We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Turku
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Conveniently close to airport and shopping center. Used to stay here earlier when it was still new, now time has left some marks already, but still good enough for a short stay. Elevators were crowded and took time to wait until there was space there in the morning. Quite basic breakfast for a big Sokos hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soiannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    300
    110
    20
    6
See reviews for
158
104
18
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hi all,

I used to stay at the Flamingo regularly when visiting customers in Helsinki. Its the ideal hotel for short trips since it is very close to the airport (5mins by taxi) and is located inside a rather big shopping mall. The rooms are clean, breakfast is ok and for dinner you can pick a restaurant in the shopping mall.

On the other hand, I got bored rather fast with hanging around in the mall in the evenings and there is really nothing to do outside of the hotel.

Recently I opt for a hotel in Helsinki city center so I can actually have a walk outside and explore the city after the working day.

In the end it boils down to this: if you fly in late, don't want a long(er) taxi ride, stop working late and continuing working at the hotel (as you do), .. the Flamingo is very nice.
If you actually want to do something else outside of working.. book a hotel in the city center.

Note: the hotel has cinema, spa, swimming pool and stuff. I'm not really into these things but if you are, you might find yourself enjoying the mall anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JensA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uusikaarlepyy, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here one night between 8-9 march 2014.

Upon arrival the hotel managed to make us unwelcomed as guests within 5 minutes.

The lady In reception seemed uncomfortable speaking anything else but Finish. So she just mumbled and really made it hard for us to hear what she was trying to say. (Yes, Im Finish by birth, but our family speaks English and when we go to an hotel we do like to get service in this language).
When we checked in they asked us for a credit card. However we could not provide this (our old had exp and we are waiting for a new), that was fine, no problem. We had paid 190€ in advance for one night stay in double room with spa entrance.

Still, as soon as we had settled in to the room, a guy showed up behind our door and said he was sent to close our minibar.
Now, that just shows what this hotel is all about. Getting as much money as possible from the guest while providing as little service as possible.
We had paid in advance 193€ to stay here! Still the hotel did not trust us as guests enough and sent somebody up to close the minibar.

With this kind of treatment of guests be sure of one thing. We would not recommend this hotel to anybody!
The standard In general is typical Finish 3 stars hotel class. There is nothing special that would make the high price worth paying.
Please also note The entrance to spa is only for ONE VISIT. So no point in spending the weekend and trying to go to the spa a few times. No can do. Well yes you can but they will charge you 74€ extra.
Please also note. If you wish to get extra towels. Sure, no problem. That would be 4€ please!
Stay far away from a place like this.
Breakfast was a long slow pain. Staff did not seem to botherd to fill up on things. I waited 10min to just get some eggs.
Location is ok, close to the airport. BUT NO FREE SHUTTLE. Other hotels nearby do offer it. Not this one.

There is no value for money what so ever.

Room Tip: Yes, don't stay here. Stay In some other place nearby that offers better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 510TomasNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo000, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Tomas

Thank you for your feedback.

I am so sorry to hear that your stay in our Hotel was disappointment. Usually our Hotel staff receives very good feedback from our Hotel guests and thats why I am surprised.

Hope to see you still and all again in Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo.

Kind regards,
Jaana Kivi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
204 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Staying regularly at Hotel at Helsinki Airport, I must say that by far Flamingo is the best.
Rooms, cleanliness, breakfast and dining possibilities are just better than the other options, and located next to a huge shopping center, you event can pursue the sport of shopping if you want.
But have in mind that Flamingo still doesn't have an airport shuttle, but what you could do is taking the airport shuttle bus to Rantasiippii Hotel, and from there it's just a short walk to Flamingo, Taxi from the airport to the hotel will cost you som 25 euro's

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortennielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo000, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Mr Morten Nielsen,

Ou, your kind feedback is like a music in my ears. :) Thank you so much.

You are so right, Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo is so much more than a basic Hotel.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Jaana Kivi
Hotel Manager
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed here in January while visiting our Finland headquarters office.
Picked the hotel on recommendation by a colleague.

The hotel is conveniently located inside a huge mall. That was really nice during the winter in Finland with -10 C outside.
The big plus is the location and it wasn't difficult to find a restaurant and do some shopping. You don't even need a coat when going there, since you'll walk inside the mall.

The check-in took some time, it might have been a busy day that day.

The room was spacious and I had a great view over Vantaa.
What I didn't expect the value that I got for my company's money. In a fee of 200 EUR per night wasn't even any toiletries included. They even charge you if you need a second towel. Truly ridiculous.
The breakfast was pretty bad. It felt like too many people got squeezed into a too small room.
It felt like sitting in a big train station. The selection and the quality of the food was pretty poor.
Basic and cheap ingredients. I would definitely have expected more considering the fee...
Overall I am not sure if I would stay again.
There is too much competition to have the same bad experience twice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Quick and easy to get to from the Vantaa airport (10 minutes by taxi). Sufficient variety of breakfast items and convenient access to mall stores and restaurants without having to put on a jacket. Bus transportation and taxi service just steps from the front door. My favorite thing was the heated floors in the bathroom, especially after coming in from the cold January weather. Didn't get to try the spa/water park, but the hotel does get crowded on the weekend with families visiting the water park. The day we were leaving there was also a special family event going on nearby, so it was very crowded in the breakfast hall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkislaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riehen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just 10 minutes from airport. Hotel is located inside big shopping mall. Plenty of restaurants and chance to go shopping even without putting a jacket on (this is important in Finland). Nice playing room for kids, good breakfast and friendly staff. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo000, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hello Juppe,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback!
You are so right. Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo is so much more than a Hotel. We can offer many experiences during your stay with our brilliant staff.

Welcome again!

Jaana Kivi
Hotel Manager
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vantaa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa
0.7 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Resort Airport Congress Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo

Property: Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
Address: Tasetie 8, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing