We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic customer service as a way of life.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Alta B&B and Inns
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic customer service as a way of life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for one night only on our way to Lavan. Landed in Alta at 22.30 and arrived at the hotel at 23.30 hrs. Welcome received at the hotel by Elena was fantastic. Whilst her shift ended at 23.00 hrs she still served us drinks till 01.30 hrs and told us all about the region etc... Rooms were very. Comfortable and the Nordic breakfast first class. The owner also helped us out with changing our rental car, without any quibbles and which arrived within the next half hour. This customer service has never been experienced in the UK and we should learn of that. We definitely come back. Thank you all at the Altafjord gjestegaard ans Spa. Paul.Roggeman31@btinternet.com

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    34
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fantastic situated right next to the water and look at the hills, snow and midnight sun.
Outside the hotel looks like no much, but inside it is unique. Cosy, or as we say in Denmark "Hyggeligt", with individual rooms, and a feeling of "being at home".
Great staff (owners) and a nice meal and fully nordic breakfast.
Thumbs up !

Bjørn and family, May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
152 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We've been here last week and it was a very good staying.
I cannot understand why people write bad thing in this hotel.
It could for sure be better, but as many other things.
If you're going to Alta you can for sure book here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikga75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Biz it was again for me in early March. Alta on schedule, inbound from Kirkenes by Wideroe.
According to the airports website there is a bus service downtown available. Sure it is, but with the only movement at all during this time they told me that the bus runs only for larger planes and definitely not for the small Wideroe Dash.
Well, also to catch a taxi is not that easy here. The locals know the way and are on the pre-ordered job and I´am on the waiting list for some good minutes till an older driver arrived and shuttled me for the city.
Not cheap but well done in the end.
Arrival at the hotel and welcomed by a nice elder woman. She shows me the room, upper floor as requested. Everything works well here, heating, hot water, shower and towels a plenty for me. But on the other hand side, the room is much overdecorated from my point of view.
Prefering the clear and straight way, there are so much things stored here what i definitely not need and used. Ok, I decided to stay at the hotel till the succesful meeting in the early evening.
Back late, the key helps to disturb no one else and a well sleeped short night later I´am very early on the way again. A small breakfast box with everything what I need in the morning is well prepared and the whole procedure works a-la-minute, with the preordered taxi at the door as scheduled.
The usual question for the downsides is here:
Well, mixed emotions, everything works perfectly, therefore a very good from my hand, but the room is definitely not to my personal liking at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honningsvag, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We are SO fortunate in finding the above accomodation, at such reasonable rates that we have booked in for another visit in November! With only ten well appointed bedrooms. Our double room had two beautiful twin beds, a sofa and easy chair plus a large heated bathroom. It was like living in a private house with nooks and corners, the small dining room was beautifully set up with
great views over the Fjord, the food (buffet style) was excellent as were the desserts.
The hallways had high ceilings and marble floors, a nice change from the usual hotel corridors!
The place must look amazing during the summer months with all the plants in bloom! Being able to walk along the seashore after eating was also a great plus.
We did not have time to use the Spa facilities, will do next time! and, only 4 minutes by taxi to Alta
For us, being stuck in Alta (due to travels) will from now on be a pleasure. Roll on delays!
Many thanks to the staff (including the unseen ones) for helping to make this a most memorable trip....................Truls & Josephine

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowers061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestby, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Cosy small hotel with a lovely staff! :)
The food was good.
And you get a family feeling about the interior and the living rooms.
Nice view over the fjord and mountains.
But the location is a bit from the city center.
If you have a car I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyväskylä
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Small (10 rooms) hotel. A bit worn-out. Walls are quite thin, so disturbing voices were too easily been heard (at least night-time). Advertised Norwegian food was average, at most. Best at the hotel was very nice fjord scenery.
Worst experiance was when during midnight, me and my wife sleeping in bed, a yong lady came into our room with her own keys! She couldn´t explain any reason for her intrusion, saying only that she belongs to the hotel staff. We took her identifying features and in the morning made a stunned complaint in the reception. Receptionist couldn´t recognize the person. Either she was a thief or hooker? But SHE CAME IN WITH HER OWN KEYS, AT MIDNIGHT. During my 40 years travelling experiences such a thing has happened never before.

So if you appreciate peace, quality, safety etc. - my recommendation is - go elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alta hotels
0.7 mi away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Alta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
7.1 mi away
Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa

Property: Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
Address: Bossekopveien 19, Alta 9513, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing