We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning grounds on old manor property from the 1500's.”
Review of Hameenkyla Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hameenkyla Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Vantaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Was so excited to arrive on the beautiful grounds after 13 hours of travel. A Somali driver with good English (as well as Finnish and Somali!) had never heard of the place, but was able to locate it with his GPS only a few minutes from the Vantaa airport. I have to say, my "Very Good" rating comes mostly from the surrounding beauty and politeness of the staff as there are some pretty major drawbacks to this "hostel." We arrived in early evening and seriously needed to eat by this time, but the kitchen was closed and there is NOTHING nearby. However, the sweet front desk clerk is willing to make a sort of foccacia pizza thing and you can get a glass of wine. The lay-out of the place is really bizarre with recent add-ons and it is mostly locally popular for weekend weddings due to the grounds.Other issues: VERY short-staffed, almost no one but the desk clerk at night, and curtains that do not close without clothes pins and our own hair clips in the "Land of the Midnight Sun" is a serious problem. Top it off with a very early 10:00 am check-out time made it pretty rough stuff after an overseas flight. Awesome coffee and fresh made pastries in the morning though!!!

Room Tip: Check the curtains!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artemisia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed for one night on business. Located in the countryside,miles from anywhere! Very peaceful. A bit of a bizarre place really,arrived at 6pm to find no restaurant open at the hotel,we took a €30 taxi ride to the nearest non fast food place. The room was big,clean and had a great view of the countryside. The bed was comfy, but not double! The bathroom was clean but needed a refurb really. The pool opening times were impractical and segregated men and women using it at the same time! Not a lot of people staying here either,for obvious reasons! The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DJL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were travelling throughout Finland, thereby stopped in the hotel. It was ideal for us, because we have to leave early in the morning. I am not sure whether it is interesting to stay there for a longer period. Free parking and broadband internet, nice breakfast. But you can reach the place only by car or taxi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We booked this hotel as it was near to the airport and our plane wasn't due to arrive until 9pm. Due to delays we didn't actually get there (satnav took a while to kick in - wouldn't attempt to navigate round finland without it) until about 11pm, when everything was shut (the whole of Finland seemed to be shut in May!) My partner who booked the rooms had intelligently decided to leave her mobile phone off "as it reminded her of work" so we couldn't gain access to the hotel. We were tired and not thinking straight by this time, so didn't ring the mobile number on the reception window which would no doubt have enabled us to get an access code. By a total fluke I used the code for access to the booking.com website, thinking it might be connected (it isn't) but my finger pressed one key twice. So looked as though any five figure number would have given access. Lucky, given that we didn't want to spend a night in the car in freezing conditions. So that's a tip for any visitors to Finland in May - keep your mobile on and be prepared to find your hotel unstaffed, even though you have booked it. get the access code from the reception window after you have wiped the ice from it.
Otherwise a rather nice hotel in a sort of student residence way, with a typical Finnish breakfast of good quality and pretty decent staff. It's ideal for anyone wanting a quiet hotel after coming in to Vantaa airport and beginning a tour of Finland, as you aere only just off the ring road, but well set for journeys North, West, and North east.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFC1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

The hotel is in what feels like a countryside and there are zero services around, except for a McDonald's that is a 20 minute walk. It was a $40 taxi from the airport. You can take bus 363, but it will be a 2km walk with your luggage to the reception area. If you have a car and like a rural setting, you will be happy. The breakfast was great, the beds were comfortable, the receptionist was helpful. The room was sort of like a dormitory from the 1970's but it was very clean. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We visited Hameenkyla Manor in February 2009. The old Manor building is quite charming. The manor is attached to an annexe building that is a bit newer than the manor itself. The ´newer side´ holds most of the meeting spaces and accommodation. The accommodation is not luxury but a good standard for the price we paid. Manor has a reasonable size pool, tennis court and apparently there is a golf course nearby.

The downside of the property is that their reception is not open until 6pm! and there is not that much to do (if you dont like spending your evening watching TV). Location wise Hameenkyla Manor is 10 minutes from the airport and 30 minutes from Helsinki downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13,231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ismo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vantaa
5.7 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
6.8 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
4.2 mi away
Hotel Korpilampi
Hotel Korpilampi
#3 of 12 in Espoo
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki Airport
6.3 mi away
Cumulus Airport
Cumulus Airport
#6 of 10 in Vantaa
416 reviews
6.2 mi away
Airport Hotel Pilotti
Airport Hotel Pilotti
#10 of 10 in Vantaa
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hameenkyla Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hameenkyla Manor

Address: Juustenintie 1 | Vanhankyläntie 12, Vantaa 01630, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Vantaa
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hameenkyla Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hameenkyla Manor is located in a scenic milieu but only a short trip away from the airport and within excellent connections from Helsinki downdown. Travel time to airport is 15 minutes and from city centre 30 minutes. We recently opened a totally renovated manor building which now functions as the main building. We have 50 new rooms and 2 suites, a Scandinavian style restaurant, cozy lobby bar and a souvenier shop. Our reception is open 24/7 and will assist with all questions or needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hameenkyla Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing