We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very quiet but great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Nice hotel, quite rustic with a lot of wood! We were the only guests so there wasn't much atmosphere but we still enjoyed our stay. The staff were all extremely welcoming and friendly, the food in the restaurant was delicious and a good spread at breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4nniebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Restaurant is excellent, also breakfast is good. Service could be better, also the room did not impress us. We had a room in 2nd floor facing next building and backyard, it was not roomy, and filled with furniture (see pic). Reception greeted us arriving quite late, with "you need to pay now and you get receipt tomorrow morning" (why?? I think you should never pay before seeing the room) and breakfast waiter did not understand when I asked for napkins and small spoons, which were missing from the buffet. You could describe the room as "cosy" and working. Bathroom was good. Bed was not bad, but not excellent, so ok.

Room Tip: try to get something from upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel is a converted farmhouse on the edge of Alta just off the main road. It is well signposted. It is in quiet location with excellent views over the fjord. We were welcomed by friendly receptionists. There is free parking on site with plenty of space. The location is ideal to visit Alta Museum with its rock carvings (well recommended). Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

We had a really nice room of a good size looking towards the fjord. Lots of light woodwork. Curtains and a blackout blind so very good for sleeping in the light summer months. Good sized shower room. Comfy beds. Tea and coffee making facilities. There was a mini bar fridge but not stocked up. A very nice breakfast with a good choice for the size of hotel.

The hotel doesn’t have the corporate feel of some many hotels and has lots of local artefacts in the hotel and the adjacent building. A refreshing change with a feeling of being in Scandinavia rather than an anonymous city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The enormous flexibility of fhe hotel and each person who served us was very unusual and exceptional. On two occasions we preferred to have dinner after our tours - which was after the time the kitchen closes normally - and it was no problem to get food later in the evening. Not only a sandwich but the full menu. We were also granted late check-out without problem, and we got helpful recommendations for activities and assistance in booking them.

The location is convenient for all tours, even though the area looks a bit industrial to one side of the hotel. To the other side begins the area of private family houses in typical Norwegian style.
The view from our room was across the Fjord which was very nice and also gave us one night a view of the Northern lights.

The room was in good quality but looked basic - it was more like a wooden chalet but I think that might be traditional Norwegian style. it was comfortable, warm and had good space. The bathroom was functional and ok but had a dated feeling.

We did not use the Sauna. if 'ordered' (to heat within approx 30 minutes) and at extra cost, it would have been available.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Alta has a wonderful setting and a dramatic atmosphere, but it is not very picturesque. So if you'd like a little character during your stay, this is the place to go. Built over a core of a farmhouse, this hotel retains some charm - including stuffed animals in the lobby, a delightful (tho' reasonably expensive) restaurant and friendly staff. It is warm and welcoming. Location is not in the centre of town but this doesn't really matter as the centre is somewhat quiet. Our room overlooked the fjord and was spacious & pleasant; I can't vouch for those on the road side. Here's a final snippet ... there's a huge breakfast and - unlike any hotel I've ever heard of - they even include vitamin pills!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fjord (not the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewSection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This facility probably has seen better days. Its old decorations and design stand at the border between tired boredom and cabin charm. It is 20 minutes walk from the "center" of Alta. We stayed in rooms convereted to sleep three guests. While original beds were comfortable, a sofa converted into a bed was not comfortable at all.
Service varied immensly among members of staff from warm and helpful to unhelpfull.
The breakfast is good but nothing special, and the whole atmosphere is of an OK 2-3 star hotel.
A reasonable practicle place to stay one or two nights between here and there, but not a holiday spot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A nice place with a bit cheaper price tag (as the rest of the Alta hotels). Rooms that are in the road side of the buiding are a bit noisy because of the traffic, so try to book the fjordside rooms. Also there is a better view...

The twin room had a lot of space, but the kitchen staff made their way to the fridge right outside the room window (1st floor, roadside). That was a bit odd and this wasn't mentioned anywhere. Oh well, no matter, the room was still big and quite nicely decorated. No LCD TV though, old 90's model :)

Free WiFi internet, a very good bonus! Breakfest was ok, not luxorius but you didn't have to leave with an empty stommach. Unfortunately upon arrival to bf they were out of coffee and out of orange juice, which was a minus.
Situation was remedied when the staff was informed but still the two basic ingridients of bf weren't been taken care of...

All in all, a nice 2+ - 3 star place with a bit cheaper price than the rest of Alta hotels / B&Bs. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ville J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alta hotels
0.8 mi away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
350 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
12.3 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Vica Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Vica Alta

Address: Fogdebakken 6, Alta 9513, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thon Hotel Vica Alta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Vica is located in the old part of Alta called Bossekop, but still close to the town's shops and museums. The hotel has nice views over the Altafjord and within walking distance of the sea and hiking tracks. The hotel is a rebuilt old farm and you can see traces of this througout the hotel. The rooms have a uniqe charm but with all the amenities required in a hotel as well as facilities such as a bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thon Hotel Vica Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing