitness area.

Room Tip: Very very nice place- the overviews, the garden an the food !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frodefredegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I say one night at Munkabjerg Hotel. Rooms are very modest and not exciting.But sure you can have nice sleep in this hotel.
The restaurant is something outstanding. We visited first the wine cellar that was warm and nice place to taste few special wines. But the glory of the night was the dinner. We take restaurant recommendation selection of the house. What an outstanding dinner. One of the best ever. If you are evere close to this place its worth to say overnight and enjoy good food and service.

Room Tip: The issue is not the rooms but the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arska-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have stayed maybe 15 times at the Munkebjerg during business trips to Denmark the hotel is like an oasis of calm and tranquility. Rooms are typically minimalistic Danish with quality furniture and ensuite bathrooms. The restuarant is excellent for breakfast or evening meal with the best food served simply. During my last visit the restuarant had been moved following a fire which repairs were still underway from but as you would expect had no effect on the expected quality of service or food! great plae to stay even if you aren't there for the casino which I have only visted once. This is the John Lewis of hotels for English visitors. Don't miss the views of the Fjord which are spectacular.

Room Tip: If John Lewis did hotels this would be it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejle
2.8 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
954 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Scandic Jacob Gade
Scandic Jacob Gade
#4 of 14 in Vejle
271 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Torvehallerne
4.0 mi away
Vejle Center Hotel
Vejle Center Hotel
#9 of 14 in Vejle
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munkebjerg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munkebjerg Hotel

Property: Munkebjerg Hotel
Address: Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vejle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Munkebjerg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munkebjerg Hotel. Munkebjerg Hotel where business travellers and leisure tourists will find equally suitable and charming surroundings. Munkebjerg Hotel is well known for its recreational value. In an idyllic location right in the heart of the unspoiled nature, surrounded by a dense and luxuriant beech forest, you will find one of Denmark's finest hotels.The hotel features conference facilities and syndicate rooms with a seating capacity of up to 700 people, 3 restaurants, a cafe, a night club, a wine cellar, a relaxing spa and fitness area and a casino. A total of 158 rooms are at your disposal. You may choose between comfortable standard rooms, 2 suites, 2 junior suites, 29 luxury rooms and a bridal suite at our upper Tree-Top floor. All rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Munkebjerg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munkebjerg Hotel Vejle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing