We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
127
203
65
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
203
65
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping centre nice hotel peppe's pizza breakfast is served spacious rooms northern lights business trip small kitchenette starting point smoked salmon north cape coffee machine dinner buffet cleaning staff central location nice bathroom comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Large, clean room, minibar, large bathroom, very good bed, very good service. Best breakfast in a long time! Close to shopping centre, university. Very nice staff, felt welcome, got a free toothbrush when I forgot mine. Not very expensive hotel. Free WiFi.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Bente M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linn A, Leder  at Thon Hotel Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Dear guest

Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us a review and secondly it is very nice to see you had a very good stay with us. It is especially nice to know both our bed and breakfast is very good and the service too. We hope you will come back to us for another stay, welcome back and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Good and fast check in/out. Spacious room, with micro and a small, equipped kitchen so you could prepare your dinner in the room. Coffee boiler (but they did not fill up with coffee and tea when they cleaned the room).
Big TV and nice desk. Enough plugs - although some closer to bed would be nice. All what I usually ask for and miss in a hotel was there!
The free wifi worked well all the time - even in the conference centre.
We used the reduced rates at the swimming pool next to the hotel. Good!
Breakfast at Peppes next to the hotel. The breakfast buffet was ok, but understaffed. They did not remove plates from tables, piling up. Had to clear and clean the table myself.

Room tip: High up - nice view
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rolv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linn A, Leder  at Thon Hotel Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate it. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Thon Hotel Alta. We will make sure to fill up with coffee and tea in the room in the future and the message has already been passed regarding the staff at breakfast, sorry about that. Overall it seems you enjoyed both the rooms, amenities and service, thank you for letting us know.
Hope to see you again in the future, welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

A nice modern hotel located in the middle of Alta. We found the location to be very convenient for the Amfi shopping center and the restaurants in Alta. If I had known how close it was to the swimming pool, I might even have brought my swim suit.

The room was very nice, and even had a small kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful, and made sure we had everything we needed. I especially enjoyed the waffles at breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linn A, Leder  at Thon Hotel Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Dear guest

Thank you very much for sending us your feedback, it is appreciated.
Glad to hear you were happy with both our rooms and location. Hope to see you again and remember to bring you swim suit next time. Thank you again and welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

This hotel, you can go direct to the shoping senter, you dont have to go outside. You can drink coffe when you want it, and the service are excillente. The employ are always smilling and say hello. If you ask for something, they fix it immidetly

Room tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny" "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Helge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linn A, Leder  at Thon Hotel Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your very kind feedback, we are very happy to be considered the best hotel in Northern Norway! It is alway especially nice to hear that our staff are friendly and serviceminded as this is very important to us.
Thank you once more and welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

I can't praise this hotel highly enough! Our stay here was everything we could wish for! We had a room on the sixth floor (odd number) which overlooked the cathedral. The view at night was just spectacular. The staff went out of their way to be helpful! We had booked an excursion, while in Australia, not realising that there were two Thon hotels in Alta, and consequently selected the wrong one for our pick-up. It was not until the actual pick-up time that we realised our error. No problem! The kind gentleman on Reception rang around and ensured that we were still collected. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We could not find a single fault with this hotel!

Room tip: Choose a room with an odd number, the higher the floor the better!
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Thon Hotel Alta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear Astrid D, thank you so much for this overwhelming response. I'm very proud of my colleagues and that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews