We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woody Island Resort, brings your senses alive”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woody Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woody Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woody Island
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey Point
2 reviews
“Woody Island Resort, brings your senses alive”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Visited here last fall, everything from the greeting at the dock to all the fine homemade food and entertainment was fantastic. This is not a resort for those who are looking for heated pools and summer drinks to be delivered. If you enjoy nature these people provide it plus. Lots to do , walking, kayaking and best of all no cell service or wifi. Spent the weekend with 38 others, some were on their 3rd visit and they said they would be coming back again to celebrate their anniversary as they had met there. If you want something relaxing, not fancy, good home cooked food than this is your place.

Room Tip: do not stay in the room next to the main dining room unless you expect to be up later than the enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWOntcans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a fun place. Quiet, beautiful location, staff very friendly and attentive. Food great- fresh bread and rolls at every meal. Activities tempered by weather. Rooms simple, clean. No Wifi or cell service - a good thing!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Get away from the hustle and bustle of your busy life and retreat to this unique and secluded location, Woody Island. Sense the quitetude and rippling of the water as you are escorted by boat out to the island in the early morning hours, the thick, gray, fog lifting as you reach the solitude of this rustic, uncommercialized retreat, built in a natural, wooded setting. Receive excellent service, be entertained, and turn off the electronic distractions of your day to day life... eat, and sleep like you've never slept before in the hush of nature, in beautiful Newfoundland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Each and every one of you were amazing and the meals alone were worth the trip! The accommodations were perfect and everything was spotless! The music & friends are to be bragged about, how many places can 41 strangers join together for one night & part as pals in the morning! The boat ride was a dream in deed & the boil up in the cove on the way back was spectacular & we had an accordion player to entertain us while we ate! Boy oh boy it was a keen time for sure!
ALREADY MAKING PLANS TO GO BACK WITH MY DAUGHTERS! thank you again Gary Pomeroy & friends!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Wonderful trip - would recommend it to anyone! Beautiful location, delicious home-made food, especially the bread! Oh my!! The staff are so friendly and helpful and want to make your time on the island the best it can be! Comfortable and clean rooms, each with it's own bathroom! Great idea. The entertainment was top-notch and we all had a great time at the kitchen party. Loved the mummers!!
Will certainly be back! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Absolutely wonderful staff and service. Clean, simple rooms, comfortable beds with handmade quilts. Cannot say enough good things about the staff. They work so hard and are always smiling.

The first thing we were told was to consider ourselves at home. Go to the kitchen to make ourselves a cup of tea if we so desired. Many of the staff hold down more than one job. Dave, our evening entertainment, was also our wagon driver, he got the camp fire going for the boil up, dished up the food, loaded & unloaded the boat, and we saw him heading to one of the cabins with a mop & pail one morning. Our skipper, in addition to operating the boat, kept us informed of the history of the area, briefed us on what to expect, loaded and unloaded the luggage, food for the kitchen, laundry, etc.
We were four adult family members and we highly recommend this resort as a relaxing, low key getaway; however, it is not the type of place to bring children, infants, or anyone with a physical disability. There is no TV, Internet, nor activities for kids. The resort is run on a generator that is used only around meal times and during the evening entertainment. Everyone gathers in one large room, so tired or disruptive children can make it uncomfortable for everyone. There is a fair amount of walking as well as getting on and off the boat a number of times. The wagon ride was fun, but not for anyone who has a bad back or any pregnant women. Oh, the food...well, one will never go away hungry. The pea soup, fresh homemade bread & molasses--yum yum. Fresh cod, vegetables cooked to perfection, a hearty breakfast, all the second helpings (& even thirds) you could want--we never left the table hungry.

Room Tip: I do not know if you can request a specific room, but my preference would be in the main lodge, upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gloria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have been here twice and am planning to have my wedding Jack and Jill party there next year. The place is amazing, the experience of old time Newfoundland, the history, a resettled community, old graveyards and schools, nice walks, boating, kayaking, and enjoying a great scuff at night, a boat tour culminating in a lunch and music in a sheltered cove is all just amazing. Add to that an amazingly friendly crew who would smile and be at your beck and call.... AND the opportunity to make new friends.... I would HIGHLY recommend this trip to anyone. But it wouldn't be fair not to tell you about the Food! Amazing home cooking... hearty portions, served with a smile...and they will offer you more, and as much as you want! To walk in to the smell of freshly baked bread and fish frying... all while some of the guests are outside banging out a few tunes with their guitars and accordions...absolutely surreal.
You will keep coming back for more!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and awesome, but i really enjoyed the view in the rooms facing the ocean in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manjula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loyola P, Owner at Woody Island Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
HI Manjula

Thanks so much for your very kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again next year for your Jack and Jill Party. (We will set aside your favourite room for you!!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Woody Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woody Island Resort

Property: Woody Island Resort
Address: Woody Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Woody Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woody Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on Woody Island in Placentia Bay, Newfoundland on the Avalon Peninsula. Woody Island Resort's uniqueness lies in the fact that you can experience just about every attraction that Newfoundland has to offer - all at one location. This quaint outport fishing village once boasted a population of 400 before government resettlement forces residents to relocate elsewhere in the province. Today Woody Island is home to mainly summer residents and their families who come back to pursue the fishery and relax in their former home village. Tourists also visit the island to take part in the many attractions that Woody Island has to offer including, breathtaking scenery, comfortable accommodations, delicious meals, Newfoundland "kitchen party", boat tour with beach picnic, and a wide variety of activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing