We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ainakin poro oli hyvää. Viini kallista ja lisäksi korkkivikainen, ei kovin hyvä kokemus.”

Restaurant Haldde - Thon Hotel Vica
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Alta
Price range: US$12 - US$60
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant Haldde is a part of Thon Hotel Vica located in the old part of Alta, Bossekop close to the Altafjord. It used to be an old farm and the decor can be seen throughout the hotel. The restaurant serves local food made from entirely in our own kitchen with produce from northern Norway. Our specialities are grilled stockfish, reindeer steak, King Crab and desserts made from local berries. We serve all drinks and have a good choice of wine and beers to complement the food. Welcome!
Jyväskylä
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ainakin poro oli hyvää. Viini kallista ja lisäksi korkkivikainen, ei kovin hyvä kokemus.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Reindeer steak was good and tender, but red wine was cork-defective. Waitress´s knowhow was weak, couldn´t make difference between sweet and dry wines!). Reataurant´s interior is cozy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SantaFe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linn A, Front Office Manager at Restaurant Haldde - Thon Hotel Vica, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Sir/mam

Thank you for your comments, we will definitely look at our staff training regarding wines. Glad you liked the reindeer and interior though and hopefully if you ever come back we will make sure you wine great as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seal Meal”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Had the opportunity to have seal for supper. To me, it tasted like liver. Made Kristine (the server) laugh. A relaxing establishment, being dressed up or in casual, you were made to feel comfortable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agforguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very tasty and arty”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

You can have local food, cooked in a very tasty way... and the way the meal is prepared is just very arty
We had a wonderful desert in a caramel hand made plate!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I'm very often staying over at this hotel/restaurant when I'm in Alta. The restaurant is excellent here. They have great fish dishes and my favorite is grilled stockfish. It sounds weird, but is delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful to look at”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

They take a lot of trouble with this food, which looks like a work of art from a Michelin restaurant. It tastes pretty good too! It's not cheap, but eating seems quite expensive in Alta generally.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReviewSection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Haldde - Thon Hotel Vica also viewed

Alta, Alta Municipality
Alta, Alta Municipality
 
Alta, Alta Municipality
Alta, Alta Municipality
 
Alta, Alta Municipality
 

Been to Restaurant Haldde - Thon Hotel Vica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing